Force Firefox To Full Screen At Startup

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Post Reply
jsfordman
Posts: 6
Joined: October 28th, 2011, 8:52 am

Force Firefox To Full Screen At Startup

Post by jsfordman »

I need to force Firefox to open in full screen mode when Windows starts. Sometimes it will remember the last state but not always.
I am doing an advertisement screen at a location. I need to make sure the FF will open my url to full screen. I seen some of the old add-ons but they say they won't work in FF 7.

Any ideas?

Thanks
User avatar
BruceAWittmeier
Posts: 3076
Joined: June 9th, 2008, 10:53 am
Location: Near 37.501685 -80.147967

Re: Force Firefox To Full Screen At Startup

Post by BruceAWittmeier »

Firefox should open in the last closed state.

You can also do this running Firefox from a command line or Icon with properties set to this:

firefox.exe -width 1680 -height 1050

This would assume everyones monitor is the same size.

You can google for more suggestions - some may work better for your needs.
I often take a long windy road to my destination. Upon arrival, I wonder how I missed the shortcut.
morat
Posts: 6425
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Re: Force Firefox To Full Screen At Startup

Post by morat »

You can use the userChromeJS extension to start up the browser in full screen mode.

Code: Select all

/* Firefox userChrome.js */

if (location == "chrome://browser/content/browser.xul") {
  setTimeout(function() {
    if (window.opener == null) {
      Services.prefs.setBoolPref("browser.fullscreen.autohide", true);
      window.fullScreen = true;
    }
  }, 2000);
}

http://userchromejs.mozdev.org/

Instructions:

1. install userChromeJS extension
2. close browser
3. create userChrome.js in the chrome folder
4. open browser

viewtopic.php?t=1006795

jsfordman wrote:Sometimes it will remember the last state but not always.

BruceAWittmeier wrote:Firefox should open in the last closed state.

If the Firefox process is killed by Windows when the store closes then the localstore.rdf sizemode attribute may not be equal to fullscreen at startup. The setting would depend on the screen mode when Firefox was last closed normally.
jsfordman
Posts: 6
Joined: October 28th, 2011, 8:52 am

Re: Force Firefox To Full Screen At Startup

Post by jsfordman »

The first example will only maximize the screen. It will not put it in true full screen mode.
I'm not sure what to do with the second example. Will the second example put the browser in real full screen mode like F11 does?

Thanks
morat
Posts: 6425
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Re: Force Firefox To Full Screen At Startup

Post by morat »

jsfordman wrote:Will the second example put the browser in real full screen mode like F11 does?

Yes.

https://developer.mozilla.org/en/DOM/window.fullScreen

A better solution would be a fullscreen theme.

https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/addon/328836

Ctrl+Shift+A to open the Add-ons Manager to enable the default theme
Ctrl+PageUp or Ctrl+PageDown to open the previous or next tab
Ctrl+W to close the current tab

http://support.mozilla.com/kb/Keyboard%20shortcuts
jsfordman
Posts: 6
Joined: October 28th, 2011, 8:52 am

Re: Force Firefox To Full Screen At Startup

Post by jsfordman »

That plugin has a lot of problems. When installed I have trouble loading Flowplayer.
I wish someone would do a clean plugin for real full screen that works with FF 7+
morat
Posts: 6425
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Re: Force Firefox To Full Screen At Startup

Post by morat »

How about these extensions?

https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/addon/FF_Fullscreen/
https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/addon/reset-kiosk/
https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/addon/foxsaver/

FF Fullscreen wrote:optional full screen on browser start

Reset Kiosk wrote:optionally forces it back to fullscreen after specified period of inactivity

FoxSaver wrote:options to display a webpage
jsfordman
Posts: 6
Joined: October 28th, 2011, 8:52 am

Re: Force Firefox To Full Screen At Startup

Post by jsfordman »

Thanks Morat!
That's what I needed. I had trouble finding extensions that worked with FF7+
Post Reply