MozillaZine

[url] tags not working anymore

Talk about stuff specific to the site -- bugs, suggestions, and of course praise welcome.
SeahawksXLVIII
 
Posts: 72
Joined: August 22nd, 2015, 6:33 pm

Post Posted December 8th, 2015, 6:10 pm

they were working a few days ago but now they just aren't working on Mozillazine anymore. as you can see here: viewtopic.php?f=38&t=2977811 the url didn't become a link in that post. it is formatted the same way as it was when I used them before but now it is being stubborn

James
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 27113
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted December 8th, 2015, 6:56 pm

It works if you have http://

SeahawksXLVIII
 
Posts: 72
Joined: August 22nd, 2015, 6:33 pm

Post Posted December 10th, 2015, 5:10 pm

for some reason the http:// does not copy with that website in Firefox. whilst other websites it does so I didn't think that website had one

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 19510
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted December 10th, 2015, 5:30 pm

SeahawksXLVIII wrote: so I didn't think that website had one

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Website
Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

patrickjdempsey

User avatar
 
Posts: 23734
Joined: October 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am
Location: Asheville NC

Post Posted December 10th, 2015, 7:55 pm

Tested and it works for me. I'm guessing the "other websites" were all HTTPS. Try safe mode. Sounds like an extension is interfering with the code that correctly copies HTTP URLs.

Alternatively you can set this to false: browser.urlbar.trimURLs
Tip of the day: If it has "toolbar" in the name, it's crap.
What my avatar is about: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/addon/sea-fox/

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 17960
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted December 17th, 2015, 10:01 am

It seems for some URI you need to include http(s):.
For a "www" the board will do it automatically.

Code: Select all
[url=www.example.com][/url]


(Automatically) changes to:
Code: Select all
[url=http://www.example.com][/url]


Code: Select all
[url=ffsf.aaron-kelley.net/download_8.html][/url]


Is broken.

Code: Select all
[url=http://ffsf.aaron-kelley.net/download_8.html][/url]


Works.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Return to MozillaZine Site Discussion


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests