MozillaZine

Tab Mix 0.2.1 is available 2005-05-04

Talk about add-ons and extension development.
CPU

User avatar
 
Posts: 624
Joined: August 13th, 2004, 4:22 pm
Location: Houston, Texas

Post Posted May 7th, 2005, 12:56 am

you can middle click on the tab or have serveral menuitems

i think there is also a key combination.. but cant remember
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8) Gecko/20051114 Firefox/1.5 - Build ID: 2005111403

Telstar

User avatar
 
Posts: 542
Joined: March 31st, 2004, 12:01 pm
Location: Oregon USA

Post Posted May 7th, 2005, 1:31 am

Hi logixoul,

There is one feature in TBE that keeps me from switching to TabMix and I wonder if it could be incorporated into TabMix in a future version...

that is....the Load Tab Session feature that appears in the Customize window upon installing TBE and can subsequently be dragged to the Navigation Toolbar. Very handy for quickly pulling up saved tab sessions e.g. I have Firefox Support and Firefox General in one session that can open with a single click in the pulldown of Load Tab Session, plus other sites with either a single or multiple Tabs that I can access quickly without having to go to a Folder, Bookmarks or Favorites.

btw, I've posted in the past few weeks about problems I had when I said "yes" to a TBE Update (via the Update notice in the upper right corner of Firefox) ....it corrupted the Profile and caused me many problems and woe (e.g. JavaScript links would not open and the Extension Manager Window also would not show any extensions and only by making a new Profile and "ignoring" the Update offer has it been working ok).

Anyway, I would like to see TabMix with a Save Tab Session feature if at all possible..

Thanks,

Telstar :)

logixoul

User avatar
 
Posts: 166
Joined: January 5th, 2005, 3:03 am
Location: sofia, bulgaria

Post Posted May 7th, 2005, 1:57 am

xpking wrote:how can i use the undo close tab function?
Way 1: Press Ctrl+Shift+F12.Way 2: Add it to your tab bar context menu in the Tab Mix's Options and then use it from this context menu. Both ways require it to be activated from Tab Mix's options->Events->Features.
@Telstar: (Warning: As I'm not the developer now, I can't say for sure) No toolbar button will be added (would add bloat) but the feature will be implemented and be accessible throught menus and/or hotkeys.

CPU

User avatar
 
Posts: 624
Joined: August 13th, 2004, 4:22 pm
Location: Houston, Texas

Post Posted May 7th, 2005, 2:05 pm

i have spent some time and i have modified tabmix

some of the things i did were
  • make history open in tab
  • add tooltip for new tab button
  • add tooltip for close tab button


download it here
Last edited by CPU on May 8th, 2005, 9:27 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8) Gecko/20051114 Firefox/1.5 - Build ID: 2005111403

ucchan
 
Posts: 7
Joined: November 1st, 2004, 3:52 am

Post Posted May 7th, 2005, 5:21 pm

I see two little things:

- Using TM to restore the previous session works, but I end up with one blank tab in front of the rest;
- I can't find where to undo closing tabs :) .

I'll make a dutch translation for the 0.2 versions this week :) .

haroldo

User avatar
 
Posts: 494
Joined: September 29th, 2003, 4:06 am

Post Posted May 8th, 2005, 5:00 am

I installed 0.2.1 and the Select tab pointed for... option is checked. When I hove over a tab, it deosn't change focus. I tried changing the setting from 250 (default) to 200, to no avail.
Is this a known issue?
What should I try?

haroldo

User avatar
 
Posts: 494
Joined: September 29th, 2003, 4:06 am

Post Posted May 9th, 2005, 1:48 pm

TAB X conflicts with Tab Mix hover option

CPU

User avatar
 
Posts: 624
Joined: August 13th, 2004, 4:22 pm
Location: Houston, Texas

Post Posted May 9th, 2005, 2:39 pm

you shouldnt have tabx installed since tabmix already has that integrated in it
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8) Gecko/20051114 Firefox/1.5 - Build ID: 2005111403

storm119

User avatar
 
Posts: 742
Joined: October 2nd, 2003, 7:13 am
Location: *Land Below The Wind*

Post Posted May 9th, 2005, 8:51 pm

Any chances to see this "superb extensions" will compatible with Mozilla Suite,? :)

nirvana
 
Posts: 162
Joined: August 21st, 2003, 12:34 am

Post Posted May 10th, 2005, 12:14 am

I'm not sure whether I'm the only one who experienced this, but it was the reason I quickly uninstalled Tab Mix after trying it for only 20 minutes -- single window mode didn't work at all. When I tried enabling this option, it seemed to have no effect, and when I would try closing and re-opening Firefox, I would notice that the option had simply become unchecked. Am I the only one this happened to? It was the reason I'm only using Aaron Spuler's Single Window extension now, and not Tab Mix.

Aleq
 
Posts: 5
Joined: May 10th, 2005, 1:26 am

Post Posted May 10th, 2005, 1:32 am

First, thank you for TabMix. I switched from TBE and I was amazed by speed improvement. However, I miss one last feature, that I look forward to. It is >>disable<< bring to front firefox window when external link is opened (from another application). When I click on links in another application (trillian + RSS), firefox jumps to the background after every click.

I know, this isn't directly related to Tabs, but it would be great to have this option in TabMix. Or, does anybody knows any extension that allows settings this option and is compatible with tabmix?

thanks!

naddude
 
Posts: 145
Joined: May 10th, 2005, 9:06 am
Location: Wet Coast, Canada

Post Posted May 10th, 2005, 9:10 am

Maybe it's just me but I installed Tab Mix (like it a lot! Thnak you!)
BUT doesn't load external links (ie : from Outlook) does nothing and then crashes Firefox 1.03. (Firefox will not reload without rebooting)
Any suggestions on configuration?? Thanks!

somercamb
 
Posts: 69
Joined: April 28th, 2004, 8:40 pm

Post Posted May 10th, 2005, 9:39 am

I cannot duplicate a tab when i double click on the tab (when the feature is turned on, obviously). it only opens a new blank tab
Last edited by somercamb on May 10th, 2005, 9:42 am, edited 1 time in total.

somercamb
 
Posts: 69
Joined: April 28th, 2004, 8:40 pm

Post Posted May 10th, 2005, 9:40 am

Ctrl+Tab does not seem to be working. I have the LAST TAB 1.1 extension, but even without it, Ctrl+Tab does not work. I disabled TAB MIX and Ctrl+Tab seemed to have worked, but i cannot find out what option in TAB MIX is interfering

MorpheusUK

User avatar
 
Posts: 206
Joined: September 25th, 2003, 3:40 pm

Post Posted May 10th, 2005, 12:50 pm

atebark wrote:I cannot duplicate a tab when i double click on the tab (when the feature is turned on, obviously). it only opens a new blank tab

Works for me, do you have another tab related extension installed which might conflict.

Return to Extension Development


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests