userChrome?

Discussion of general topics about Mozilla Firefox
Post Reply
ErraticFox
Posts: 16
Joined: October 28th, 2013, 11:33 am

userChrome?

Post by ErraticFox »

Hello, I have a few questions that have stumped me.

[1] I'm trying to change my close tab button and new tab button.

I currently have

Code: Select all

.tabs-newtab-button .toolbarbutton-icon {

   background-image: url('http://i.imgur.com/CYvupey.png');
   background-repeat:no-repeat;
   background-position:center;

}


But the old blue icon is on top of my background image. If it's not a background image, then what is it? I know it's on top of it because before I center the background-position, I can see my image at the top left of the new tab button along with the default image in the middle.


[2] For some reason I have a strange black bar between my tabs and my location bar. I thought it might be a border, but I have no idea as I've tried to remove borders on a lot of selectors and still nothing. Then again, I want my tabs off the aero windows-ish part. I've put my tabs below the location bar before, but all that did was make the location bar on the aero windows-ish part for some reason.

[3] How do I change the font-style for the location bar in the new tab? Before you start typing it's in italics and I'd like to make the font-style normal. I haven't got a clue on what selector that would be to fix that.

Here's an image of that strange black bar for question [2]

Image

EDIT: Also, here's another picture of another strange blue bar under the location bar.

Image
User avatar
smsmith
Moderator
Posts: 19979
Joined: December 7th, 2004, 8:51 pm
Location: Indiana

Re: userChrome?

Post by smsmith »

Without all the steps and code you've used to get that look, we'd only be guessing what's causing those borders.
Give a man a fish, and he eats for a day. Teach a man to fish, and he eats for a lifetime.
I like poetry, long walks on the beach and poking dead things with a stick.
Please do not PM me for personal support. Keep posts here in the Forums instead and we all learn.
ErraticFox
Posts: 16
Joined: October 28th, 2013, 11:33 am

Re: userChrome?

Post by ErraticFox »

smsmith wrote:Without all the steps and code you've used to get that look, we'd only be guessing what's causing those borders.



It's a little messy, but here's my code:

Code: Select all

@namespace url("http://www.mozilla.org/keymaster/gatekeeper/there.is.only.xul");

#appmenu-button {
    display:none;
}

#star-button {
    display:none;
}

.dropmarker-icon {
    display: none;
}

#page-proxy-favicon {
    display: none;
}

.urlbar-stack {

    height: 23px;
}

#navigator-toolbox {
    background-color: #414141 !important;
}

#toolbar-menubar {
    background-color: #414141 !important;
}

#urlbar {
    background-color: #414141 !important;
    font-family: nu !important;
    font-size: 15px  !important;
    color: #b1b1b1;
    border-radius: 0px;
    border: 0px !important;
}



#go-button {
    display: none;
}

#nav-bar {
    background-image: none !important;
    background-color: #414141 !important;
}


#identity-box {
    display: none;
}

.tabbrowser-tab[selected=true] {
    color: #b1b1b1;
    border: 1px solid #414141 !important;
    font-family: nu !important;
    background-image: none !important;
    background-color: #414141;
}

.tabbrowser-tab {
    height: 30px;
    color: #b1b1b1;
    border: 1px solid #535353 !important;
    font-family: nu !important;
    background-image: none !important;
    background-color: #535353;
}

.tabs-newtab-button {
    background-image: none !important;
    border: 1px solid #414141 !important;
}

.tabs-newtab-button .toolbarbutton-icon {
    list-style-image: url('http://i.imgur.com/RpBAPjm.png');
}

.tab-close-button {
    list-style-image: url('http://i.imgur.com/BOfIB47.png');
    -moz-image-region: auto !important;
}

.tab-content {
    padding-right: 10px;
}

#notification-popup-box {
    display: none;
}

.tab-icon-image {
    display: none;
}
   
.tab-text.tab-label {
    margin-left: 10px !important;
    margin-right: 10px !important;
}

#PersonalToolbar {
    display: none !important;
}

.textbox-input-box.urlbar-input-box {
    font-style:normal !important;
}

#navigator-toolbox {
    border: 0px !important;
}
User avatar
Frank Lion
Posts: 21177
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: userChrome?

