MozillaZine


Non-tips in the tips thread

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Lightwind

User avatar
 
Posts: 168
Joined: February 22nd, 2005, 7:35 am

Post Posted February 22nd, 2005, 2:58 pm

While the search bar has focus, you can use [ctrl]-[up] and [ctrl]-[down] to change the currently selected search engine.

Old RPGM35
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted February 26th, 2005, 5:55 am

back on topic:

if you have TweakUI by Microsoft, and enable Xmouse, hovering over a tab will bring that tab into focus

EDIT: seems you may need TabMix for it too
Last edited by Old RPGM35 on March 3rd, 2005, 1:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted March 6th, 2005, 5:35 am

you can drag straight to desktop and it will download m8 ;)

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted March 6th, 2005, 11:41 pm

bytemaster wrote:<b>Restore Text Size</b>

If you have been playing arround with resizing text, you may have gotten frustraited about getting back to normal. Simple. Hit <b>Ctrl-0</b> and all of your fonts will be back to the normal size.

(If you want to resize text, hold ctrl and use your scroll wheel, or ctrl and + or -)

lochwinnoch
 
Posts: 3
Joined: March 9th, 2005, 4:31 am

Post Posted March 9th, 2005, 4:37 am

To remove sites from the search box drop-down, do the following. Note that this doesn't delete them, so you can reinstate them if you want to.

On Win XP

> Shut down Firefox
> go to C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\searchplugins

Simply rename the .src file of the site you do not want to appear any more to .bak

For example, to remove the yahoo plugin:

- rename yahoo.src

to

- yahoo.src.bak

To reinstate it, simply remove the .bak extension.

> Restart Firefox to see your nice, clean search options!

Phiil

User avatar
 
Posts: 16
Joined: November 9th, 2004, 10:12 pm
Location: Cardiff, UK

Post Posted March 10th, 2005, 9:42 am

I haven't seen this mentioned yet, but I think it's an important tip for those who are relatively new to FF.

If Firefox doesn't work correctly, and you've installed extensions, try disabling them all (at which point -most- of the time the problem will vanish, at least in my experience). Then, re-enable them one by one until the problem appears again.

The last extension you re-enabled is probably buggy.

Check to see if the extension has been updated to fix the problem if it's a known issue (if not, maybe drop the extension author a line), or simply do without it.

Old RPGM35
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted March 12th, 2005, 2:54 pm

pressing Ctrl+F4 will close the current tab

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted March 12th, 2005, 5:15 pm

RPGMaker35 wrote:pressing Ctrl+F4 will close the current tab
Ctrl + W also does this.

Arctic_Wolf
Guest
 

Post Posted April 14th, 2005, 12:02 pm

How do you change the homeoage of Mozilla Firefox?

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 3 guests