MozillaZine

[Ext] MoreLayouts (for Thunderbird) 3.1 [2016-07-10]

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
alta88
 
Posts: 980
Joined: January 28th, 2006, 3:08 pm

Post Posted October 19th, 2011, 2:00 pm

you can close Tb. in your profile folder find file prefs.js and edit it. change pref mail.pane_config.dynamic to 0 (classic view). then rename your localstore.rdf file in the profile folder and restart. localstore.rdf contains the information remembering fullscreen state across a restart.

if you could open the Tools->Error Console and try F11 again, it would be useful to see if there's anything that causes this, i've not seen any F11 being stuck in fullscreen problems.

danny1000
 
Posts: 2
Joined: October 30th, 2011, 10:25 am

Post Posted October 30th, 2011, 10:32 am

Hi, I really like your addon. In the screenshots section you have one of the new MultiRow layout for MoreLayouts Pro. As I like to use Thunderbird on my netbook (with 1024x600 resolution) I would really like to use the MultiRow feature in the 3-column-view. What are your plans about releasing your Pro addon or is it already available?

Thank you very much!
Daniel

Shemja
 
Posts: 8
Joined: January 19th, 2011, 11:35 am

Post Posted October 30th, 2011, 11:29 am

I managed to get out of it by closing Thunderbird unconventionally. When it reopened, full screen was disabled. I checked the error console. There was nothing there. As long as I don't click full screen again, it should be OK. If I stop using the wide layout, I'll just uninstall.

Sorry I can't help provide info to troubleshoot.

alta88
 
Posts: 980
Joined: January 28th, 2006, 3:08 pm

Post Posted October 31st, 2011, 2:08 pm

danny1000 wrote:Hi, I really like your addon. In the screenshots section you have one of the new MultiRow layout for MoreLayouts Pro. As I like to use Thunderbird on my netbook (with 1024x600 resolution) I would really like to use the MultiRow feature in the 3-column-view. What are your plans about releasing your Pro addon or is it already available?

Thank you very much!
Daniel


there are still a few technical issues before MultiRow view is releasable. it's not currently envisioned to be freeware though.

danny1000
 
Posts: 2
Joined: October 30th, 2011, 10:25 am

Post Posted November 2nd, 2011, 10:31 pm

Thank you for your answer. It's no problem you are not planning on releasing MoreLayouts Pro as freeware. Well, it depends on the price :-). So if you need some beta tester, I would like to help. I am using Debian with Icedove 7 and Ubuntu with Thunderbird 7.

mj_
 
Posts: 1
Joined: November 11th, 2011, 1:54 am

Post Posted November 11th, 2011, 1:58 am

alta88, if you need help or testers for your MultiRow extension I'd love to volunteer. I've been looking for something like this for Thunderbird for a while now and was directed at your extension by Wayne. I can throw in an entire forest of systems, from Windows to Linux and possibly even some Macs.

alta88
 
Posts: 980
Joined: January 28th, 2006, 3:08 pm

Post Posted November 11th, 2011, 8:21 am

i know, MultiRow message list is probably the #1 most requested Tb feature, aside from things in tabs, and has been for a decade.

but first it needs to work with the known issues, before i can ask for testing with unknown issues ;)

and some things, such as html and rich content, will never be possible in tree view without a big change in core c++ code, which has proven quite illusive so far.

gnuzoo
 
Posts: 59
Joined: September 9th, 2003, 1:21 pm

Post Posted February 1st, 2012, 4:30 pm

Please update this for TB 10 !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

alta88
 
Posts: 980
Joined: January 28th, 2006, 3:08 pm

Post Posted February 1st, 2012, 4:52 pm

It already is, v2.3, see the homepage.

crickw

User avatar
 
Posts: 7
Joined: September 24th, 2005, 8:29 am
Location: San Francisco

Post Posted February 2nd, 2012, 4:50 pm

Really nice extension. Thanks!
One observation/bug: Running v2.3 in TB10.0.2 on OSX 10.7.2.
Set View>Layout>Stacked View
Do a search using ⌘K
Choose "Open as List" from results
Results tab is the Thunderbrowse Start tab --- and there is no Thread Pane.
Without MoreLayouts, the "Open as List" shows two panes: the message thread and the list view. The Thunderbrowse Start page shows until the user selects and individual message in the thread. With MoreLayouts, since there is not list view, one cannot choose from the list and therefore the "Open as List" function is rendered inoperable.

Running the same scenario but start with View>Layout>Classic/Verical and the "Open as List" includes a message list view.

Anyone else find this?
Is there a way to change this behavior?
Last edited by crickw on February 26th, 2012, 5:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ctwardy
 
Posts: 3
Joined: February 24th, 2012, 7:53 am

Post Posted February 24th, 2012, 3:45 pm

It doesn't work for TB 10.0.2.
All the layouts get cut off at half-screen with no way to adjust.

alta88
 
Posts: 980
Joined: January 28th, 2006, 3:08 pm

Post Posted February 25th, 2012, 5:26 pm

ctwardy wrote:It doesn't work for TB 10.0.2.
All the layouts get cut off at half-screen with no way to adjust.

alta88 wrote:It already is, v2.3, see the homepage.

ctwardy
 
Posts: 3
Joined: February 24th, 2012, 7:53 am

Post Posted March 5th, 2012, 6:48 am

alta88 wrote:It already is, v2.3, see the homepage.


Aha. I see what's going on. I was using 2.2 and having trouble getting 2.3. Thunderbird cannot find "MoreLayouts" in its Add-ons Manager, so I used Firefox. When I tried to download 2.3 from Firefox, it said, "MoreLayouts could not be installed because it is not compatible with Firefox 10.0.2." I assumed it knew of some version compatibility but apparently it's just saying "This is a Thunderbird extension, not a Firefox extension."

Clicked "Save As" and installed normally. It works a charm. Why can't the Add-ons manager see it?

alta88
 
Posts: 980
Joined: January 28th, 2006, 3:08 pm

Post Posted March 6th, 2012, 2:57 pm

v2.2 was fully reviewed and AMO decided to partially review v2.3. so i guess going to the lower state doesn't get you a free auto upgrade. i would consider this bad policy by AMO. i regret it wasn't seamless for you like it should have been.

ctwardy
 
Posts: 3
Joined: February 24th, 2012, 7:53 am

Post Posted April 3rd, 2012, 8:07 am

crickw wrote:Set View>Layout>Stacked View
Do a search ...
Choose "Open as List" from results ...there is no Thread Pane.
..."Open as List" function is rendered inoperable.
...Anyone else find this?


I have observed the same behavior. I use "Open as List" a lot.

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: GHM113 and 7 guests