MozillaZine

Tab Mix 0.2 is available 4/18/05

Talk about add-ons and extension development.
logixoul

User avatar
 
Posts: 166
Joined: January 5th, 2005, 3:03 am
Location: sofia, bulgaria

Post Posted May 16th, 2005, 2:14 pm

max_gizzmo wrote:the Problem:
If I click with the middle-mouse-button in a free area of the Tab-Bar a new Tab with the content of the last closed tab is show up.

I want instead of this just a new empty tab (like opera does).

Is this a configuration-error of me or how can I do this.
I tried much combinations but nothing worked.
I think the Tab Clicking Options extension does this.
max_gizzmo wrote:Furthermore a little Bug/Problem:
The Protect and Lock Flags are lost if a session is restored!
WORKSFORME.

Kitefighter

User avatar
 
Posts: 377
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 11:09 pm

Post Posted May 17th, 2005, 12:28 am

Would it be possible to extend the "Permissions" (option when right-clicking on a tab) to deny page refreshing?

logixoul

User avatar
 
Posts: 166
Joined: January 5th, 2005, 3:03 am
Location: sofia, bulgaria

Post Posted May 17th, 2005, 12:30 am

Kitefighter wrote:Would it be possible to extend the "Permissions" (option when right-clicking on a tab) to deny page refreshing?
Yes.

max_gizzmo
 
Posts: 6
Joined: May 16th, 2005, 1:48 pm

Post Posted May 17th, 2005, 10:48 am

max_gizzmo wrote:the Problem:
If I click with the middle-mouse-button in a free area of the Tab-Bar a new Tab with the content of the last closed tab is show up.

I want instead of this just a new empty tab (like opera does).

Is this a configuration-error of me or how can I do this.
I tried much combinations but nothing worked.

The Problem is: If I activate the history in your extention (undo close option), middle click in the tab-bar brings up a new tab with the content of last closed tab. If i deactivate this option all works fine. But I want this function activated in your plugin, especially if the session restoring function is a litte bit enhanced.

max_gizzmo wrote:Furthermore a little Bug/Problem:
The Protect and Lock Flags are lost if a session is restored!

I tried several things, but the two flags are lost :( (FF 1.0.4 installed).
Any idea what the problem could be?

Furthermore 2 suggestions.
- Integrate advanced functions in the restoring session function. I tried "Session Saver" and it is able to activate the last focused tab and scroll in every tab to the last scrolled position.
- Save the closed tab list and save the history of each tab.

Don't forget: Your Plugin is anyway the best plugin for tabbing!!!!!!

pierre.delagrave
 
Posts: 1
Joined: May 17th, 2005, 11:39 am

Post Posted May 17th, 2005, 12:05 pm

I thought about somethings that could be more useful (at least to me and maybe some others?) than the submenu to load an url of a closed tab.

When closing a tab, its history could be saved and appended to the next opened tab. To view the url of a closed tab you then just have to open a new tab and hit back. (or it would also be possible to directly load the last closed url as the new tab is opened)

Of course, loading history data each time a tab is opened is a waste of resources. It could only happen on a given event, like opening a tab with a modifier/meta key pressed.

What do you guys think about the usability of such features?

Pierre Delagrave

ps: Is there an official site/mailing list to talk about tabmix and its development?

aarons3
 
Posts: 3
Joined: May 16th, 2005, 11:01 am

Post Posted May 18th, 2005, 4:08 am

I think that's a good idea: opening a new tab with a modifier key set (like shift, for ctrl-shift-t) could open the URL of the most recently closed tab. Repeated ctrl-shift-t's would just go through the closed history list, restoring those tabs.

logixoul

User avatar
 
Posts: 166
Joined: January 5th, 2005, 3:03 am
Location: sofia, bulgaria

Post Posted May 20th, 2005, 11:13 am

pierre.delagrave wrote:I thought about somethings that could be more useful (at least to me and maybe some others?) than the submenu to load an url of a closed tab.

When closing a tab, its history could be saved and appended to the next opened tab. To view the url of a closed tab you then just have to open a new tab and hit back. (or it would also be possible to directly load the last closed url as the new tab is opened)
I understand your idea and like it, but it seems a bit overcomplicated to me. But it's good for an optional feature.
pierre.delagrave wrote:Of course, loading history data each time a tab is opened is a waste of resources. It could only happen on a given event, like opening a tab with a modifier/meta key pressed.
Even more complicated, but again if it's optional, maybe somebody will use it. You are right.
pierre.delagrave wrote:Is there an official site/mailing list to talk about tabmix and its development?
In the site there is no mailing list because I think this thread is enough, if not better. Am I wrong and if I am, why?
@aarons3: Possibly...

orthogonal
 
Posts: 136
Joined: October 8th, 2003, 11:51 pm

Post Posted May 20th, 2005, 12:56 pm

To install local copies of extensions, I made a bookmark pointing to the xpi:

file:///Z:/cygwin/home/xxx/demoext/browser/metafilthy.xpi

and then instructed Firefox that the default application to open .xpi files was... Firefox.

Prior to using TabMix, this work-around sufficed to install xpis. But with tabmix installed, this fails to work unless 1) New Windows are set yo open in new windows, and 2) Bookmarks are NOT set to open in a new tab.

I'd like to be able to both use tabmix and to install local copies of extensions.

Thanks.

Fury1306
 
Posts: 8
Joined: May 20th, 2005, 1:32 pm

Post Posted May 20th, 2005, 2:11 pm

Hi,

would it be possible to implent a setting to avoid a link being opened in a new tab when the url is already opened in an existing tab?

CPU

User avatar
 
Posts: 624
Joined: August 13th, 2004, 4:22 pm
Location: Houston, Texas

Post Posted May 20th, 2005, 7:24 pm

orthogonal wrote:To install local copies of extensions, I made a bookmark pointing to the xpi:

file:///Z:/cygwin/home/xxx/demoext/browser/metafilthy.xpi

and then instructed Firefox that the default application to open .xpi files was... Firefox.

Prior to using TabMix, this work-around sufficed to install xpis. But with tabmix installed, this fails to work unless 1) New Windows are set yo open in new windows, and 2) Bookmarks are NOT set to open in a new tab.

I'd like to be able to both use tabmix and to install local copies of extensions.

Thanks.


why not use sometihng like local install, it seems to me that its making things more complicated by doing that

Hi,

would it be possible to implent a setting to avoid a link being opened in a new tab when the url is already opened in an existing tab?


im currently trying to add this for my own copies
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8) Gecko/20051114 Firefox/1.5 - Build ID: 2005111403

CPU

User avatar
 
Posts: 624
Joined: August 13th, 2004, 4:22 pm
Location: Houston, Texas

Post Posted May 20th, 2005, 10:15 pm

i got bored again, so i added a few stuff to tm, if you want it grab it from here

things that are different
  • ability to open history in new tabs
  • tooltip for new tab button
  • tooltip for closetab button
  • ability to flush tabs
  • ability to temporarily rename tabs and document title
  • integrated some hidden settings
  • ability to to use bookmark name as tab title (thanks to onemen)
  • added a toolbar button for closed tab list
Last edited by CPU on May 21st, 2005, 11:49 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8) Gecko/20051114 Firefox/1.5 - Build ID: 2005111403

iwod
 
Posts: 1033
Joined: July 18th, 2003, 10:09 pm

Post Posted May 21st, 2005, 7:57 am

CPU are you officially taken over the development of TabMix?

CPU

User avatar
 
Posts: 624
Joined: August 13th, 2004, 4:22 pm
Location: Houston, Texas

Post Posted May 21st, 2005, 10:46 am

iwod wrote:CPU are you officially taken over the development of TabMix?


nah, i said i just got bored
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8) Gecko/20051114 Firefox/1.5 - Build ID: 2005111403

onemen

User avatar
 
Posts: 1130
Joined: October 15th, 2004, 7:48 am

Post Posted May 21st, 2005, 2:16 pm

CPU i added rename tabs according to bookmark if one exist
Get Tab Title From Bookmark Name

add this 2 eval to tablib.js
Code: Select all
eval("gBrowser.updateTitlebar ="+gBrowser.updateTitlebar.toString().replace(
'if (!docTitle)',
'if ( gPref.getBoolPref("extensions.tabmix.titlefrombookmark") ) { \
 var bookMarkName = getTitleFromBookmark(this.currentURI); \
 if (bookMarkName) docTitle = bookMarkName;} \
 if (!docTitle)'));

Code: Select all
eval("gBrowser.setTabTitle ="+gBrowser.setTabTitle.toString().replace(
'if (!title) {',
'if ( gPref.getBoolPref("extensions.tabmix.titlefrombookmark") ) { \
 var bookMarkName = getTitleFromBookmark(browser.currentURI); \
 if (bookMarkName) title = bookMarkName;} \
 if (!title) {'));


add the new getTitleFromBookmark function to one of the other js file, i add it to tabmix.js
Code: Select all
/**
* Returns the name of the passed-in nsIURI if exist in the bookmarks
*
* @param URI   a nsIURI
* @return      a string that is the name of the bookmark if exist, null if nsIURI is not in bookmarks
*/
function getTitleFromBookmark(URI) {
   // gNC_NS for trunk, NC_NS for 1.X
   try {var pNC_NS; pNC_NS = gNC_NS;} catch (err) { pNC_NS = NC_NS;}
   if(! BMSVC || ! BMDS || ! RDF || ! pNC_NS || ! URI) return null;
   var url = URI.spec;
   if ( ! url) return null; // just in case
   var urlArc = RDF.GetResource(pNC_NS+"URL");
   var urlLiteral = RDF.GetLiteral(url);
   if (BMDS.hasArcIn(urlLiteral, urlArc)) {
      var bmResources, bmResource, title, type, ptype;
      bmResources = BMSVC.GetSources(urlArc, urlLiteral, true);
      while (bmResources.hasMoreElements()) {
         bmResource = bmResources.getNext();
         ptype = BookmarksUtils.resolveType(BMSVC.getParent(bmResource));
         type = BookmarksUtils.resolveType(bmResource);
         if ( (type == "Bookmark" || type == "IEFavorite") &&  ptype != "Livemark" ) {
            title = BookmarksUtils.getProperty(bmResource, pNC_NS+"Name");
            if (title != "") return title;
         }
      }
   }
   return null;
}


add new boolean pref extensions.tabmix.titlefrombookmark and set it to true
Last edited by onemen on May 21st, 2005, 2:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

CPU

User avatar
 
Posts: 624
Joined: August 13th, 2004, 4:22 pm
Location: Houston, Texas

Post Posted May 21st, 2005, 2:48 pm

that works marbelously, im goign to see if can make the rename tab function also change the document title
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8) Gecko/20051114 Firefox/1.5 - Build ID: 2005111403

Return to Extension Development


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests