MozillaZine

browser.tabs.onTop not working

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
jage
 
Posts: 17
Joined: January 24th, 2010, 9:39 pm

Post Posted November 18th, 2013, 6:40 pm

Nightly 28.0a1 my tabs are suddenly on top again. The boolean is set correctly, changed it to true and back to false with no results, the tabs remain on top.

Anyone else?

Win7 64bit

StinDaWg
 
Posts: 184
Joined: October 6th, 2012, 3:03 pm

Post Posted November 18th, 2013, 7:25 pm

No way to change it now.

KarmaQ

User avatar
 
Posts: 329
Joined: October 23rd, 2010, 6:07 pm

Post Posted November 18th, 2013, 7:46 pm

jage wrote:Nightly 28.0a1 my tabs are suddenly on top again. The boolean is set correctly, changed it to true and back to false with no results, the tabs remain on top.

Anyone else?

Win7 64bit


Welcome to Australis! Use https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... erestorer/ to get the tabs below.

srazzano

User avatar
 
Posts: 36
Joined: July 31st, 2009, 10:48 am
Location: Veracruz, Mexico

Post Posted November 18th, 2013, 9:04 pm

Use this css:

#navigator-toolbox > #toolbar-menubar {
-moz-box-ordinal-group: 1 !important;
}
#navigator-toolbox > #nav-bar {
-moz-box-ordinal-group: 2 !important;
}
#navigator-toolbox > #PersonalToolbar {
-moz-box-ordinal-group: 3 !important;
}
#navigator-toolbox > #TabsToolbar {
-moz-box-ordinal-group: 4 !important;
}
Sonny

pal-moz
 
Posts: 5937
Joined: September 23rd, 2005, 5:40 pm
Location: Tokyo , Japan

Post Posted November 18th, 2013, 9:14 pm

Bug 755593 - Remove tabs-on-bottom mode
[Desktop] Windows 7 Professional (32bit/SP1) / Geforce GTX 660Ti 2GB (350.12) / 4GB RAM

StinDaWg
 
Posts: 184
Joined: October 6th, 2012, 3:03 pm

Post Posted November 18th, 2013, 11:03 pm

KarmaQ wrote:Welcome to Australis! Use https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... erestorer/ to get the tabs below.

Nice! =D>

avixaqo
 
Posts: 66
Joined: December 30th, 2011, 10:27 am

Post Posted November 18th, 2013, 11:48 pm


patrickjdempsey

User avatar
 
Posts: 23734
Joined: October 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am
Location: Asheville NC

Post Posted November 19th, 2013, 3:08 am

I suppose if you only ever use one application at a time in maximized mode only, then that sorta applies. Otherwise, it's completely meaningless.
Tip of the day: If it has "toolbar" in the name, it's crap.
What my avatar is about: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/addon/sea-fox/

BioStormX
 
Posts: 23
Joined: October 2nd, 2011, 6:20 pm

Post Posted November 19th, 2013, 8:38 am

The new "thing" for the firefox team is to apparently remove customization options at every turn. Not sure why, since that's their biggest selling point against Chrome...

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 19526
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted November 19th, 2013, 9:11 am

srazzano wrote:Use this css:

#navigator-toolbox > #toolbar-menubar {
-moz-box-ordinal-group: 1 !important;
}
#navigator-toolbox > #nav-bar {
-moz-box-ordinal-group: 2 !important;
}
#navigator-toolbox > #PersonalToolbar {
-moz-box-ordinal-group: 3 !important;
}
#navigator-toolbox > #TabsToolbar {
-moz-box-ordinal-group: 4 !important;
}

Sonny, that seems to break on many Complete Themes.

However, the following seems to work OK on those and on default (I've tested with Bookmark Toolbar and Menubar showing/not showing) -

Code: Select all
/*Frank Tabs back to Bottom....*/
#TabsToolbar {
-moz-box-ordinal-group: 2 !important;
}
#addon-bar {
-moz-box-ordinal-group: 3 !important;}



Edit - with the tabs on the bottom, it is a good idea to toggle browser.tabs.drawInTitlebar to false in about:config. Just keeps things neater.
Last edited by Frank Lion on December 16th, 2013, 12:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

phuzi0n
 
Posts: 517
Joined: June 23rd, 2010, 5:48 pm

Post Posted November 19th, 2013, 2:34 pm

Frank Lion wrote:However, the following seems to work OK on those and on default (I've tested with Bookmark Toolbar and Menubar showing/not showing) -

Code: Select all
/*Frank Tabs back to Bottom....*/
#TabsToolbar {
-moz-box-ordinal-group: 2 !important;
}
#addon-bar {
-moz-box-ordinal-group: 3 !important;}

Thanks, this code doesn't break spacing on the titlebar like the other code did. How can I get the URL bar to use aero styling again? It looks weird having a transparent title bar, an opaque URL bar, and then transparent tab bar.