Post by Frank Lion »

ErraticFox wrote:It's a little messy, but here's my code:

A lot of those need !important added.
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)
.
ErraticFox
Posts: 16
Joined: October 28th, 2013, 11:33 am

Re: userChrome?

Post by ErraticFox »

Frank Lion wrote:
ErraticFox wrote:It's a little messy, but here's my code:

A lot of those need !important added.


I didn't think they needed it if it worked. 8-[

Do you know what could be causing it though?
User avatar
smsmith
Moderator
Posts: 19979
Joined: December 7th, 2004, 8:51 pm
Location: Indiana

Re: userChrome?

Post by smsmith »

Add this and it should get rid of the line between the tabs toolbar and the navigation toolbar.

Code: Select all

#TabsToolbar {
  background: none  !important;
}


or add #TabsToolbar to your #nav-bar chunk of code.

Code: Select all

#nav-bar, #TabsToolbar {
  background-image: none  !important;
  background-color: #414141  !important;
}
Give a man a fish, and he eats for a day. Teach a man to fish, and he eats for a lifetime.
I like poetry, long walks on the beach and poking dead things with a stick.
Please do not PM me for personal support. Keep posts here in the Forums instead and we all learn.
ErraticFox
Posts: 16
Joined: October 28th, 2013, 11:33 am

Re: userChrome?

Post by ErraticFox »

smsmith wrote:Add this and it should get rid of the line between the tabs toolbar and the navigation toolbar.

Code: Select all

#TabsToolbar {
  background: none  !important;
}


or add #TabsToolbar to your #nav-bar chunk of code.

Code: Select all

#nav-bar, #TabsToolbar {
  background-image: none  !important;
  background-color: #414141  !important;
}


Thanks. What about the second random blueish bar? I thought it be a tool bar of some sorts, but I can't find it. And I can't quite click on it because of it's size. :\
User avatar
Frank Lion
Posts: 21177
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: userChrome?

Post by Frank Lion »

ErraticFox wrote:Do you know what could be causing it though?

Yep, I reckon so. But you're the one with the actual UI and the DOM Inspector in front of you.
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)
.
User avatar
patrickjdempsey
Posts: 23686
Joined: October 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am
Location: Asheville NC
Contact:

Re: userChrome?

Post by patrickjdempsey »

Also be aware that in a few months when Firefox 29 comes out with the new Australis interface that much of this work will have to be redone.
Tip of the day: If it has "toolbar" in the name, it's crap.
What my avatar is about: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/addon/sea-fox/
ErraticFox
Posts: 16
Joined: October 28th, 2013, 11:33 am

Re: userChrome?

Post by ErraticFox »

patrickjdempsey wrote:Also be aware that in a few months when Firefox 29 comes out with the new Australis interface that much of this work will have to be redone.


From what I see, all I'll have to do really is fix the tabs and maybe rename some selectors... [-o<
User avatar
James
Moderator
Posts: 28002
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Re: userChrome?

Post by James »

patrickjdempsey wrote:Also be aware that in a few months when Firefox 29 comes out with the new Australis interface that much of this work will have to be redone.

Unless the Australis ui gets held back from the Beta channel when the versions move/merge to next channel in a month.
User avatar
patrickjdempsey
Posts: 23686
Joined: October 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am
Location: Asheville NC
Contact:

Re: userChrome?

Post by patrickjdempsey »

ErraticFox wrote:
patrickjdempsey wrote:Also be aware that in a few months when Firefox 29 comes out with the new Australis interface that much of this work will have to be redone.


From what I see, all I'll have to do really is fix the tabs and maybe rename some selectors... [-o<


Frank would know better than me because he's played with it more, but there are some pretty in-depth changes.
Tip of the day: If it has "toolbar" in the name, it's crap.
What my avatar is about: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/addon/sea-fox/
Post Reply