Post extensions that work with Deer Park/Firefox 1.5 HERE

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
Locked
User avatar
joeg
Posts: 2616
Joined: October 10th, 2003, 12:37 pm
Location: How can you be in two places at once, when you're not anywhere at all?

Re: GREAT TIP!

Post by joeg »

Ria wrote:
JoeG wrote:
Ria wrote:
dirtyepic wrote:
Ria wrote:Zoomy is an easy one.
[snip]
nice. that worked.

to get the ID.. did you just generate a random UUID or is there a specific ID that corresponds to "Zoomy" that you knew to use?

No, I just borrowed a GUID ... etc.
Probably all these extensions have the same problem and can use the same hack:

Almost Full Screen, Blockfall, ...

NB: don't change the GUID under <targetApplication>
I've now "hacked" both "x" and "tab x", which are working fine. Thanks very much.

I didn't see the point, though, about "getting" or "generating" an id. I just used the id from the "target application" line in the install.rdf file, and it worked like a champ.

... snip ...
You can use the targetApplication GUID only once (unchanged).
Ummm, Ria is a super FF expert, and I'm and English teacher, so I really can't tell you why this is working, but this is what I just pulled out of the two install.rdf files I "hacked" using his instructions:
-----------------------------------------------
(1) from install.rdf of tab x
<targetApplication>
<r:Description>
<id>{ec8030f7-c20a-464f-9b0e-13a3a9e97384}</id>
<minVersion>0.9</minVersion>
<maxVersion>1.0</maxVersion>
</r:Description>
</targetApplication>

(2) from install.rdf of x
<targetApplication>
<r:Description>
<id>{ec8030f7-c20a-464f-9b0e-13a3a9e97384}</id>
<minVersion>0.9</minVersion>
<maxVersion>1.0</maxVersion>
</r:Description>
</targetApplication>
--------------------------------------------------
As can be seen, the id is the same in both, but as I said, both work fine. To make things even cooler, I'm using a shared profile for both the trunk tinderbox and 1.0.4. With Ria's tip, my setup is working exactly how I've wanted it for a long time. Thanks again.
Although every day is Judgment Day, I nonetheless feel like a room without a roof.
User avatar
ShareBird
Posts: 2740
Joined: December 8th, 2004, 7:09 am
Location: Berlin | Made in Brasil
Contact:

Post by ShareBird »

If I use Nuke Anything to remove your code on http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic ... 02#1463102 I have no horizontal scrollbars. There is a Bug #99457[Core]-Support wrap-option (breaks long lines) [All] for it...

.
User avatar
Ria
Posts: 3550
Joined: March 21st, 2004, 3:25 am
Location: Netherlands

Post by Ria »

Yep, of course they use the same targetApplication GUID (Firefox) but I thought you wanted this GUID to use as an ID.
I'm no super expert (and no English teacher :D ) but I thought that this is what you meant.
If everything works right Firefox should not accept twice the same extension ID. This is what I meant.
User avatar
Ria
Posts: 3550
Joined: March 21st, 2004, 3:25 am
Location: Netherlands

Post by Ria »

Hm, my English must be really crappy :? :?
User avatar
joeg
Posts: 2616
Joined: October 10th, 2003, 12:37 pm
Location: How can you be in two places at once, when you're not anywhere at all?

Yes you are :-)

Post by joeg »

Ria wrote:Yep, of course they use the same targetApplication (Firefox) but I thought you wanted this GUID to use as an ID.
I'm no super expert ... but I thought that this is what you meant.
If everything works right Firefox should not accept twice the same extension ID. This is what I meant.
Don't be so modest, you've posted some SUPER tips! You're certainly an expert.

Also, you did understand me correctly: I wanted to (and did) give both extensions the same GUID in their install manifests. I guess we both don't understand why this is working. In any case, both "tab x" and "x" are working with the same GUID in that line you said to change.

P.S. And don't worry about your English. Your postings are much better written than many I've seen that come out of the USA.
Although every day is Judgment Day, I nonetheless feel like a room without a roof.
User avatar
Ria
Posts: 3550
Joined: March 21st, 2004, 3:25 am
Location: Netherlands

Post by Ria »

Gee, all these supposed qualities... and you haven't yet seen my beautiful hair... :)
Seriously, in this part of install.rdf the ID should be changed into two different GUIDs, otherwise the two extensions will replace each other:

Code: Select all

<r:Description about="urn:mozilla:install-manifest">
    <id>tabx</id>

When you try to change this part

Code: Select all

<targetApplication>
      <r:Description>
        <id>{ec8030f7-c20a-464f-9b0e-13a3a9e97384}</id>

you'll get this ugly message:

Image
User avatar
ShareBird
Posts: 2740
Joined: December 8th, 2004, 7:09 am
Location: Berlin | Made in Brasil
Contact:

Post by ShareBird »

Ria wrote:When you try to change this part

Code: Select all

<targetApplication>
      <r:Description>
        <id>{ec8030f7-c20a-464f-9b0e-13a3a9e97384}</id>



That's the GUI from Firefox!!! It says the extension is compatible with Firefox (it could be the GUI from Thunderbird as well...). If you change this lines it will generate exactly this error message...

.
Destian
Posts: 81
Joined: July 3rd, 2004, 11:20 am

Re: Titlebar Tweaks is not Working.

Post by Destian »

Ria wrote:
Destian wrote:Is there a way to remove "- Mozilla Firefox" from the title bar by simply editing one of the user files?

Very simple. Install 7-zip and open en-US.jar: (path: firefox\chrome\en-US.jar\locale\browser\browser.dtd)

In browser.dtd find:

Code: Select all

<!ENTITY mainWindow.title "&brandFullName;">

and change it to:

Code: Select all

<!ENTITY mainWindow.title "">


Thank you. Much appreciated.
User avatar
galapogos
Posts: 659
Joined: February 22nd, 2003, 1:41 am

Post by galapogos »

Is there a version of AiO Gestures and Plain Text Links that work with the latest nightlies?
User avatar
BenBasson
Moderator
Posts: 13671
Joined: February 13th, 2004, 5:49 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Post by BenBasson »

User avatar
sedholm
Posts: 41
Joined: March 12th, 2004, 2:39 pm
Location: Denver, Colorado USA
Contact:

Post by sedholm »

Anyone got FavIcon Picker 0.2.5 to work with Lastest Nightlies? I am running 2005-05-14 Trunk and it does not work :(

Thanks
Scott
User avatar
Ria
Posts: 3550
Joined: March 21st, 2004, 3:25 am
Location: Netherlands

Post by Ria »

sedholm wrote:Anyone got FavIcon Picker 0.2.5 to work with Lastest Nightlies? I am running 2005-05-14 Trunk and it does not work :(

Thanks


Edit: Hm, I see it's already in the list here: Extensions hacked for nightly builds
User avatar
sedholm
Posts: 41
Joined: March 12th, 2004, 2:39 pm
Location: Denver, Colorado USA
Contact:

Post by sedholm »

Thank you Ria. Downloaded the Hacked FavIcon Picker 0.2.5 Extension you pointed me to and it works like a charm.

- Scott
Scott
User avatar
cf
Posts: 8
Joined: April 21st, 2005, 9:29 am
Location: Hell
Contact:

sage 1.3.3

Post by cf »

updated the sage xpi i originally posted to 1.3.3

http://www.suspectz.org/sage.xpi

(just straight replaced the file, but the mirror on projects1 will want updating)

-cf
User avatar
Ria
Posts: 3550
Joined: March 21st, 2004, 3:25 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: sage 1.3.3

Post by Ria »

cf wrote:updated the sage xpi i originally posted to 1.3.3

http://www.suspectz.org/sage.xpi

(just straight replaced the file, but the mirror on projects1 will want updating)

-cf

Thanks - I see that the "mark all as read"-function is included.
Locked