MozillaZine

ANOTHER bug in the File Save dialog

Discussion of bugs in Mozilla Firefox
OldManRivuh

User avatar
 
Posts: 399
Joined: October 5th, 2004, 9:48 am
Location: Northern, CA

Post Posted March 3rd, 2005, 2:04 pm

In the new Firefox 1.0.1 install, the save dialog does not
recognize folder shortcuts when saving files! (anymore)


If you double-click on a shortcut (to a folder), it says that that
file already exists, do you want to overwrite it, instead of going
to the directory the shortcut points to. (like it used to in 1.0 & before)

Which is now highly irritating!!!

Opening a file works correctly when navigating folder shortcuts.

Could someone please enter this as a bugzilla entry.

FYI my system:

Windows ME 4.90.3000; Compaq P3 800MHz; 256Mb RAM;
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Win 9x 4.90; en-US; rv:1.7.6) Gecko/20050225 Firefox/1.0.1

zachariah

User avatar
 
Posts: 586
Joined: September 30th, 2003, 12:44 pm
Location: Earth

Post Posted March 4th, 2005, 9:48 am

you posted in my thread (windows shortcuts not correctly recognized by 1.0.1) and I came looking in yours to see if there's a bugzilla number yet (so I can vote for it)

If I get time today, I might enter it (and of course look to see if it's already in there)

Help MozillaZine: Donate! or Buy Something!

ChaosBlackflame

User avatar
 
Posts: 1
Joined: March 4th, 2005, 12:19 pm
Location: Vancouver, WA

Post Posted March 4th, 2005, 12:23 pm

Good, it's not just me.
Just Another Freak In The Freak Kingdom

Mossop

User avatar
 
Posts: 717
Joined: January 11th, 2004, 7:24 am
Location: Swansea, UK

Post Posted March 4th, 2005, 12:41 pm

The bug has already been reported as Bug 283730.

Mossop

zachariah

User avatar
 
Posts: 586
Joined: September 30th, 2003, 12:44 pm
Location: Earth

Post Posted March 4th, 2005, 5:36 pm

mossop wrote:The bug has already been reported as Bug 283730.
nice work finding that for us -- I've now voted for it!!


Now I wonder if it will be fixed for a 1.0.1a so I can upgrade from 1.0

:|

Help MozillaZine: Donate! or Buy Something!

OldManRivuh

User avatar
 
Posts: 399
Joined: October 5th, 2004, 9:48 am
Location: Northern, CA

Post Posted March 4th, 2005, 9:30 pm

i'm thinking about reverting back to 1.0

there are WAY too many bugs in 1.0.1

(btw -- i tried to enter it as a bug, but bugzilla said i can't add bugs for Firefox)

fyo

User avatar
 
Posts: 530
Joined: February 17th, 2004, 5:09 pm

Post Posted March 5th, 2005, 7:55 am

> i tried to enter it as a bug, but bugzilla said i can't add bugs for Firefox

huh? Sounds odd... I don't recall ever having had a problem doing that...

Are you logged in?

-fyo
--------------------
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux i686; en-US; rv:1.8.1.2) Gecko/2007022001 Firefox/2.0.0.2

bigdady
 
Posts: 2
Joined: March 6th, 2005, 5:33 am

Post Posted March 6th, 2005, 5:35 am

damn i hate this bug!!!!

zachariah

User avatar
 
Posts: 586
Joined: September 30th, 2003, 12:44 pm
Location: Earth

Post Posted March 6th, 2005, 11:47 am

mossop wrote:The bug has already been reported as Bug 283730.
OldManRivuh wrote:i tried to enter it as a bug, but bugzilla said i can't add bugs for Firefox
I'm assuming OldMan Rivuh tried to add the bug before it was revealed that there is a bug, but only posted after it was revealed, in order to say "I had tried, but it didn't work (so it's good it got added anyway)"?

Otherwise I'd be confused about trying to add a bug which is already reported.

:D

I hate this bug so much I'm running 1.0 again, and won't upgrade until it's fixed. It's far too disruptive to my browsing habits.

I hope they do a 1.0.1a soon.

Help MozillaZine: Donate! or Buy Something!

Mossop

User avatar
 
Posts: 717
Joined: January 11th, 2004, 7:24 am
Location: Swansea, UK

Post Posted March 6th, 2005, 12:00 pm

zachariah wrote:Otherwise I'd be confused about trying to add a bug which is already reported.


Its very common for bugs to be reported a number of times. Usually this is because the second reporter could not find the already reported bug in the database, this can be because the reporter doesnt search enough, or the already existing bug doesnt contain a sensible description making it hard to find.

Mossop

tiku
 
Posts: 12
Joined: March 6th, 2005, 12:13 pm
Location: Vaasa, Finland

Post Posted March 6th, 2005, 12:31 pm

Tried to look newsgroups and google for this irritating new 'feature' in vain, then I came here and this was almost in the first thread I'm looking at...

I registered here so that I could vote for that bug, but of course that bugzilla is a different system to be registered in. #-o Vote this bug for me too, as it's r e a l l y annoying!

BTW: If I'll install Ff1.0 again, will it go easily over this 1.0.1 ? I wouldn't like to find all the extensions again and fix those bookmarks back. Or is there any that big fixes in 1.0.1 that I shouldn't go back?

redsolar
 
Posts: 16
Joined: October 14th, 2003, 10:36 am

Post Posted March 11th, 2005, 11:54 pm

MOst of the extensions and definitely bookmarks are saved in your user profile. You should have little problem going back, as long as you don't touch the profile. This is what I am doing right now ... back to older release, since I use heaps of links to folders.
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux x86_64; en-US; rv:1.7.3) Gecko/20040923 Firefox/0.10

GeeGee-eM
 
Posts: 3
Joined: March 12th, 2005, 6:46 pm

Post Posted March 12th, 2005, 7:10 pm

And here was I, just about to ask where to get FX1.0.1. ...I'll be just behind Zachariah waiting for 1.0.1a

zachariah

User avatar
 
Posts: 586
Joined: September 30th, 2003, 12:44 pm
Location: Earth

Post Posted March 17th, 2005, 5:11 pm

I was very tempted to spam the bug "Bug 283730 - "Save As" dialog tries to overwrite link/shortcut (.lnk) file instead of opening the directory/folder" with the question:

Will this make it into 1.0.2

... but I ask it here instead. Does anyone know?

It would be nice if this was just a minor hiccup for Firefox, considering that it wasn't a bug in the previous (even pre-1.0 versions).

(I am prompted by "Mozilla Firefox and Thunderbird 1.0.2 Release Candidates - MozillaZine"

Help MozillaZine: Donate! or Buy Something!

UnbreakableMJ
 
Posts: 5
Joined: March 3rd, 2005, 12:39 pm

Post Posted March 23rd, 2005, 9:08 pm

This highly irritating problem does exist in Firefox 1.0.2!

I went from Fx 1.0 (where this bug didn't exist) to Fx 1.0.1 and dicovered the problem (see my post here) and just went back to Fx 1.0 to see Fx 1.0.2 is online now so installed it and now going back to Fx 1.0!!!

Please vote for it: https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=283730
Last edited by UnbreakableMJ on March 24th, 2005, 10:48 am, edited 1 time in total.

Return to Firefox Bugs


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests