MozillaZine


Error console popup (potential bug)

Discussion of bugs in Mozilla Firefox
hceylan
 
Posts: 3
Joined: October 30th, 2006, 1:00 am

Post Posted October 30th, 2006, 1:03 am

Hello,

we're about to launch our new site. However one problem with firefox keeps us from launching it yet.

We have a calendar on the home page. As you navigate to different months, firefox automatically pops up error console.

Can someone comment on the issue?

Regards,
Hasan Ceylan

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 44223
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted October 30th, 2006, 4:48 am

Not without seeing the code and if Firefox is showing an error console your may very well be doing something wrong.
What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 53289
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted October 30th, 2006, 7:00 pm

Do you have the Web Developers Tools?
(Toolbar: Options > Miscellaneous)

hceylan
 
Posts: 3
Joined: October 30th, 2006, 1:00 am

Post Posted October 31st, 2006, 8:04 am

I'm using javascript to update a div from a jsp. Error console is poping up but not displaying any new error. Errors are the ones that are created from css.

you may try to see it for yourself.

go to www2.biletix.com. in the homepage navigate to a different month from the calendar.

By the way I do have webdeveloper extension. Do you ask to use it to diagnose the problem? Or do you think iwebdeveloper causes to console popup? If later, errror console pops up on installations where there is no extensions as well..

Regards,
Hasan Ceylan

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 53289
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted October 31st, 2006, 7:01 pm

Yes the webdeveloper extension has an option to automatically popup the JavaScript Error Console in case of an error.
You can check that setting by clicking the options button on the toolbar:
Toolbar: Options > Miscellaneous

hceylan
 
Posts: 3
Joined: October 30th, 2006, 1:00 am

Post Posted November 1st, 2006, 12:50 am

Hello dickvl,

thanks for the answer. but console pops up on bare firefox installations with no extensions as well. And moreover no error is reported in the console just empty screen.

thanks,
Hasan

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 53289
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted November 1st, 2006, 1:25 am

Sorry, then I don't know what is causing it.

zero_ant
 
Posts: 44
Joined: October 30th, 2006, 4:35 am

Post Posted November 1st, 2006, 2:35 am

That's because of this code:
Code: Select all
<a href="javascript:" onclick="gostertakvim(10)">

You (or the web coder) specified both "href" and "onclick", and moreover... the href link is just a plain "javascript:" which cause the console window opened up.

Edit: code not displayed correctly

Return to Firefox Bugs


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest