MozillaZine


Apostrophe character brings up "Find" feature

Discussion of bugs in Mozilla Firefox
VanillaMozilla
 
Posts: 13808
Joined: November 7th, 2005, 11:26 am

Post Posted March 28th, 2006, 5:44 pm

How can I put this gently? :)
Not a holdover: http://www.mozilla.org/support/firefox/keyboard
Not linked to rich text.
Not related to extensions.

I have never installed an extension, except the default(?) DOM Inspector, whatever that is, and Talkback. I have observed it in this very text box in MozillaZine. See bug 311376, comment 10. Also see comments 10 and 16 for possible workarounds.

(Note: Although that bug is not shown as fixed, I think it's probably a duplicate of one that is fixed. It just hasn't been marked as a duplicate. There are actually quite a few bug reports on this. <b>Note: please do not comment in bug reports unless you have solid new information or are involved in fixing the bug.</b>)

spudtheimpaler

User avatar
 
Posts: 3
Joined: April 13th, 2006, 6:10 pm

Post Posted April 15th, 2006, 4:59 am

Well I am also getting this "bug" and that includes this quick reply box. Has happened apparently sporadically though a week or so before I installed NoScript. at the same time I have had the trouble where my direction keys and space bar wont navigate the page because it appears as though wherever i click on the screen, a flashing text cursor appears, the same in this text field, but anywhere on the page. I thought I would mention it in case it was related.

As for the "rich text" box idea, it also happens to me in the "search topic" text field at the bottom of this page, which i am guessing is a bog standard text field.

I managed to get around the problem by deselecting in the tools>>options>>advanced>>accesibility allow text to be selected from keyboard.

Dawg of Doom

User avatar
 
Posts: 1
Joined: April 19th, 2006, 6:00 am

Post Posted April 19th, 2006, 6:06 am

I ran into the same problem when typing in a textarea earlier, and this helped fix the problem. ' and / will still bring up the find dialog, but it shouldn't happen anymore when you're typing in a textarea/box

open <b>about:config</b> in firefox, and search for find. I changed..

<blockquote>accessibility.typeaheadfind.flashBar user set integer 0 </blockquote>

to...


<blockquote>accessibility.typeaheadfind.flashBar default integer 1</blockquote>
Release the Dawgs of Doom

MontyV
 
Posts: 23
Joined: March 2nd, 2006, 11:20 am
Location: corona

Post Posted May 17th, 2006, 3:59 pm

Dawg of Doom wrote:I ran into the same problem when typing in a textarea earlier, and this helped fix the problem. ' and / will still bring up the find dialog, but it shouldn't happen anymore when you're typing in a textarea/box

open <b>about:config</b> in firefox, and search for find. I changed..

<blockquote>accessibility.typeaheadfind.flashBar user set integer 0 </blockquote>

to...


<blockquote>accessibility.typeaheadfind.flashBar default integer 1</blockquote>


That did the trick. Thank you.

cfh2k5
 
Posts: 9
Joined: March 18th, 2005, 4:49 pm
Location: PORTLAND,OREGON,USA

Post Posted October 8th, 2006, 10:06 am

MontyV wrote:
Dawg of Doom wrote:I ran into the same problem when typing in a textarea earlier, and this helped fix the problem. ' and / will still bring up the find dialog, but it shouldn't happen anymore when you're typing in a textarea/box

open <b>about:config</b> in firefox, and search for find. I changed..

<blockquote>accessibility.typeaheadfind.flashBar user set integer 0 </blockquote>

to...


<blockquote>accessibility.typeaheadfind.flashBar default integer 1</blockquote>


That did the trick. Thank you.


Sorry for exposing my stupidity, but could someone please tell me how to find this "about"?
The only "about" on the FX browser that I know is "Help, then About", but it's only the version and credits pop-up.

Thank you.
Cliff

makaiguy

User avatar
 
Posts: 16890
Joined: November 18th, 2002, 6:44 pm
Location: Somewhere in SE USA

Post Posted October 8th, 2006, 10:28 am

cfh2k5 wrote:Sorry for exposing my stupidity, but could someone please tell me how to find this "about"?
The only "about" on the FX browser that I know is "Help, then About", but it's only the version and credits pop-up.

Thank you.


Enter about:config in the Address/URL bar - the same place you'd type a web address you wished to visit.
Doug Wilson, "The Makai Guy"
Win10 (64bit): FF 84.0.1 (64bit), TB 78.6.0 (32-bit) ║ Android 10: FF Mobile 84.1.2, No TB for Android available, dammit!
What a fool believes he sees, no wise man has the power to reason away - Doobie Brothers

dasnk
 
Posts: 3
Joined: June 16th, 2006, 7:29 am

Post Posted October 19th, 2006, 8:01 pm

It is set to 1 by default now and the bug still occurs. Please mozilla just remove the stupid feature altogther, If people want to bring up the find box they can press CTRL+F, that is consistent across all browsers and applications... and that's how it works in Firefox too, There is no need for this shortcut.

Lost User 235214
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted October 21st, 2006, 12:40 am

dasnk wrote:just remove the stupid feature altogther, If people want to bring up the find box they can press CTRL+F, that is consistent across all browsers and applications


Completely agree.

cronos99
 
Posts: 1
Joined: November 5th, 2006, 12:33 pm
Location: Minneapolis, MN

Post Posted November 5th, 2006, 12:35 pm

Totally agree. Get rid of the feature. Ctrl + F works well enough for me...

Thanks Dawg, that was an easy fix!

X777
 
Posts: 2
Joined: November 10th, 2006, 11:42 pm

Post Posted November 10th, 2006, 11:59 pm

spudtheimpaler wrote:Well I am also getting this "bug" and that includes this quick reply box. Has happened apparently sporadically though a week or so before I installed NoScript. at the same time I have had the trouble where my direction keys and space bar wont navigate the page because it appears as though wherever i click on the screen, a flashing text cursor appears, the same in this text field, but anywhere on the page. I thought I would mention it in case it was related.


I get the "apostrophe bug," and less frequently, a bug whereby the arrow keys, page up/down, and ctrl+home and ctrl+end keys have no effect.

For me, all of this is new with FF 2.0. Nothing similar happened with earlier Firefoxes or Mozilla.

makaiguy

User avatar
 
Posts: 16890
Joined: November 18th, 2002, 6:44 pm
Location: Somewhere in SE USA

Post Posted November 11th, 2006, 6:03 am

X777 wrote: and less frequently, a bug whereby the arrow keys, page up/down, and ctrl+home and ctrl+end keys have no effect.


This is 'caret browsing'. See: http://kb.mozillazine.org/Accessibility.browsewithcaret
Doug Wilson, "The Makai Guy"
Win10 (64bit): FF 84.0.1 (64bit), TB 78.6.0 (32-bit) ║ Android 10: FF Mobile 84.1.2, No TB for Android available, dammit!
What a fool believes he sees, no wise man has the power to reason away - Doobie Brothers

VanillaMozilla
 
Posts: 13808
Joined: November 7th, 2005, 11:26 am

Post Posted November 13th, 2006, 6:39 am

It may not be caret browsing. That's usually part of the focus problem. It has appeared in all versions for some time now. It comes and goes randomly, and has nothing to do with version 2

kirkjerk
 
Posts: 16
Joined: April 15th, 2005, 12:58 pm

Post Posted November 30th, 2006, 12:03 pm

Just another vote for DAMN IT, FIX THIS!

It seems to be getting worse lately. Im just hoping my friends dont notice when I stop using apostrophes...

Ill try the about:config workaround, but bleh

old zeniko
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted November 30th, 2006, 1:12 pm

kirkjerk wrote:Just another vote for DAMN IT, FIX THIS!

It has been fixed already. Just grab a recent nightly and see for yourself - or wait another few weeks for them to officially become Firefox 2.0.0.1.

Lost User 57363
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted March 8th, 2007, 8:05 pm

X777 wrote:
spudtheimpaler wrote:Well I am also getting this "bug" and that includes this quick reply box. Has happened apparently sporadically though a week or so before I installed NoScript. at the same time I have had the trouble where my direction keys and space bar wont navigate the page because it appears as though wherever i click on the screen, a flashing text cursor appears, the same in this text field, but anywhere on the page. I thought I would mention it in case it was related.


I get the "apostrophe bug," and less frequently, a bug whereby the arrow keys, page up/down, and ctrl+home and ctrl+end keys have no effect.

For me, all of this is new with FF 2.0. Nothing similar happened with earlier Firefoxes or Mozilla.


Ditto here.

I keep turning it off, but there seems to be no pattern. I even change the accessiblity setting in about:config... which sometimes works and sometimes doesn't. It might even be related to specific websites because ' just worked in this text box, but a forum I was just posting in it caused the search.

Very strange and erratic.


Still beter than IE any day.

Return to Firefox Bugs


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest