MozillaZine

Disable plugin-container, in firefox 43

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
zanqdo
 
Posts: 3
Joined: December 22nd, 2015, 5:07 pm

Post Posted December 22nd, 2015, 5:16 pm

I never install flash player, I just grab the NPSWF32..dll file and put it in the plugins folder of Firefox.
Prior to 43 version of version, I could just delete plugin-container and flash player worked fine. but now with version 43, if I delete the plugin-container.exe, flash player wont show up, it will just show a black square. but if I leave plugin-container WITHOUT deleting it, flash player works along with plugin-container. I dont like plugin-container, specially when using a proxy, because it requests several firewall permissions,

Could someone help me with a solution? As I mentioned, prior to 43, I could just delete plugin-container and flash player worked.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20076
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted December 23rd, 2015, 9:59 am

> I just grab the NPSWF32..dll

How, from where?

What does about:plugins show?
What does Addons Manager -> Plugins show?


> Prior to 43 version of version

I can't use your steps and get FF 42 to work either.


Have you also set dom.ipc.plugins.asyncInit.enabled;false?

With that, FF 42 does work, but FF 43 does not work.
Don't know why that would be?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

marty60
 
Posts: 475
Joined: March 21st, 2012, 7:09 am

Post Posted December 23rd, 2015, 1:37 pm

Plugin container can longer be disabled, see this bug:

https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1194780

It's a problem on my system too, I always kept it disabled because performance is far better without it. If you want to keep OOPP disabled for as long as possible go with 38ESR, that's good for 3 more updates.

zanqdo
 
Posts: 3
Joined: December 22nd, 2015, 5:07 pm

Post Posted December 23rd, 2015, 4:30 pm

therube wrote:>


Have you also set dom.ipc.plugins.asyncInit.enabled;false?

With that, FF 42 does work, but FF 43 does not work.
Don't know why that would be?

I have tried a lot of "about:config" changes and nothing, since version 29 until version 42, everything was working, but now 43 is enforcing the us of plugin-container, which freezes my computer and does a lot of unnecessary firewall requests.

zanqdo
 
Posts: 3
Joined: December 22nd, 2015, 5:07 pm

Post Posted December 23rd, 2015, 4:36 pm

marty60 wrote:Plugin container can longer be disabled, see this bug:

https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1194780

It's a problem on my system too, I always kept it disabled because performance is far better without it. If you want to keep OOPP disabled for as long as possible go with 38ESR, that's good for 3 more updates.


Do you mean IT CAN NOT LONGER BE DISABLED? or is it just an issue(bug) that will be resolved? I use "PCXFIREFOX", I dont think I would like to use ESR. If plugin-container can not longer be disabled, then I will just use 42 to watch videos, and later versions to surf the web. Thanks for the reply, if you manage to find a way to disable plugin-container, post it.

marty60
 
Posts: 475
Joined: March 21st, 2012, 7:09 am

Post Posted December 23rd, 2015, 7:33 pm

That bug posted above was filed by one of the developers to remove the code that disables OOPP. So yes, plugin-container.exe will now always load with all plugins and there's no opt out.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20076
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted December 24th, 2015, 9:36 am

CHANGE: In preparation for multi-process content in future releases, single-process mode is no longer supported for NPAPI plugins. The preferences under dom.ipc.plugins are no longer used.

Thanks, I wasn't aware of that.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

zzzzzzzzzz
 
Posts: 133
Joined: October 4th, 2010, 6:04 pm

Post Posted March 19th, 2017, 1:35 am

marty60 wrote:That bug posted above was filed by one of the developers to remove the code that disables OOPP. So yes, plugin-container.exe will now always load with all plugins and there's no opt out.
There is also now a bug filed to revert the changes, to once again allow the disabling of the plug-in container.

That bug is available on Bugzilla:
https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1348630

I do recommend that those that dislike the change to not allow use of plug-ins in-process participate on the bug's report page or vote for the bug.

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38876
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted March 19th, 2017, 2:36 am

There's no need to bump these old threads.
Locking due to old age.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/IntelĀ® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-62.0-70.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 122244
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted March 19th, 2017, 4:38 am

Locking due to the age of the original posts.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 8 guests