How do I put tabs in title bar when not maximized?

Discuss application theming and theme development.
User avatar
patrickjdempsey
Posts: 23686
Joined: October 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am
Location: Asheville NC
Contact:

Re: How do I put tabs in title bar when not maximized?

Post by patrickjdempsey »

Which is probably why they aren't nearly as popular as they should be. That trick of using the xbl inherits binding to swap one property for another is extremely powerful though and could be used as part of a custom element you added via XUL. Some of that stuff can really streamline an extension and remove lines and lines of JavaScript.
Tip of the day: If it has "toolbar" in the name, it's crap.
What my avatar is about: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/addon/sea-fox/
lilsting10
Posts: 127
Joined: January 29th, 2008, 3:34 pm

Re: How do I put tabs in title bar when not maximized?

Post by lilsting10 »

Thread is a little confusing, has a solution been found yet?
User avatar
patrickjdempsey
Posts: 23686
Joined: October 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am
Location: Asheville NC
Contact:

Re: How do I put tabs in title bar when not maximized?

Post by patrickjdempsey »

It's confusing because this is a thread in Theme Development about the Classic Compact Options extension, which now ships with Classic Compact. You would need to use that theme and set the appropriate settings in it's Options panel to get the result. I have no idea if there are other extensions out there that do it.
Tip of the day: If it has "toolbar" in the name, it's crap.
What my avatar is about: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/addon/sea-fox/
User avatar
David.Vincent
Posts: 213
Joined: June 17th, 2011, 10:11 pm

Re: How do I put tabs in title bar when not maximized?

Post by David.Vincent »

HotKbk-fwHistory
Posts: 4
Joined: December 27th, 2015, 10:21 pm

Re: How do I put tabs in title bar when not maximized?

Post by HotKbk-fwHistory »

@David.Vincent : addons.mozilla.org/tabs-always-in-titlebar not currently working on Firefox 43.
User avatar
smsmith
Moderator
Posts: 19979
Joined: December 7th, 2004, 8:51 pm
Location: Indiana

Re: How do I put tabs in title bar when not maximized?

Post by smsmith »

Here's what I use in Stylish and Windows 10. Note that if you apply a persona (blech) the persona doesn't work right.

Code: Select all

@namespace url(http://www.mozilla.org/keymaster/gatekeeper/there.is.only.xul);

#TabsToolbar {
    background: transparent !important;
    margin-bottom: 0 !important;
    margin-top: 0px !important;
}

#TabsToolbar .arrowscrollbox-scrollbox {
    padding: 0 !important;
}

#TabsToolbar .tabbrowser-tabs {
    min-height: 40px !important;
    margin-top: -1px !important;
    margin-left: -1px !important;
}

#TabsToolbar .tabbrowser-tab {
    -moz-border-top-colors: none !important;
    -moz-border-left-colors: none !important;
    -moz-border-right-colors: none !important;
    -moz-border-bottom-colors: none !important;
    border-style: solid !important;
    border-color: rgba(0,0,0,.2) !important;
    border-width: 1px 0px 0px 1px !important;
    text-shadow: 0 0 4px rgba(255,255,255,.75) !important;
    padding: 0px 0px !important;
    background: rgba(255,255,255,.45) !important;
    background-clip: padding-box !important;
    margin-left: 0px !important;
}

#TabsToolbar .tabs-newtab-button {
    -moz-border-top-colors: none !important;
    -moz-border-left-colors: none !important;
    -moz-border-right-colors: none !important;
    -moz-border-bottom-colors: none !important;
    border-style: solid !important;
    border-color: rgba(0,0,0,.2) !important;
    text-shadow: 0 0 4px rgba(255,255,255,.75) !important;
    background: rgba(255,255,255,.20) !important;
    background-clip: padding-box !important;
}

#TabsToolbar .tabbrowser-tab[first-tab][last-tab],
#TabsToolbar .tabbrowser-tab[last-visible-tab] {
    border-right-width: 1px !important;
}

#TabsToolbar .tabbrowser-tab[afterselected] {
   border-left-color: rgba(0,0,0,.25) !important;
}

#TabsToolbar .tabbrowser-tab[selected] {
    color: rgba(0,0,0,1) !important;
    background: #FFFFFF !important;
    background-clip: padding-box !important;
    border-color: rgba(0,0,0,.25) !important;
}

#TabsToolbar .tabs-newtab-button:hover,
#TabsToolbar .tabbrowser-tab:hover:not([selected]) {
    border-color: rgba(0,0,0,.2) !important;
    background-color: rgba(255,255,255,.55) !important;
}

#TabsToolbar .tab-background {
    margin: 0 !important;
    background: transparent !important;
}

#TabsToolbar .tab-background-start,
#TabsToolbar .tab-background-end {
    display: none !important;
}

#TabsToolbar .tab-background-middle {
    margin: -4px -2px !important;
    background: transparent !important;
}

#TabsToolbar .tabbrowser-tab:after,
#TabsToolbar .tabbrowser-tab:before {
    display: none !important;
}

#TabsToolbar .tabs-newtab-button {
    border-width: 1px 1px 0 0px !important;
    margin: 0 !important;
    width: 40px !important;
    padding: 0 5px !important;
}

#addon-bar,
#PersonalToolbar,
#nav-bar {
    background: #FFFFFF !important;
    box-shadow: none !important;
    background-clip: padding-box !important;
    border-color: rgba(0,0,0,.25) !important;
    border-radius: 0 !important;
}

#nav-bar {
    box-shadow: #C0C0C0 3px 3px 5px !important;
    padding: 3px !important;
}
I'm also using that in Nightly, but I think it's the same for whatever the current Firefox release version is. Also, it does some funny things when you have 10 or more tabs on a 1920 x 1080 screen, but after you close the tabs and maximize and restore the window a couple of times it seems to fix itself. It's nothing I have concerned myself with trying to "fix". I believe the original came from here, and then I did some personal edits.
https://userstyles.org/styles/109282/mo ... -australis
Give a man a fish, and he eats for a day. Teach a man to fish, and he eats for a lifetime.
I like poetry, long walks on the beach and poking dead things with a stick.
Please do not PM me for personal support. Keep posts here in the Forums instead and we all learn.
Locked