Will Seamonkey EVER recognize, er, hidden Titlebar?

Discussion of general topics about Seamonkey
Post Reply
User avatar
Frank Lion
Posts: 21173
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom
Contact:

Will Seamonkey EVER recognize, er, hidden Titlebar?

Post by Frank Lion »

Hide the Titlebar in SeaMonkey?

- use the Custom Buttons extension and make a Titlebar Toggle button using the following under the 'Code' section -

Code: Select all

function hideChrome() {
if (navigator.platform == "Win32") {
window.moveTo(0,0);
window.maximize();
document.getElementById("main-window").setAttribute('hidechrome','true');
// preserve small area for taskbar to appear
window.resizeTo(screen.availWidth, screen.availHeight);
} else {
document.getElementById("main-window").setAttribute('hidechrome','true');
window.moveTo(0,0);
window.resizeTo(screen.availWidth, screen.availHeight);
window.maximize();
}
}

function showChrome() {
if (navigator.platform == "Win32") {
document.getElementById("main-window").setAttribute('hidechrome','false');
window.resizeTo(screen.availWidth, screen.availHeight);
window.maximize();
window.resizeTo(screen.availWidth, screen.availHeight);
} else {     
document.getElementById("main-window").setAttribute('hidechrome','false');
window.maximize();
window.maximize();
}
}

function toggleChrome() {
var mainWindow = document.getElementById("main-window");
var isFullScreen = mainWindow.getAttribute('hidechrome');
         
if (isFullScreen == "" || isFullScreen == 'false') {
hideChrome();
} else {
showChrome();
}
}
toggleChrome();


That's it, nothing else to see. Posted for info, etc :)
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)
.
unbeleevabull
Posts: 54
Joined: August 4th, 2014, 10:02 pm

Re: Will Seamonkey EVER recognize, er, hidden Titlebar?

Post by unbeleevabull »

Might you have a Bookmarks Toolbar toggler up your sleeve by any chance? I find it hard to find the right place to right click to get the menu option. A button would be nicer. Thanks, Great Wizard.
User avatar
Frank Lion
Posts: 21173
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Will Seamonkey EVER recognize, er, hidden Titlebar?

Post by Frank Lion »

unbeleevabull wrote:Might you have a Bookmarks Toolbar toggler up your sleeve by any chance?

Code: Select all

/*CODE*/const toolbar = document.getElementById("PersonalToolbar");
toolbar.collapsed = !toolbar.collapsed;


Hotkeys can also be assigned to any of these buttons.
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)
.
unbeleevabull
Posts: 54
Joined: August 4th, 2014, 10:02 pm

Re: Will Seamonkey EVER recognize, er, hidden Titlebar?

Post by unbeleevabull »

Nice! Thanks.
User avatar
mightyglydd
Posts: 9813
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Re: Will Seamonkey EVER recognize, er, hidden Titlebar?

Post by mightyglydd »

+1 :)
#KeepFightingMichael and Alex.
User avatar
Frank Lion
Posts: 21173
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Will Seamonkey EVER recognize, er, hidden Titlebar?

Post by Frank Lion »

This next one is a good find - toggling the Tab bar in SM. Easy in Firefox, as it's now a toolbar and you just use a variant of the Menu Bar/Nav Bar toggling.

However, I found a very old list of Custom Buttons dating back to well before Firefox was like that and used a tabbrowser-strip. So, 2 parts here's the 'Code' section -

Code: Select all

function tbtoggle (thisBTN)
{
   thisBTN.checked = !thisBTN.checked;
   if ( thisBTN.checked )
   {
      gBrowser.setStripVisibilityTo(false);
      gBrowser.mPrefs.setBoolPref("browser.tabs.forceHide", true);
   }
   else
   {
      gBrowser.setStripVisibilityTo(true);
      gBrowser.mPrefs.setBoolPref("browser.tabs.forceHide", false);
   }
}
tbtoggle(this);



...and here, the 'Initialization Code' -

Code: Select all

/*Initialization code*/

/*---------------------- Show Focus Block Start ------------------------*/

this.style.opacity = '.65';
this.setAttribute('onmouseover', 'custombuttons.ButtonBrt(event);' );
this.setAttribute('onmouseout', 'custombuttons.ButtonDim(event);' );

/*----------------------- Show Focus Block End -------------------------*/
/*--------------- Custom Buttons2 Attributes Block Start ----------------*/
this.setAttribute('author','jet-plane');
this.setAttribute('version','null');
this.setAttribute('homepage', 'http://custombuttons2.com/forum/buttons/buttons-database/toggle-tabbar.html');
this.setAttribute('dependency','null');
this.setAttribute('status','null');
this.setAttribute('public',true);
this.setAttribute('help','0,null');
// this.tooltipText += '';

/*---------------- Custom Buttons2 Attributes Block End -----------------*/



I use this one (toggled via hotkey) on the Nav Bar, where I also have a Custom Button 'All Tabs' button. Not all the time, of course, but then again that's the whole idea of using toggle buttons.
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)
.
User avatar
Frank Lion
Posts: 21173
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Will Seamonkey EVER recognize, er, hidden Titlebar?

Post by Frank Lion »

Frank Lion wrote:Hide the Titlebar in SeaMonkey?

- use the Custom Buttons extension and make a Titlebar Toggle button using the following under the 'Code' section -.....

The above version isfor the browser window and here's a new one I've written for the SM Mail Window -


Code: Select all

function hideChrome() {
if (navigator.platform == "Win32") {
window.moveTo(0,0);
window.maximize();
document.getElementById("messengerWindow").setAttribute('hidechrome','true');
// preserve small area for taskbar to appear
window.resizeTo(screen.availWidth, screen.availHeight);
} else {
document.getElementById("messengerWindow").setAttribute('hidechrome','true');
window.moveTo(0,0);
window.resizeTo(screen.availWidth, screen.availHeight);
window.maximize();
}
}

function showChrome() {
if (navigator.platform == "Win32") {
document.getElementById("messengerWindow").setAttribute('hidechrome','false');
window.resizeTo(screen.availWidth, screen.availHeight);
window.maximize();
window.resizeTo(screen.availWidth, screen.availHeight);
} else {     
document.getElementById("messengerWindow").setAttribute('hidechrome','false');
window.maximize();
window.maximize();
}
}

function toggleChrome() {
var mainWindow = document.getElementById("messengerWindow");
var isFullScreen = mainWindow.getAttribute('hidechrome');
         
if (isFullScreen == "" || isFullScreen == 'false') {
hideChrome();
} else {
showChrome();
}
}
toggleChrome();
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)
.
Anonymosity
Posts: 8779
Joined: May 7th, 2007, 12:07 pm

Re: Will Seamonkey EVER recognize, er, hidden Titlebar?

Post by Anonymosity »

You can have the tab bar autohide when there is only one tab. That was not removed from SeaMonkey (unlike Firefox).
There is no way I would want to hide the title bar. It serves a useful purpose.
User avatar
Frank Lion
Posts: 21173
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Will Seamonkey EVER recognize, er, hidden Titlebar?

Post by Frank Lion »

Anonymosity wrote:There is no wa

I refer you to the same answer I gave you here - viewtopic.php?p=13837139#p13837139

You have now been following Patrick and myself around the forums making inane comments for a number of years now and as much I appreciate the difficulties that people with special needs must face, it is getting tiresome.
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)
.
twisterpullpit
Posts: 10
Joined: November 23rd, 2015, 2:58 am

Re: Will Seamonkey EVER recognize, er, hidden Titlebar?

Post by twisterpullpit »

this code also hides windows task bar. and even if I switch of the `hide` button then task bar also not always appears.
anyway seamonkey does not remember the ttitle bar hidded state and swithich on the button again and againe is not an option...
Last edited by twisterpullpit on November 28th, 2015, 2:44 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Frank Lion
Posts: 21173
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Will Seamonkey EVER recognize, er, hidden Titlebar?

Post by Frank Lion »

twisterpullpit wrote:nice. that is what I`ve loked for. BUT this code also hides windows task bar.
and even if I switch of the `hide` button then task bar also not always appears.
Sounds like you might as well press F11 for fullscreen, if that's all you get.

This code works differently on different Operating Systems. On XP, as you are using, just the titlebar toggles off fine. I know because I also use XP.

On Linux, on distros not using OpenBox titlebars (where you just right click the titlebar and select Undecorate) the titlebar toggle button does still work, but does alarmingly make SeaMonkey disappear then appear about half a dozen times before doing so! However, as it is the only way to hide the titlebar on non-Open Box Linux distros then I still use it.
twisterpullpit wrote:an option so overall the code is useless...
Yeah, thanks for that. So are your manners.
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)
.
User avatar
mightyglydd
Posts: 9813
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Re: Will Seamonkey EVER recognize, er, hidden Titlebar?

Post by mightyglydd »

twisterpullpit wrote: the code is useless...
Maybe to you, without it I wouldn't use SM, wanna see that redundant bar press Alt...
#KeepFightingMichael and Alex.
User avatar
ElTxolo
Posts: 2806
Joined: July 30th, 2007, 9:35 am
Location: Localhost

Re: Will Seamonkey EVER recognize, er, hidden Titlebar?

Post by ElTxolo »

twisterpullpit wrote:[...] the code is useless...
  • Image Such a shame. You're a thankless! ....
How to Ask Questions The Smart Way - How to Report Bugs Effectively ;)
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:91.0) Gecko/20240109 SeaMonkey/2.53.18.1
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:91.0) Gecko/20240324 SeaMonkey/2.53.19 :lildevil:

~
User avatar
Frank Lion
Posts: 21173
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Will Seamonkey EVER recognize, er, hidden Titlebar?

Post by Frank Lion »

Frank Lion wrote:On Linux, on distros not using OpenBox titlebars (where you just right click the titlebar and select Undecorate) the titlebar toggle button does still work, but does alarmingly make SeaMonkey disappear then appear about half a dozen times before doing so! However, as it is the only way to hide the titlebar on non-Open Box Linux distros then I still use it.
Oh, that's good, the Linux Window Manager I use (xfwm4) now works fine with that titlebar toggle and all the flashing has gone and it works as it should.

Nice to see something fix itself, without me having to do anything. :)

Just a couple of things to remember (which I often forget!)

#1. All these Custom Button toggles can use a hotkey combination.

#2. To get a Custom Button in Sea Monkey Mail, you have to create the button in Mail! i.e. they are not shared with the browser part.
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)
.
User avatar
Frank Lion
Posts: 21173
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Will Seamonkey EVER recognize, er, hidden Titlebar?

Post by Frank Lion »

Not really just for SeaMonkey, but I find this very useful -

Back To Top button - (using the Custom Buttons extension)

Code: Select all

content.scrollTo(0,0);
Er, that's it. Some users, it seems, didn't quite realise you can have any number of the same Custom Button, you can and I have a Back to Top on the Nav Bar and another on the Statusbar.
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)
.
Post Reply