MozillaZine

Nightly Troubleshooting Information

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
wmarcello
 
Posts: 262
Joined: December 13th, 2003, 7:30 am
Location: NB, Canada

Post Posted September 21st, 2010, 9:18 am

WonderCsabo wrote:64 bit Flash player installs the 32 bit plugin, too, and to all browsers (except IE, it has a specific AX plugin)

I originally installed the 64-bit nightly, and when I went to a Flash-enabled site the browser prompted me to install the Flash plugin. I reinstalled the plugin but on browser restart it still wasn't recognized. After uninstalling the 64-bit version and replacing it with the 32-bit nightly, and everything worked fine right away.

kancaras

User avatar
 
Posts: 121
Joined: September 21st, 2010, 11:39 am

Post Posted September 21st, 2010, 11:46 am

to run minefield and flash 64bit i had to uninstall all previous versions of flash. and install "64-bit Windows — for all other browsers" version from here
Last edited by kancaras on September 21st, 2010, 11:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

kancaras

User avatar
 
Posts: 121
Joined: September 21st, 2010, 11:39 am

Post Posted September 21st, 2010, 11:48 am

ups *delete*

wmarcello
 
Posts: 262
Joined: December 13th, 2003, 7:30 am
Location: NB, Canada

Post Posted September 21st, 2010, 11:54 am

kancaras wrote:to run minefield and flash 64bit i had to uninstall all previous versions of flash. and install "64-bit Windows — for all other browsers" version from here

Will the 64-bit Flash player work in my other 32-bit browsers?

a;skdjfajf;ak

User avatar
 
Posts: 17002
Joined: July 10th, 2004, 8:44 am

Post Posted September 21st, 2010, 12:13 pm

wmarcello wrote:
kancaras wrote:to run minefield and flash 64bit i had to uninstall all previous versions of flash. and install "64-bit Windows — for all other browsers" version from here

Will the 64-bit Flash player work in my other 32-bit browsers?


No, 64bit requires 64bit plugins, 32bit - 32bit plugins....

wmarcello
 
Posts: 262
Joined: December 13th, 2003, 7:30 am
Location: NB, Canada

Post Posted October 11th, 2010, 6:35 pm

mat-- wrote:Nightlies are updated once a day and you can receive updates for nightlies just as stable/beta channels do. Partial updates (i.e from one nightly to another) is about 2-3 MB and Full updates (i.e from an old nightly or an hourly build) are about 11 MB big. You can also use the installer at any time to jump to a specific build (i.e tryserver builds) or even return to an old nightly if necessary.

Just needed a clarification on one thing. I used to install Minefield via the exe installer. For updates, I would simply let the browser take care of it with partial updates. I now tend to use the zip install. Is it still ok to let the browser take care of the updates itself? The only reason I ask is because I was reading that zip installs are no longer offered for stable releases for some reason having to do with updates. Can somebody clarify? Thanks.

cuz84d
 
Posts: 1644
Joined: August 24th, 2009, 6:03 pm

Post Posted December 13th, 2010, 10:22 pm

There is now a change to the build system so trying to determine a build issue between OS's should be much easier to check since they should start having the same build changeset.
http://oduinn.com/blog/2010/12/13/all-nightly-builds-are-now-created-equally/

cuz84d
 
Posts: 1644
Joined: August 24th, 2009, 6:03 pm

Post Posted January 3rd, 2011, 8:51 pm

Notes from a developer on HW accceleration as of Jan 2, 2011:

"It would be useful if, when you report graphics bugs, you mention whether you're using a default (or at least
supported) configuration or a non-default configuration. I think our supported configurations are:
-- No accelerated layers, no Direct2D, no DirectWrite
-- D3D9 accelerated layers, no Direct2D, no DirectWrite
-- D3D10 accelerated layers, Direct2D, DirectWrite
-- GL accelerated layers (Mac and mobile Linux only)"

lithopsian
 
Posts: 3663
Joined: September 15th, 2010, 9:03 am

Post Posted January 4th, 2011, 12:23 pm

cuz84d wrote:(Mac and mobile Linux only)"


Really? Only mobile?

WonderCsabo
 
Posts: 2230
Joined: June 25th, 2010, 9:29 am
Location: Budapest, Hungary

Post Posted January 4th, 2011, 12:31 pm

GL accalerated layers on Linux desktop are not enabled by default, yet, they are very buggy.

patfla
 
Posts: 187
Joined: July 3rd, 2004, 3:26 pm
Location: SF E Bay CA US

Post Posted July 9th, 2011, 12:36 pm

When I saw this on bugzilla and its patch:

https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=666058#c31

I decided to move to the Nightlies. Moreover 64 bits since 64 bit FF is now regularly built on the official locations and I'm running 64 bit Windows 7.

Huge improvement. FF (5) had grown very sluggish - this is much faster. Memory management seems to be much improved and I like the new display for about:memory.

I didn't want a reason to move to Chrome and now I don't have one.

patfla
 
Posts: 187
Joined: July 3rd, 2004, 3:26 pm
Location: SF E Bay CA US

Post Posted July 11th, 2011, 11:32 am

"Firefox 8 is 20% faster than Firefox 5, matches Chrome 14"

http://www.extremetech.com/internet/895 ... -chrome-14

patfla
 
Posts: 187
Joined: July 3rd, 2004, 3:26 pm
Location: SF E Bay CA US

Post Posted July 12th, 2011, 10:59 am

I've had two crashes with what's now 8.0a1.

https://crash-stats.mozilla.com/report/ ... 4be2110711
https://crash-stats.mozilla.com/report/ ... 12b2110711

It would appear that both of the crashes occurred down in the garbage collector - is that correct? Or does one need to look farther upstream (further up the stack)?

Whatever the case, I can live with the crashes and the benefits far outweigh any costs.

KWierso
 
Posts: 8831
Joined: May 7th, 2006, 10:29 pm
Location: California

Post Posted July 12th, 2011, 1:16 pm

patfla wrote:I've had two crashes with what's now 8.0a1.

https://crash-stats.mozilla.com/report/ ... 4be2110711
https://crash-stats.mozilla.com/report/ ... 12b2110711

It would appear that both of the crashes occurred down in the garbage collector - is that correct? Or does one need to look farther upstream (further up the stack)?

Whatever the case, I can live with the crashes and the benefits far outweigh any costs.

Yeah, that's in the garbage collector. Can you test this with the 32-bit version of Firefox (using the same profile) to see if it's maybe a 64-bit issue?

patfla
 
Posts: 187
Joined: July 3rd, 2004, 3:26 pm
Location: SF E Bay CA US

Post Posted July 12th, 2011, 1:56 pm

Yes, I can test with the 32 bit version, however the crashes aren't frequent.

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Joker1337, Omega X and 2 guests