Lunar

User avatar
 
Posts: 483
Joined: July 6th, 2004, 5:08 am
Location: Texas, США

Post Posted November 19th, 2013, 5:17 pm

Frank Lion wrote:...
Sonny, that seems to break on many Complete Themes.

However, the following seems to work OK on those and on default (I've tested with Bookmark Toolbar and Menubar showing/not showing) -

Code: Select all
/*Frank Tabs back to Bottom....*/
#TabsToolbar {
-moz-box-ordinal-group: 2 !important;
}
#addon-bar {
-moz-box-ordinal-group: 3 !important;}


Please, where are you putting the code?
Do i need a 'user css' or can i edit in ~/mozilla/nightly dir?
(I'm on Linux. Running Nightly from directory, it's not 'installed')

Thanks,
Landis.
'Microsucks' made me nuts, Linux is making me crazy...
...at least with Linux, I can afford the therapy.. : )
openSuSE | KDE | enlightenment | mozilla Aurora 55 / Nightly 106 Konqueror /Opera/ Aurora Dev Ed | Now, down to Firefox 45 ESR as the 'new' direction... sxxxs!

Lunar

User avatar
 
Posts: 483
Joined: July 6th, 2004, 5:08 am
Location: Texas, США

Post Posted November 19th, 2013, 5:24 pm

**** This post can be moved to 'jail'. I just need to say it...
**** Sorry, I know from years of venting, MozillaZine is NOT mozilla, but I just need to voice my opinion about the 'new' UI.

this 'new' UI has changed a ton!
the 'new' mozilla organization is really ,,,, i don't know what.
their versioning system is Awful.
This Major Change to the UI should be a Major Version number and it didn't even tick the minor x.0a1 to x0b...
There are sooo many things they could improve in firefox and they're playing with the UI???
It looks like google chrome, which if that's what I wanted, I'd be using chrome... duh..

There is No changing, for now the Tabs on Bottom, where they make sense. Being indexes to the page, Not the window.
Also, this change has disabled Any decent Theme.
You should have seen the problems with my theme FT DeepDark... Ouch, it was ugly!

I REALLY don't like the 'Tabs on Top' thing. It will be enough for me to stop updating and eventually stop using Firefox.
I've let mozilla know, every where I can think of: bugzilla, input.mozilla (feed back), facebook, twitter and now here.
I wish they had asked. I run mozilla 24x7 and Never was I 'asked'. I saw their 'study' a year or two ago, but that did not take into account Most people didn't know they could change where the tabs where. They just used FF 'out of the box'..

Anyways, Thanks for 'listening'... : )
Landis.
'Microsucks' made me nuts, Linux is making me crazy...
...at least with Linux, I can afford the therapy.. : )
openSuSE | KDE | enlightenment | mozilla Aurora 55 / Nightly 106 Konqueror /Opera/ Aurora Dev Ed | Now, down to Firefox 45 ESR as the 'new' direction... sxxxs!

Lunar

User avatar
 
Posts: 483
Joined: July 6th, 2004, 5:08 am
Location: Texas, США

Post Posted November 19th, 2013, 5:32 pm

And, What about the 'Firefox Button' ???

: )
Landis.
'Microsucks' made me nuts, Linux is making me crazy...
...at least with Linux, I can afford the therapy.. : )
openSuSE | KDE | enlightenment | mozilla Aurora 55 / Nightly 106 Konqueror /Opera/ Aurora Dev Ed | Now, down to Firefox 45 ESR as the 'new' direction... sxxxs!

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 19526
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted November 19th, 2013, 5:56 pm

Lunar wrote:Please, where are you putting the code?
Do i need a 'user css' or can i edit in ~/mozilla/nightly dir?
(I'm on Linux. Running Nightly from directory, it's not 'installed')

Yep, I understand. Most of it is in here - http://kb.mozillazine.org/UserChrome.css

..but I'll run you through it for Linux -

#1. Go to .mozilla (hidden file in your Home/You directory) and keep opening up in there until you get to your profile. In the profile folder, make a New Folder called chrome.

#2. Now open a simple text editor, like gedit, new file and paste this in right at the top -
Code: Select all
 /* Do not remove the @namespace line -- it's required for correct functioning */
@namespace url("http://www.mozilla.org/keymaster/gatekeeper/there.is.only.xul"); /* set default namespace to XUL */


#3. Below that stuff (it's called the namespace line) paste in my Tab code stuff (or Sonny's).

#4. Save that file within your new chrome folder and save the file as userChrome.css. Note how I've written that, because it must be exactly the same.

#5. Now restart Firefox and you're good to go.

Any questions, just ask.
Last edited by Frank Lion on November 24th, 2013, 12:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests