MozillaZine

Strange entry in Location Bar with FF 43

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
TigerClaw

User avatar
 
Posts: 140
Joined: March 10th, 2009, 4:59 pm

Post Posted September 1st, 2016, 9:40 pm

jscher2000 wrote:I forgot to check this thread recently...

I tried the latest collection of "oldbar style drop-down" rules from this post:

viewtopic.php?p=14683121#p14683121

The first rule didn't work to hide the "search with" line for me, but switching the pseudoclass from :first-child to :first-of-type solved it:

Code: Select all
  #PopupAutoCompleteRichResult richlistitem:first-of-type {
    display:none !important;
  }

I found the background color of the selected item a bit dark on Windows 7; the color may vary between OS'es. This brightens it slightly vs. the default:

Code: Select all
  .autocomplete-richlistitem[selected=true] {
    background-color: Highlight !important;
  }

Or any arbitrary color that contrasts well with black and gray could be designated.

That seems to get rid of that top entry.

TigerClaw

User avatar
 
Posts: 140
Joined: March 10th, 2009, 4:59 pm

Post Posted January 27th, 2017, 5:58 pm

So I updated Firefox to 51.0.1 and Old Location Bar stopped working.

mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 9536
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted January 27th, 2017, 6:04 pm

Why are you surprised, it hasn't been updated in almost two years, times change.
#KeepFightingMichael

TigerClaw

User avatar
 
Posts: 140
Joined: March 10th, 2009, 4:59 pm

Post Posted January 27th, 2017, 6:50 pm

mightyglydd wrote:Why are you surprised, it hasn't been updated in almost two years, times change.

Is there another addon like Old Location Bay?

mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 9536
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted January 27th, 2017, 7:11 pm

I had a look before posting, nothing obvious.
Way back I used Oldbar but that's even deader.. https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/oldbar/ .. can't even remember what it did.
Search AMO.
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... cation+bar
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... tion%20Bar
#KeepFightingMichael

TigerClaw

User avatar
 
Posts: 140
Joined: March 10th, 2009, 4:59 pm

Post Posted January 28th, 2017, 6:21 pm

I reinstalled version 50.1.0 since Old Location Bar still works on it.

wosc
 
Posts: 2
Joined: August 15th, 2016, 10:45 am

Post Posted July 12th, 2019, 3:10 am

Here's an update to the code that works for me with FF 68. Note that you have to remove the (previously typical) xul namespace declaration from the userChrome.css file, see here and here for details.

Code: Select all
.urlbarView-type-icon,
.urlbarView-favicon {
  order: 0 !important;
}
.urlbarView-url {
  order: 1 !important;
  margin-inline-end: 6px !important;
  margin-top: -2px !important;
  font-size: 1em !important;
  color: inherit !important;
  flex-shrink: 0 !important;
}
.urlbarView-title-separator {
  display: none !important;
}
.urlbarView-title {
  order: 2 !important;
  font-size: 1em !important;
  color: GrayText !important;
}
.urlbarView-tags,
.urlbarView-action {
  order: 3 !important;
  margin-top: -2px !important;
  font-size: 1em !important;
}
.urlbarView-action {
  margin-inline-end: 6px !important;
}
.urlbarView-row {
  height: 1em !important;
}

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 14 guests