MozillaZine

[Ext] Tab Utilities 1.5 - light but featureful

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
K4RBQT99
 
Posts: 284
Joined: November 11th, 2010, 3:23 pm

Post Posted December 16th, 2010, 10:06 am

A little issue with the new layout. I get this, with the default size of the TU preferences window:
Image

EDIT:
Only I get that when the Mouse tab is the first tab displayed when i open the TU preferences. If i change to the Mouse tab from other tabs, the window is resized and displayed fine. Maybe a system theme issue, i don't sure.

---
ithinc, is possible that you can to update the code shipped with TU for Copy Tab URL extra menu entry for to work with multiples selected tabs too? it needs first that the extra command are displayed for selected tabs... but maybe it look as something very specialised for the scope of TU. I don't know if you want to give to the selected tabs feature much depth.

Morgan B
 
Posts: 155
Joined: June 7th, 2009, 9:08 am

Post Posted December 16th, 2010, 12:52 pm

Using TU 1.0pre8 AND Tree Style Tab 0.11.2010120903 AND ColorfulTabs 4.8.0.5 results in no tabs being colored by ColorfulTabs. Tested in a clean profile. All add-ons used with default preferences.

ithinc
 
Posts: 1029
Joined: February 19th, 2008, 12:10 am

Post Posted December 16th, 2010, 7:28 pm

Morgan B wrote:Using TU 1.0pre8 AND Tree Style Tab 0.11.2010120903 AND ColorfulTabs 4.8.0.5 results in no tabs being colored by ColorfulTabs. Tested in a clean profile. All add-ons used with default preferences.

TU hacks the ColorfulTabs code to reduce its use of "!important", but Tree Style Tab still uses "!important" for tab background-color. I may revert TU's changes, but IMO it's Tree Style Tab who behaves improperly. It uses too many unnecessary "!important" modifiers in CSS rules, which also leads to the conflict with TU for the pinned tabs' position.

ithinc
 
Posts: 1029
Joined: February 19th, 2008, 12:10 am

Post Posted December 16th, 2010, 8:14 pm

K4RBQT99 wrote:A little issue with the new layout. I get this, with the default size of the TU preferences window:

Could you make a snapshot the whole window?

K4RBQT99 wrote:Only I get that when the Mouse tab is the first tab displayed when i open the TU preferences. If i change to the Mouse tab from other tabs, the window is resized and displayed fine. Maybe a system theme issue, i don't sure.

I have no way to reproduce it. Have you checked whether it is a conflict with other add-ons?

K4RBQT99 wrote:ithinc, is possible that you can to update the code shipped with TU for Copy Tab URL extra menu entry for to work with multiples selected tabs too? it needs first that the extra command are displayed for selected tabs... but maybe it look as something very specialised for the scope of TU. I don't know if you want to give to the selected tabs feature much depth.

This is in my plan. I may combine the label and oncommand preferences into one object and add more attributes like "{label:..., oncommand:..., multiselected: true}, but I fear it will be hard to use.

K4RBQT99
 
Posts: 284
Joined: November 11th, 2010, 3:23 pm

Post Posted December 17th, 2010, 9:49 am

ithinc wrote:
K4RBQT99 wrote:Only I get that when the Mouse tab is the first tab displayed when i open the TU preferences. If i change to the Mouse tab from other tabs, the window is resized and displayed fine. Maybe a system theme issue, i don't sure.

I have no way to reproduce it. Have you checked whether it is a conflict with other add-ons?

It happens with Fx4 too. It's related to the system theme (Clearlooks, and others too). With a few themes more compact, this don't happen. I would think that is a system issue, but It's the first time that I see this with my actual theme (it didn't happen with previous versions of TU), so... i don't sure

Image Image

Morgan B
 
Posts: 155
Joined: June 7th, 2009, 9:08 am

Post Posted December 17th, 2010, 10:18 am

ithinc wrote:
Morgan B wrote:Using TU 1.0pre8 AND Tree Style Tab 0.11.2010120903 AND ColorfulTabs 4.8.0.5 results in no tabs being colored by ColorfulTabs. Tested in a clean profile. All add-ons used with default preferences.

TU hacks the ColorfulTabs code to reduce its use of "!important", but Tree Style Tab still uses "!important" for tab background-color. I may revert TU's changes, but IMO it's Tree Style Tab who behaves improperly. It uses too many unnecessary "!important" modifiers in CSS rules, which also leads to the conflict with TU for the pinned tabs' position.

I reported this TST author, and he responded:
Those "!important" are surely required, because appearance of tabs can be modified by third-parties' theme. For example, if a theme defines black background with white text, then partially applied styles from TST possibly make lighter background with white text -- yes, it is very hard to be read. To avoid these cases, I decided to use "!important" rules. Actually I got some "bug reports" like this. If I remove those "!important", I'll get similar bug reports again -- I'm very sorry but I don't want that.

Instead, I made an option for "highly compatibile for other addons". See the configuration dialog of TST, "Appearance" panel. There is an option "Default (Specified by the Theme)". If you choose the option, TST doesn't apply any "!important" rule for tabs. I believe that the option makes TST compatible with Tab Utilities and ColorfulTabs.

But I want to be able to use the "Plain" style of TST, just like I could before TU 1.0pre8!

ithinc
 
Posts: 1029
Joined: February 19th, 2008, 12:10 am

Post Posted December 18th, 2010, 5:31 am

Version 1.0pre9 is released.

Main changes:
1/ Improved customizable tab context menuitems, now supporting menuitems for selected tabs
2/ Added "Invert Selection" menuitem
3/ Removed "Select Left/Right/Other/Similar Tabs" and "Unselect All Tabs" menuitems
4/ Clear tab selection when switching tabs

bolobb wrote:When in multirow tab mode, moving the arrow on the list of tabs highlights n tabs down, where n is the number of rows.

Partially fixed in version 1.0pre9.

hllwn wrote:Context close tab has bug. When you right click to a tab, close tab suddenly becomes gray. Sometimes it doesn't. If it's not gray and you click close tab, tab closes but url isn't deleted. Tested with fresh firefox profile tu v.1pre8

Fixed in version 1.0pre9.

K4RBQT99 wrote:is possible that you can to update the code shipped with TU for Copy Tab URL extra menu entry for to work with multiples selected tabs too? it needs first that the extra command are displayed for selected tabs... but maybe it look as something very specialised for the scope of TU. I don't know if you want to give to the selected tabs feature much depth.

Implemented in version 1.0pre9.

Morgan B wrote:Using TU 1.0pre8 AND Tree Style Tab 0.11.2010120903 AND ColorfulTabs 4.8.0.5 results in no tabs being colored by ColorfulTabs. Tested in a clean profile. All add-ons used with default preferences.

Fixed in version 1.0pre9.
Post feature requests to http://tabutils.uservoice.com.
Post bug reports to https://github.com/ithinc/tabutils/issues.

ithinc
 
Posts: 1029
Joined: February 19th, 2008, 12:10 am

Post Posted December 18th, 2010, 6:04 am

K4RBQT99 wrote:It happens with Fx4 too. It's related to the system theme (Clearlooks, and others too). With a few themes more compact, this don't happen. I would think that is a system issue, but It's the first time that I see this with my actual theme (it didn't happen with previous versions of TU), so... i don't sure

Usually the preference window is resized automatically according to the content. I'm not sure what happens on Linux. Maybe it's a Firefox bug. Does the window resize when you switch from the Mouse tab to others? Resize each time from or to the Mouse tab?

K4RBQT99
 
Posts: 284
Joined: November 11th, 2010, 3:23 pm

Post Posted December 18th, 2010, 9:28 am

ithinc wrote:Version 1.0pre9 is released.

4/ Clear tab selection when switching tabs

Thanks for you fast work, ithinc, but, oh, how I disagree with the new behaviour :-" It kiils the selection feature, for me. By example, with many tabs of similar name overflowing the tab bar, i need to see the content of the tab for to confirm adding that to the selection. I can't figure how to do that now.
At least, for the old behaviour, TU give you too a few fast options for to unselect (single click on tab, tab bar...), is that was the motivation for to change.

ithinc
 
Posts: 1029
Joined: February 19th, 2008, 12:10 am

Post Posted December 19th, 2010, 7:56 pm

K4RBQT99 wrote:Thanks for you fast work, ithinc, but, oh, how I disagree with the new behaviour :-" It kiils the selection feature, for me. By example, with many tabs of similar name overflowing the tab bar, i need to see the content of the tab for to confirm adding that to the selection. I can't figure how to do that now.
At least, for the old behaviour, TU give you too a few fast options for to unselect (single click on tab, tab bar...), is that was the motivation for to change.

OK, this change will be backed out. Then is the "Unselect All Tabs" menuitem a necessary?

ithinc
 
Posts: 1029
Joined: February 19th, 2008, 12:10 am

Post Posted December 20th, 2010, 5:28 am

Version 1.0pre10 is released.

Main changes:
1/ Fixed tab drop indicator position for multi-row tabs
2/ Added a new shortcut key Ctrl+Shift+C to copy page locations of all tabs
Post feature requests to http://tabutils.uservoice.com.
Post bug reports to https://github.com/ithinc/tabutils/issues.

Defenestration
 
Posts: 359
Joined: July 7th, 2004, 11:33 am

Post Posted December 20th, 2010, 3:40 pm

1.0pre10 doesn't work on my system with Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-GB; rv:1.9.2.13) Gecko/20101203 Firefox/3.6.13 ID:20101203075014.

I have no problems with 1.0pre8

Defenestration
 
Posts: 359
Joined: July 7th, 2004, 11:33 am

Post Posted December 20th, 2010, 7:54 pm

I also use Session Manager and if the options to Reuse Current/Last/All blank tabs are enabled in TU, then a single blank tab does not get reused when I do a session restore.

I have reported this both here and on the Tab Utilities forum as I'm not sure whose fault it is.

Defenestration
 
Posts: 359
Joined: July 7th, 2004, 11:33 am

Post Posted December 20th, 2010, 8:01 pm

The "warn me when closing multiple tabs" firefox option does not work when closing the firefox window, but it does work when doing Close Left/Right/Other Tabs.

It works fine when TU is not installed.

ithinc
 
Posts: 1029
Joined: February 19th, 2008, 12:10 am

Post Posted December 20th, 2010, 11:04 pm

Defenestration wrote:1.0pre10 doesn't work on my system with Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-GB; rv:1.9.2.13) Gecko/20101203 Firefox/3.6.13 ID:20101203075014.

I have no problems with 1.0pre8

Any detailed info? And what about 1.0pre9?

Defenestration wrote:I also use Session Manager and if the options to Reuse Current/Last/All blank tabs are enabled in TU, then a single blank tab does not get reused when I do a session restore.

The "reuse blank tabs" option doesn't work with session restore, for session restore will open all needed blank tabs first and then restore them one by one.

Defenestration wrote:The "warn me when closing multiple tabs" firefox option does not work when closing the firefox window ...
It works fine when TU is not installed.

This is a false statement. Please test with a new profile with only TU installed.

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests