MozillaZine

[Ext] Clean Links 2.4

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
traycerb
 
Posts: 11
Joined: June 27th, 2004, 2:26 pm
Location: dallas, tx

Post Posted December 1st, 2014, 11:54 pm

Is there a way to implement the "Remove from link" feature on an already cleaned URL. E.g. take the following URL:

Code: Select all
http://example.com/?sdtid=7460868&sdfpid=138156&sdop=1&sdpid=72462624&sdfid=9&sdfib=1&lno=1&trd=Uncle+Milton+Wall+Friends+Doc+Mc&u2=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.amazon.com%2FUncle-Milton-Friends-McStuffins-Talking%2Fdp%2FB00COLHM3G%253FSubscriptionId%253DAKIAI2YF244XWR3NWH3Q%2526tag%253Ddc1903-20%2526linkCode%253Dxm2%2526camp%253D2025%2526creative%253D165953%2526creativeASIN%253DB00COLHM3G


Which gets cleaned to:

Code: Select all
http://www.amazon.com/Uncle-Milton-Friends-McStuffins-Talking/dp/B00COLHM3G%3FSubscriptionId%3DAKIAI2YF244XWR3NWH3Q%26tag%3Ddc1903-20%26linkCode%3Dxm2%26camp%3D2025%26creative%3D165953%26creativeASIN%3DB00COLHM3G#


...But within the cleaned links there are referral tags, and these can't seem to be cleaned further with the "Remove from links" feature. Using the examples as guides, I've tried inserting subscriptionID\w+| in the beginning of the "Remove from Links" regexp, but no luck. Am I doing something wrong here?

fire.Man
 
Posts: 66
Joined: November 6th, 2009, 7:13 am

Post Posted December 11th, 2014, 6:20 pm

Clean Links 2.6.1.0
FF 34.0.5

with CL default prefs, if Event mode is disabled, links are mangled and a hash (#) char is added to the end of the URI

reference: support site link @ https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... ean-links/

Code: Select all
cleaned link: http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?f=48#
link should be: http://forums.mozillazine.org/posting.php?mode=reply&f=48&t=2749445


if the default RegExp is removed for 'Remove From Links', the problem is resolved, however i don't see any problem with the expression that would cause this, so maybe it's internal?

Code: Select all
(?:ref|aff)\w*|utm_\w+|(?:merchant|programme|media)ID


another bug is that the disabled extension become enabled again when the 'Copy link location' context menu item is clicked, thus preventing you from copying the uncleaned link - i suggest that the ext. should never become enabled unless the user explicitly does so

fire.Man
 
Posts: 66
Joined: November 6th, 2009, 7:13 am

Post Posted December 13th, 2014, 1:57 pm

skip domains is not working - tried both event and non-event mode
sample page:
Code: Select all
http://12bytes.org/articles/exposed/npr-national-public-radio-or-national-propaganda-radio

scroll to the bottom to 'Resources for further study'
the 'Project Censored: Corporate Media Ownership' is an archive.org link - both archive.org and 12bytes.org are white-listed domains

fire.Man
 
Posts: 66
Joined: November 6th, 2009, 7:13 am

Post Posted December 13th, 2014, 4:05 pm

i'm setting the color of visited links for some domains with some CSS and Clean Links is breaking this functionality (with or without Highlight Style enabled)

gnarlyone
 
Posts: 2
Joined: December 31st, 2014, 12:26 pm

Post Posted December 31st, 2014, 5:35 pm

environment:
    • firefox v34.0.5
    • adblock-plus v2.6.6
    • clean-links v2.6.1.0
objective:
to copy a 'clean' link … for pasting into browser, email, bookmark, forums, blogs, or favorites.

inclusions:
have attached screen-shots for reference purposes:
    • one image showing typical webpage (with clean-link interface visible)
    • one image showing default parameters of clean-link addon
Image
Image

summary:
using firefox browser, am viewing the contents at www.gizmag.com/cellscope-oto-home-smartphone-otoscope/35245/ … toward bottom of page is a link going to another webpage of interest to me.

when hovering mouse-cursor in front of link, url appears in status-bar:
    http://www.interesticle.com/featured/7-best-smartphones-your-money-can-buy/
right-clicking mouse further 'obfuscates' url as:
    http://paid.outbrain.com/network/redir?p=5iTP4Hb2U4tBkN9h0VJ3iLOzDQGxoWQmeOIUqx%2FiT4oeJ5ewBaF4bfnKK
    %2Bjr9%2BccKN207U5bdDukHR9rE2pWTMtGN4BhB8CHbbMdEoOdQCbO
    %2FY1iflTilOXHL1H3Q0bPs2Hyt1ySyATflPKFkP77fB5Q2vrbZoZ3W9Geul4r7X3U8D4%2FU1pQh3YfBglyG3vEVi2t4RgZWaYuh0eVqvTcUnO3RdVz
    %2BKqy7Bwr94jtU3Bik31GCOY2l2BHuVcgh3lQ6HfFZ4JJ0CFXrfcCzm3YXpsywfwkO4udud3vCLUiCcXMwqb%2BYP1sJmJ
    %2BjX6YQ3J2Mm3tH%2BxIsFZzcXHCe86s%2FABt%2BbqWuGDsUHmxQ
    %2Fx7R2BUfWgoRL4aiwXHa1gj46LnTrsdIQYxp73EusHNjBTG4IvruNe XeZfkoUh5%2BVaM5mI%3D&v=2
if i would simply left-click the link, paid.outbrain.com would be summoned for tracking and whatever … eventually landing at the desired url of http://www.interesticle.com/featured/7-best-smartphones-your-money-can-buy/

conclusion:
i have not figured out how the clean-link addon would function.
how does the link appear in the cl-original or cl-cleaned panel?
    • simply loading the webpage at www.gizmag.com itemizes nothing in the panel
    • right-clicking mouse yields no options for clean-list
    • left-clicking mouse serves only to summon paid.outbrain.com into action
    • configuring copy-link controller seems to have no effect
i've reviewed most comments at forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?f=48&t=2749445 as well as reviews from other users at addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/clean-links/

what am i missing?

dew_veil
 
Posts: 14
Joined: January 10th, 2007, 9:03 am

Post Posted February 22nd, 2015, 8:58 pm

Hello,
I am looking for help using Clean Links in order to desobfuscate the links on the results page of Yahoo! Search.
These links are in the form:
http://r.search.yahoo.com/_ylt=some_ver ... /RO=10/RU=http%3a%2f%2fsome-link/RK=0/RS=BKhblDkDVvxo7hnVn4rSBcR872c-
and I'd like them to appear as:
http%3a%2f%2fsome-link/

Is it possible with Clean Links?
How would I achieve this?

Thanks in advance for any help!

dew_veil
 
Posts: 14
Joined: January 10th, 2007, 9:03 am

Post Posted March 1st, 2015, 5:36 pm

Hi!

I'm back with the Yahoo! search problem.
Actually, half of the links in the results pages are cleaned, which means that the unclean link:

http://r.search.yahoo.com/_ylt=some_ver ... /RO=10/RU=http%3a%2f%2fsome-link/RK=0/RS=BKhblDkDVvxo7hnVn4rSBcR872c-

becomes with Clean Links enabled:

http://some-link/RK=0/RS=BKhblDkDVvxo7hnVn4rSBcR872c-

So I'd be grateful if anyone would help me remove the last part: RK=0/RS=BKhblDkDVvxo7hnVn4rSBcR872c-

Unfortunately I'm just a user, not a developer, so regexp are a mystery to me. Is it possible to remove the last parts?

Thanks in advance.

jlib
 
Posts: 5
Joined: March 12th, 2015, 12:30 am

Post Posted March 12th, 2015, 12:37 am

Are you no longer supporting compatibility with Seamonkey? It used to work great but now won't even install.

DAOWAce
 
Posts: 44
Joined: April 29th, 2012, 4:59 pm
Location: US East

Post Posted March 12th, 2015, 7:07 am

Well after spending a long time trying to build up and configure cleanlinks properly, I've now given up and will most likely be disabling it.

The stock config just breaks so many websites it's ridiculous. There's nothing that I can see which is even breaking some sites (like sourceforge downloads), so I have no idea how I could possibly fix it.

All I want at this point is &utm cleaning across every link, but the way it cleans links results in the actual page being opened in the current tab instead of functioning as it should (opening in a new tab or opening in a popup page element, like Steam game screenshots on the storefront). Having this cleaning as nice (and avoiding the steam link filter), but dealing with the hassle of it breaking so many sites just isn't worth it to me. Yes, I can spend my time whitelisting every single domain where it's a problem in one area, but then it removes the actual cleaning of the entire domain; things I want cleaned. It's a constant battle and my lack of knowledge on regexp isn't helping, so I'd rather not deal with it at all.

Guess it's back to manually cleaning the URLs myself. *sigh*

grossdm
 
Posts: 4
Joined: December 1st, 2014, 2:19 pm

Post Posted March 29th, 2015, 2:43 am

I have to agree with DAOWAce. I'm giving up on this add-on.
I would appreciate a referral if someone finds a suitable replacement.

Thanks for trying!

rayquaza88
 
Posts: 200
Joined: March 10th, 2012, 8:18 pm

Post Posted May 28th, 2015, 12:22 pm

I've been checking other redirector add-ons and i saw there's some test site for them one of the authors created http://www.moonlight21.com/static/test- ... asser.html and I tested your add-on and some of the links were not cleaned so I was wondering if you could check it out to maybe improve the functionality of the add-on.

Moloch_

User avatar
 
Posts: 35
Joined: January 6th, 2007, 11:20 am

Post Posted June 5th, 2015, 10:03 am

for some reason the icon sometimes fails to show on PaleMoon 25.4.1

merry widow

User avatar
 
Posts: 86
Joined: October 13th, 2010, 9:32 am

Post Posted June 11th, 2015, 12:57 pm

Hello Diego. I almost feel silly asking this ummm . . . How do I use your Addon? :oops:
____________________________
As of 2017-09 using Firefox 52.3.0

max2
 
Posts: 226
Joined: September 17th, 2011, 5:37 pm

Post Posted August 17th, 2015, 7:58 pm

Your addon doesn't open links in new tabs :(

Anyway to get this option please ?

max2
 
Posts: 226
Joined: September 17th, 2011, 5:37 pm

Post Posted August 21st, 2015, 7:43 pm

Is this addon even maintained anymore ?

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jamesejohnson and 2 guests