MozillaZine

how to block a page (any content) using just keyword filter?

User Help for Seamonkey and Mozilla Suite
Michael REMY
 
Posts: 280
Joined: December 19th, 2009, 2:27 am

Post Posted June 4th, 2016, 8:05 am

hi,

does seamonkey have a way to block the display, the download (html,js,picture), the display, from a page just by filtering with keyword ?

a simple feature like parent gaurd action you know.

so, does seamonkey have this kind of feature or do i need to install again another plugin or firewall thing ?

by example, i wish to forbid any contentd from website whose domain extension is .top because these domains are dangerous :

127.0.0.1 7kk97k17f7.top
127.0.0.1 9iaih97dm4.top
127.0.0.1 www.0zrvpdo6eh.top
127.0.0.1 qp2zn11cph.top
127.0.0.1 fqvujd5vla.top
127.0.0.1 69op234tty.top
127.0.0.1 vyfja6tb7l.top
127.0.0.1 igh94afk3l.top
127.0.0.1 0hjqwkiien.top
127.0.0.1 ok9ncrq0rs.top
127.0.0.1 2k7akf3ke9.top
127.0.0.1 zui29u8zo0.top
127.0.0.1 pj46dizykq.top

i also added this list to my HOSTS file (yep i am under windows) , but the .top websites are too many every days, so i just want to block all-anything from any website . top domain.

imagine i need to block .xxx website to a child using seamonkey, how would i do ?

thanks for your advice.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 17069
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted June 5th, 2016, 4:14 am

Don't know if you can do something like that with Windows Live Family Safety or not?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Michael REMY
 
Posts: 280
Joined: December 19th, 2009, 2:27 am

Post Posted June 5th, 2016, 4:25 am

therube wrote:Don't know if you can do something like that with Windows Live Family Safety or not?


according to the documentation/helper, there is no such feature to block a thing by just a keyword list.

it is really strange there is no such feature (even to tool or even software firewall feature) to block just an extension from any domain.

i looked at my routeur netgear, no such feature anymore !

why can't we block websites just by naming its extensions ?

trolly
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39831
Joined: August 22nd, 2005, 7:25 am

Post Posted June 5th, 2016, 4:36 am

Scripts can be blocked by NoScript.
Something like this? https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... edirector/

Another possibility is a local proxy with filter.
Think for yourself. Otherwise you have to believe what other people tell you.
A society based on individualism is an oxymoron. || Freedom is at first the freedom to starve.
Constitution says: One man, one vote. Supreme court says: One dollar, one vote.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 17069
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted June 5th, 2016, 6:14 am

OpenDNS Web Content Filtering and Security.

Adblock Plus Block top level domains?
(I'm not sure just what "block all content loading" means in regards to ABP?)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

fswl1234

User avatar
 
Posts: 241
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 4:32 pm

Post Posted June 10th, 2016, 11:32 pm


Michael REMY
 
Posts: 280
Joined: December 19th, 2009, 2:27 am

Post Posted June 11th, 2016, 12:15 am

fswl1234 wrote:https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/addon/silentblock/?src=cb-dl-updated



this tools looks good, else it uses regular expression which is not very common (except for computer people liek me).

now, there are other dangeruous domain like .top to block :

127.0.0.1 o7uxdzm3bj5ian8.xyz
127.0.0.1 ayijjus31zbkswh.xyz
127.0.0.1 cmeaywgzx02htv0.xyz
127.0.0.1 wbgt6b6uh7n9hlh.xyz


so, i have to block .top and .xyz extension .

i looked at the child protection to find the sample for block .xxx domain
http://www.schuzak.jp/files/silentblock ... ids.tar.gz

but there is no such regular expression whereas it is a must to-block for child .

plus, when you search (traceroute, whois...) about .top domains and .xyz , you can discover they are all from panama or been desabled.

yesterday it was .top, now it is .xyz
what will it be tomorrow ?

frg
 
Posts: 314
Joined: December 15th, 2015, 1:20 pm

Post Posted June 11th, 2016, 3:09 am

This would be a job of a dedicated child protection software which acts like a proxy or a whitelist in the router. Doing it in the browser with static lists will be a loosing game.

For malware or other bad pages Safebrowsing can be enabled but it's broken in 2.40. Fully working again in 2.44.

FRG

Michael REMY
 
Posts: 280
Joined: December 19th, 2009, 2:27 am

Post Posted June 11th, 2016, 3:55 am

frg wrote:This would be a job of a dedicated child protection software which acts like a proxy or a whitelist in the router. Doing it in the browser with static lists will be a loosing game.

For malware or other bad pages Safebrowsing can be enabled but it's broken in 2.40. Fully working again in 2.44.

FRG


the job is already done in seamonkey at 99%, because Seamonkey can block an image by domain name. Seamonkey already manages to store a list of string words (domain name), seamonkey already checks/tests/verifies/filters the content by using this list of domains......really 99% are done.

The only thing which is missing is to block all and not only pictures.
i guest there is just a file format test or header to block all the domain.

i search of the website of this add-on to find the source code but i didn't find it. i guess it is not an opensource one.
very sad, because there are just several code lines to change.

barbaz
 
Posts: 1580
Joined: October 1st, 2014, 3:25 pm

Post Posted June 11th, 2016, 9:07 am

Michael REMY wrote:i search of the website of this add-on to find the source code but i didn't find it. i guess it is not an opensource one.
very sad, because there are just several code lines to change.

Any .xpi is just a .zip file, in order to get "source code" just unzip it (& unjar any inner .jar files, if any).
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!

fswl1234

User avatar
 
Posts: 241
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 4:32 pm

Post Posted June 11th, 2016, 12:27 pm

i think something like this should do
^https?://.*\.(top|xyz)/

but i don't really know regular expressions, those do are more than welcome to jump in

fswl1234

User avatar
 
Posts: 241
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 4:32 pm

Post Posted June 11th, 2016, 12:40 pm

just finished reading the whole thread, you guys are talking about proxy/router/source code already... lol

i think you are more than capable of handling this yourself, i'm leaving XD

iFix
 
Posts: 136
Joined: December 24th, 2006, 3:10 am
Location: Mudgee NSW

Post Posted July 1st, 2016, 3:02 am

Michael REMY wrote:block .xyz .top


I use a Dual Wan Router that has keyword blocking; I just tested its Policy on an example of TLD (Top Level Domain).

Adding the keyword .com and .com.au prevented all users' access to all these TLD's for example, yet .org and .gov still are accessible.

There might be simpler ones with URL Control in the Access Section of the Firewall than the one I deploy. If the policy is effectively created, a user will receive a time-out; Eventually.

I searched and found one with an emulator here.

NB: I do not work for any Company Brand; I am a just a long time SeaMonkey user and supporter.
iFix.
'the farmer in the great heartland, corporate greed and chemicals are killin' the land' {Neil Young - greendale 2003}

Return to SeaMonkey Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests