MozillaZine

Firefox Search Engine Icons Missing After Profile Restore

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Xplorer4x4
 
Posts: 32
Joined: May 27th, 2006, 5:13 pm

Post Posted January 9th, 2013, 1:24 pm

I usually use FEBE to make a back up of my firefox profile and I use it to restore it. In this case I forgot to do that before I did a clean install of Kubuntu 12.10 on my new SSD. So I just decided to copy over my profile folder(~/.mozilla/firefox/) from my old Kubuntu 12.10 back up. I used the firefox profile manager to select the copied over profile. Everything worked fine but the search engine icons were missing when I opened the menu. However, when I select a search engine, the icon shows up fine. Since I am doing a dual boot with Win 8, I did a FEBE back up and transported the profile back up to Win 8. In Win 8 the icons work as designed. When I open the search engine drop down menu, it all the icons show as they should. So I did a FEBE back up of the Win 8 profile, and imported it in to a fresh firefox profile in kubuntu. The icons still do not work as designed in Kubuntu. I am lost as to why it works in Win 8 but not Kubuntu when I use the same profile. Since I used a KDE distro, I have to use the firefox-kde-support and zmozzilahelper packages from the blue-shell(Kubuntu developers) Launchpad PPA. To my knowledge nothing changes in the search engine function, but I am throwing it out there as I am not sure if

Xplorer4x4
 
Posts: 32
Joined: May 27th, 2006, 5:13 pm

Post Posted January 10th, 2013, 12:05 pm

Can I please get some help on this? It would be a lot of work to replace all my custom search engines.

Xplorer4x4
 
Posts: 32
Joined: May 27th, 2006, 5:13 pm

Post Posted January 19th, 2013, 4:00 pm

No one has the slightest clue how to fix the search icons? I find that hard to believe.

I have tried copying over the searchplugins folder from windows. I have tried restoring the default search for google. I have even tried to update the favicon manually. None of the above worked.

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 43519
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted January 19th, 2013, 4:24 pm

What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

Xplorer4x4
 
Posts: 32
Joined: May 27th, 2006, 5:13 pm

Post Posted February 5th, 2013, 11:30 am


Thanks for a response. Neither of these solved the issue though.

When starting in safe mode, the icons show as designed. The only add on I can see relevant here is the organize search engines add on that allows you to create folders, but this still does not explain how the data can work in windows, but not firefox unless of course this is a firefox bug related to the KDE modifications. However, I am skeptical of that to.

EDIT: Disabling the organize search engines add on brought back the icons. So it seems to be directly related, but again I can't see how this is the problem. I could see if the data was corupt, how that would be a problem, but if the data works in windows, it can't be corrupt in linux.

Anonymosity
 
Posts: 8523
Joined: May 7th, 2007, 12:07 pm

Post Posted February 5th, 2013, 1:02 pm

The icons for the search plugins are not favicons or site icons. I blocked both of those, and I still see the search engine icons.

Xplorer4x4
 
Posts: 32
Joined: May 27th, 2006, 5:13 pm

Post Posted February 5th, 2013, 1:06 pm

Anonymosity wrote:The icons for the search plugins are not favicons or site icons. I blocked both of those, and I still see the search engine icons.

The icon assigned to each entry is typically the favicon used on the site at the time of adding and then stored on your computer.

kreemoweet
 
Posts: 729
Joined: December 30th, 2009, 11:25 pm

Post Posted February 5th, 2013, 1:48 pm

Another Windows vs Linux line ending glitch? I notice that the base64 icon data for Google search in the .xml definition files is slightly
different between my Windows and Linux installation. In Windows, it is one long line, in Linux it is multi-lined with the additional lines
starting with a "+" character. Perhaps the extension you were using got the format spec a little wrong?

Xplorer4x4
 
Posts: 32
Joined: May 27th, 2006, 5:13 pm

Post Posted February 5th, 2013, 2:08 pm

The add on has not been updated since 2011 and worked fine in linux prior to manually backing up and manually restoring the profile folder after reinstalling linux. In fact I reinstalled linux once or twice before, and if i did a restore with FEBE everything was fine. It was only when I did the profile restore via copy and paste methods, it suddenly has a problem with search engine favicons. It does seem to be a linux vs windows issue, but the backup data originated from linux..well actually it originated as a FEBE back up from my windows install from about a year ago, when I switched to linux. However this back up was done under linux using copy and paste.


Here is a youtube search I made using "Add to Search Bar" add on.
Code: Select all
<SearchPlugin xmlns="http://www.mozilla.org/2006/browser/search/" xmlns:os="http://a9.com/-/spec/opensearch/1.1/">
<os:ShortName>YouTube</os:ShortName>
<os:Description>YouTube</os:Description>
<os:InputEncoding>UTF-8</os:InputEncoding>
<os:Image width="16" height="16">data:image/png;base64,iVBORw0KGgoAAAANSUhEUgAAABAAAAAQCAYAAAAf8/9hAAABYklEQVQ4jcXTzUoCURjG8XdTnnN0Zs7Yh4JIVyAEXUm0DVp0AW26gILAFiWJFJrYwo9FErQxAoMsjJxoNhUD
QbgecSPjJgYGnhaVTCO1aOMLv9Xz375EE797It7RwzUjKkxDF64RDeMvHT38/NnyMhERtXWevtPD+I+2ztPUksK80Q
X8bmMSdq2Ch6UUgptfSwqTmlL0r3QBv+uFOFzXxftggKf1NQT3b00p+tTQuHchBX5IxuE4DhzHwXA4xFupiMt4FMGuo
XGPzqXAmGQMtm2P9Ho9vBznxzspQHWNI+g0MY9utztitlrILKbGurrGQVWVeVWNw6+SmINlWbAsC2f7e9iYlcirDMGuqjK
PSgrvn6gcfqXYDB4NA7sry9gUIRQD+6hTeJ8KKjcLKoffkcqxyqawHWEIbgEm5RSWPlQZ/iOnsDRliHhWYeWswswv+
M2BEnoddRG2s0U0PdE/JCKiD2TAbGlHU6nxAAAAAElFTkSuQmCC</os:Image>
<SearchForm>http://www.youtube.com/</SearchForm>
<os:Url type="text/html" method="GET" template="http://www.youtube.com/results">
  <os:Param name="search_query" value="{searchTerms}"/>
  <os:Param name="oq" value=""/>
  <os:Param name="aq" value=""/>
  <os:Param name="aqi" value=""/>
  <os:Param name="aql" value=""/>
  <os:Param name="gs_l" value=""/>
</os:Url>
</SearchPlugin>

Again, as I find it tricky to explain, as I type this, say I have google search selected. The Google icon shows up fine. However when I click the favicon to select a different search engine, the icons are missing. If I then switch to the youtube or wikipedia search, for example, again, the icon shows up next to the search box, just not in the menus.

Anonymosity
 
Posts: 8523
Joined: May 7th, 2007, 12:07 pm

Post Posted February 6th, 2013, 12:34 pm

Xplorer4x4 wrote:
Anonymosity wrote:The icons for the search plugins are not favicons or site icons. I blocked both of those, and I still see the search engine icons.

The icon assigned to each entry is typically the favicon used on the site at the time of adding and then stored on your computer.

The icons for the search plugins are embedded in the .xml files. They do not have to be downloaded separately. If I block all favicons and site icons, there is no way they would be downloaded.

mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 9247
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted February 6th, 2013, 12:57 pm

Long Shot: On Ubuntu I believe there a 'show menu icons' option in dconf/gconf-editor ?
@If you have any of those Unity/Gnome Firefox 'compatibility' Extensions (or ubufox) installed try disabling them.
#KeepFightingMichael

Xplorer4x4
 
Posts: 32
Joined: May 27th, 2006, 5:13 pm

Post Posted February 15th, 2013, 6:48 pm

mightyglydd wrote:Long Shot: On Ubuntu I believe there a 'show menu icons' option in dconf/gconf-editor ?
@If you have any of those Unity/Gnome Firefox 'compatibility' Extensions (or ubufox) installed try disabling them.

No luck. However I traced the problem back to the Organize Search Engines add on. If I disable this, the icons come back! However, due the number of search engines I have, the Organize mod is a must have. I am trying to figure out how to completely erase any trace of this add on and restore it. I tried simply removing it, and deleting the rdf file with the search engines referenced in them, but when I reinstall the add on, the folders have been deleted but the icons are still missing.



Anonymosity wrote:
Xplorer4x4 wrote:
Anonymosity wrote:The icons for the search plugins are not favicons or site icons. I blocked both of those, and I still see the search engine icons.

The icon assigned to each entry is typically the favicon used on the site at the time of adding and then stored on your computer.

The icons for the search plugins are embedded in the .xml files.

Yes they are, but I don't see how this is relevant.

They do not have to be downloaded separately.

I never said they had to be downloaded manually, so not seeing the relevance again.

If I block all favicons and site icons, there is no way they would be downloaded.

Sounds to me like the search engine does not respect the config option. Perhaps this is due to the fact that the icons are stored in XML files and not being retrieved from the websites every time the search engine menu is opened. Also, for the record, I am referencing the Add to Search Bar option, but I don;t think this matters.

Xplorer4x4
 
Posts: 32
Joined: May 27th, 2006, 5:13 pm

Post Posted April 28th, 2013, 2:04 pm

Ok well I found the culprit, it is still the Organize Search Engines add on, but there is more to it..

After upgrading Kubuntu 12.10 to 13.04 Kubuntu did not respect my pin file and upgraded me to the standard GTK version of firefox straight from Canonical rather then keeping the version from firefox-kde ppa by blue shell. After the upgrade my search engine icons were gone. I purged out all firefox packaged, restarted and installed the proper packages from the blue shell ppa. The problem still remained though(no icons).

This is driving me nuts and organize search engines is one of those plug ins I can't live with out.

the-edmeister

User avatar
 
Posts: 32121
Joined: February 25th, 2003, 12:51 am
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Post Posted April 28th, 2013, 3:40 pm

Have you tired contacting the developer of that extension?
Email addy is on both homepages for that extension.
https://firefox.maltekraus.de/extension ... ch-engines
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... es/?src=ss

.
A mind is a terrible thing to waste. Mine has wandered off and I'm out looking for it.

Xplorer4x4
 
Posts: 32
Joined: May 27th, 2006, 5:13 pm

Post Posted April 28th, 2013, 4:09 pm

Yes, I emailed him some time ago when the issue first cropped up. No response.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 10 guests