MozillaZine

HW Accelerated Compositing of Gecko Layers in Firefox

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
Riony
 
Posts: 89
Joined: August 6th, 2004, 6:40 pm
Location: México

Post Posted November 5th, 2010, 11:27 am

phuzi0n wrote:
Riony wrote:Driver Version: 6.14.10.6422, 1-20-2004

Seriously? Update your nearly 7 year old drivers.


I wish I could but the Mobility drivers are "special". You can't use the drivers provided by ATI/AMD unless you modify them (for example, omega drivers but the system becomes unstable). So, I gotta stay with the latest old drivers provided by HP.

Harald.L wrote:
Riony wrote:Display Adapter: MOBILITY RADEON 9200

According to Wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_ATI_Graphics_Processing_Units#Mobility_Radeon_Series Mobility Radeon 9200 is GPU "M9+ (RV280)" which is only capable of DirectX 8.1, so I don't think acceleration is supported as this requires either DX9 or DX10.


I was thinking the same, even worse, it only supports OpenGL 1.4. However, Grafx bot should have failed, confusing :-k

_Alexander

User avatar
 
Posts: 1197
Joined: April 1st, 2010, 2:24 pm
Location: Your augmented reality

Post Posted November 8th, 2010, 9:02 am

ATi question, (ATi HD 4250 Mobile, latest drivers)
In ATi Options - for AA - there is Application controlled, 2x, and 4x. Where is the "force off" option?
http://magneticpudding.com/ <- My Blog
i5 3570k @ 4.5 Ghz / NV 660 / 32GB DDR3 / 1080p LCD / SSD (120 + 180) / W8 ||| Atom N270 / NV ION / 3GB DDR3 / SSD / 1366x768 / W8

muhahaa
 
Posts: 302
Joined: October 2nd, 2010, 8:56 am

Post Posted November 8th, 2010, 11:42 am

https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=610406

Some Grafx Bot tests have started failing. Could someone confirm?

phuzi0n
 
Posts: 517
Joined: June 23rd, 2010, 5:48 pm

Post Posted November 8th, 2010, 11:50 am

Hera wrote:In ATi Options - for AA - there is Application controlled, 2x, and 4x. Where is the "force off" option?

There is no 'force off' option but 'Application Controlled' means 'off unless the app forces it on' which usually only 3d games do and only if the game is configured by the user to enable it.

WonderCsabo
 
Posts: 2230
Joined: June 25th, 2010, 9:29 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Post Posted November 8th, 2010, 3:20 pm

Anyway, i dont think that option controlls Fx4's D2D at all...

_Alexander

User avatar
 
Posts: 1197
Joined: April 1st, 2010, 2:24 pm
Location: Your augmented reality

Post Posted November 8th, 2010, 3:38 pm

WonderCsabo wrote:Anyway, i dont think that option controlls Fx4's D2D at all...


Huh. I though it did...
Strange though that there is no ability to actually turn off AA.
http://magneticpudding.com/ <- My Blog
i5 3570k @ 4.5 Ghz / NV 660 / 32GB DDR3 / 1080p LCD / SSD (120 + 180) / W8 ||| Atom N270 / NV ION / 3GB DDR3 / SSD / 1366x768 / W8

GL1zdA
 
Posts: 6
Joined: May 14th, 2005, 7:14 am
Location: Warsaw, PL

Post Posted November 13th, 2010, 9:38 am

Why is HW Accelerated Compositing not working on XP with DX9 and ATI Radeon 9800 (it's DX9 capable)? layers.accelerate-all is set, but about:support shows:

Code: Select all
Opis adaptera                                RADEON 9800
PROID dostawcy                               1002
ID urządzenia                                4e48
RAM adaptera                                 Unknown
Sterowniki adaptera                          ati2dvag
Wersja sterownika                            8.573.0.0
Data sterownika                              1-13-2009
Włączone Direct2D                            false
Włączone DirectWrite                         false
Okna ze sprzętowym przyspieszeniem grafiki   0/1

WonderCsabo
 
Posts: 2230
Joined: June 25th, 2010, 9:29 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Post Posted November 13th, 2010, 9:45 am

It seems your card is blacklisted. (Because it had problems)

GL1zdA
 
Posts: 6
Joined: May 14th, 2005, 7:14 am
Location: Warsaw, PL

Post Posted November 13th, 2010, 9:56 am

WonderCsabo wrote:It seems your card is blacklisted. (Because it had problems)

Is GfxInfo spoofing present in beta 7? Does Firefox log anywhere information why it does not enable HW Acceleration? Where in the source are the blacklists? I tried to find them, but couldn't.

WonderCsabo
 
Posts: 2230
Joined: June 25th, 2010, 9:29 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Post Posted November 13th, 2010, 10:01 am

No it's not. Beta7 were cut off from trunk on Nov 04.
I dunno about any logging with HW Accel.

Anyway i'm not sure it's blacklisting, but my guess it is.

Do you have the latest Dx, VGA driver? IS HW Accel turned on? Isn't it turned off with about:config?

GL1zdA
 
Posts: 6
Joined: May 14th, 2005, 7:14 am
Location: Warsaw, PL

Post Posted November 13th, 2010, 1:14 pm

WonderCsabo wrote:Do you have the latest Dx, VGA driver? IS HW Accel turned on? Isn't it turned off with about:config?

DirectX is the June 2010 release, so it is the latest. The driver is 9.1, it is two versions behind the last XP/R9800 driver 9.3, but both 9.2 and 9.3 where buggy (I also tested 9.8 and 10.2 - they were released after the officially last 9.3 and it does not change anything). All gfx and layers settings are defaults. I'll probably try a nightly build, if it won't work I will have to fill a bug report.

WonderCsabo
 
Posts: 2230
Joined: June 25th, 2010, 9:29 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Post Posted November 13th, 2010, 2:14 pm

Did you try a new profile?

I'm sure that your card is blacklisted.

GL1zdA
 
Posts: 6
Joined: May 14th, 2005, 7:14 am
Location: Warsaw, PL

Post Posted November 13th, 2010, 2:36 pm

WonderCsabo wrote:Did you try a new profile?

Yes I did. I also tried Minefield with the same result.
WonderCsabo wrote:I'm sure that your card is blacklisted.

I tried Device ID spoofing in Minefield and it doesn't change anything. I wish the blacklist was published anywhere...

NVD
 
Posts: 371
Joined: September 17th, 2010, 7:55 am

Post Posted November 13th, 2010, 9:00 pm

Hardware accelerated compositing requires the GPU to support 4096 x 4096 texture size. All older ATI Radeon GPUs only supported 2048 x 2048, it's a hardware limitation and cannot be fixed. Only Radeon X1xxx and later GPUs supports 4k x 4k texture size.

Nvidia GPUs since GeForce 3 supports 4k x 4k texture size. Of course, GeForce 3/4 is DX8 hardware so no hardware accelerated compositing on those, only GeForce FX, 6/7 and up gets hardware acceleration.
Last edited by NVD on November 13th, 2010, 9:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

RyanVM
 
Posts: 1264
Joined: June 16th, 2004, 6:00 am
Location: Exton, PA

Post Posted November 13th, 2010, 9:01 pm


Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests