MozillaZine

>1 Profile Managers

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
FoxFox
 
Posts: 18
Joined: August 2nd, 2006, 12:09 am

Post Posted January 4th, 2011, 9:21 pm

Is it possible to either use separate profile managers for each different instance (version) of firefox? Or be able to provide separate profiles list to profile manager when run from different firefox? Mainly this is so don't load "wrong" profile into any Firefox instance (which updates extensions, which have to "down-date" when go back to correct firefox). Also to simplify things.

Ie Firefox 3.6 --> Profile1, Profile2
. .Firefox 4.0 --> Profile3, Profile4

KWierso
 
Posts: 8812
Joined: May 7th, 2006, 10:29 pm
Location: California

Post Posted January 4th, 2011, 9:29 pm

You can make your shortcuts point directly to specific profiles, so that launching that shortcut will start with the profile that you chose for it.

Right-click the shortcut, go to "Properties". Go to the "Shortcut" tab.

In the Target section, it should look something like this to begin with:
"C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe"

To make this shortcut start with a profile that's called "Profile1", change the target line so it looks like this:
"C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe" -P Profile1

And apply the changes.

(The "C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe" part might point to some other location, so you need that part to match what it is on YOUR system.)

Then make another shortcut for Firefox 3.6 and do the same thing to it (using "Profile2" instead of "Profile1").

Then do the same thing for two shortcuts for Firefox 4, using Profile3 and Profile4.



A different option might be to use a Portable Apps version of Firefox. I think the Portable Apps version doesn't look outside of its folder for profiles, so it should just list whatever profiles you create in it.)

the-edmeister

User avatar
 
Posts: 31113
Joined: February 25th, 2003, 12:51 am
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Post Posted January 4th, 2011, 10:37 pm

Mozilla is developing a new Profile Manager application to replace the current Profile Manager that is built into Firefox, which can be set up to "tie" each Profile to a particular Firefox installation.

https://wiki.mozilla.org/Auto-tools/Pro ... ileManager
https://developer.mozilla.org/en/Profile_Manager
http://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla.org/ ... lemanager/


.
A mind is a terrible thing to waste. Mine has wandered off and I'm out looking for it.

FoxFox
 
Posts: 18
Joined: August 2nd, 2006, 12:09 am

Post Posted January 5th, 2011, 12:15 am

KWierso: I had just read about this method before i posted. But i would like to keep using profile-manager (or similar) to launch firefox/profile. I will use this for the gui i quickly made though (have basically duplicated the look/operation of firefox profile-manager). I might even alter it so that i can choose the Firefox version as well (?!)

the-edmeister: I have downloaded the package from http://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla.org/ ... ilemanager. Can i just run it from its folder?. Or does it have to be "installed" in some way (eg via AddOns). Also am getting an "msvcr100.dll" error. Downloaded the dll off web, put in system32, system, profilemanager, & xulrunner folders, but still get error. Can't-register error also (commandprompt .. regsvr32...). Might try again after rebooting.

KWierso
 
Posts: 8812
Joined: May 7th, 2006, 10:29 pm
Location: California

Post Posted January 5th, 2011, 12:41 am

FoxFox wrote:the-edmeister: I have downloaded the package from http://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla.org/ ... ilemanager. Can i just run it from its folder?. Or does it have to be "installed" in some way (eg via AddOns). Also am getting an "msvcr100.dll" error. Downloaded the dll off web, put in system32, system, profilemanager, & xulrunner folders, but still get error. Can't-register error also (commandprompt .. regsvr32...). Might try again after rebooting.

For me, I just ran profilemanager.exe and it started up.

You might want to make a backup of your profiles if they're important to you, as the new profile manager IS pre-release software and could possibly eat your profiles.

James
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 25644
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted January 5th, 2011, 12:46 am

FoxFox, are you really posting with the old EOL Firefox 2.0.0.20 from two years ago? or did you over-ride your useragent.
(*.mozillaZine.org is not Mozilla!)
The Complaint Department at Mozilla (current complaints) (<It is not a real complaint site but for jokes/testing of bugzilla).
The Complaint department link is borked until unknown time.

FoxFox
 
Posts: 18
Joined: August 2nd, 2006, 12:09 am

Post Posted January 5th, 2011, 5:16 am

James wrote:FoxFox, are you really posting with the old EOL Firefox 2.0.0.20 from two years ago? or did you over-ride your useragent.

Yes, i'm afraid i am!. The primary reason is due to later versions not running all of my current extensions (i have 80 installed). Also i'm comfortable with things exactly as they are, user-interface-wise (each version changes little things, which i dislike). But i am using the 3.6 version for my "Video-downloading" profile.
Ps: Up till near end of 2008, i was still using 1.5 (& 1.3 not long before that)! :oops:

L.A.R. Grizzly

User avatar
 
Posts: 4721
Joined: March 15th, 2005, 5:32 pm
Location: Akron, Ohio, USA

Post Posted January 5th, 2011, 12:38 pm

FoxFox wrote: Also am getting an "msvcr100.dll" error. Downloaded the dll off web, put in system32, system, profilemanager, & xulrunner folders, but still get error. Can't-register error also (commandprompt .. regsvr32...). Might try again after rebooting.


I just tried it on my WinXP system with the same results. I did a search for msvcp100.dll and msvcr100.dll (you need both) on my machine and copied those files to the root directory of "profilemanager" after unpacking. After that, the program ran fine.
Win7 Pro SP1 64 Bit
Comodo Internet Security
Firefox 39.0, Thunderbird 38.1.0 and SeaMonkey 2.33.1

VanillaMozilla
 
Posts: 13802
Joined: November 7th, 2005, 11:26 am

Post Posted January 6th, 2011, 7:38 am

FoxFox, you don't want anything to change, but if you wait long enough, some spyware will probably make changes for you -- if it hasn't already. I know, I hate to update working software too, but the days are long gone when it was safe to do that. I see now why you want to run two different versions. Best of luck to you.

FoxFox
 
Posts: 18
Joined: August 2nd, 2006, 12:09 am

Post Posted January 7th, 2011, 4:23 am

VanillaMozilla wrote:but if you wait long enough, some spyware will probably make changes for you -- if it hasn't already
By "spyware" you mean (specifically) ... ?
I have made my 2.0 Firefox as secure as i can via extensions. Could spyware still get onto my pc?

FoxFox
 
Posts: 18
Joined: August 2nd, 2006, 12:09 am

Post Posted January 7th, 2011, 4:27 am

L.A.R. Grizzly: Here are the errors i'm getting:

---------------------------
RegSvr32
---------------------------
msvcr100.dll was loaded, but the DllRegisterServer entry point was not found.
This file can not be registered.
---------------------------
("regsvr32 msvcr100.dll" at command)


---------------------------
profilemanager.exe - Entry Point Not Found
---------------------------
The procedure entry point _invalid_parameter_noinfo_noreturn could not be located in the dynamic link library MSVCR100.dll.
---------------------------


---------------------------
XULRunner
---------------------------
Couldn't load XPCOM.
---------------------------


I'm using WinXp, SP3.

VanillaMozilla
 
Posts: 13802
Joined: November 7th, 2005, 11:26 am

Post Posted January 7th, 2011, 7:12 am

FoxFox wrote:I have made my 2.0 Firefox as secure as i can via extensions. Could spyware still get onto my pc?
FoxFox, my jaw dropped.
http://www.mozilla.org/security/known-vulnerabilities/
All it takes is one ad that delivers malware, and bang! You might be lucky, but you're playing roulette. Malware has gotten very good at hiding itself, and security software is extremely ineffective. It generally misses a large fraction -- and by "large", I mean something like 1/3 -- even of the known threats.

FoxFox
 
Posts: 18
Joined: August 2nd, 2006, 12:09 am

Post Posted January 7th, 2011, 10:53 pm

I forgot about all that stuff .. those Firefox hackers have been very busy haven't they!
I have been focussing on extension-based security (AdBlock+, NoScript, FlashBlock, BetterPrivacy (deletes Flash cookies), LeechBlock), but i now see that they only cover the most-common, or maybe the most basic, forms of malware.
You have motivated me to consider ditching Firefox 2.0, and other versions, and using only the latest version!. Partial protection is not good enough for me. Just been too busy with other stuff to keep up properly, security-wise (& of course the other reasons mentioned).
And i'm a very technically-minded person! (which means billions more people...)

FoxFox
 
Posts: 18
Joined: August 2nd, 2006, 12:09 am

Post Posted January 9th, 2011, 4:09 am

Could someone tell me the versions of msvcr100.dll & msvcp100.dll they are using?. It's for "The procedure entry point ... could not be located" error.

L.A.R. Grizzly

User avatar
 
Posts: 4721
Joined: March 15th, 2005, 5:32 pm
Location: Akron, Ohio, USA

Post Posted January 9th, 2011, 9:38 am

FoxFox wrote:Could someone tell me the versions of msvcr100.dll & msvcp100.dll they are using?. It's for "The procedure entry point ... could not be located" error.


msvcp100.dll - 10.0.30319.1
msvcr100.dll - 10.0.30319.1

You can download my copies here. They will be available for about 5 weeks.
Win7 Pro SP1 64 Bit
Comodo Internet Security
Firefox 39.0, Thunderbird 38.1.0 and SeaMonkey 2.33.1

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 17 guests