MozillaZine

Cannot remove items from Bookmark context menu

Discussion of features in Mozilla Firefox
Snarka
 
Posts: 4
Joined: March 11th, 2014, 3:30 pm

Post Posted March 11th, 2014, 3:47 pm

Hello,

Firefox 10.0.12, Windows XP (I'm going to keep it, don't want to update to the latest version, because my computer is very outdated. I am conservative 8-) )

I'd like to remove "Open" and "Open in a new window" from the Bookmark Toolbar context menu. I tried all variants of these strings in userChrome.css, like for example:
Code: Select all
#bookmarks-context-menu menuitem[label="Open"]
{ display: none; }

or:
Code: Select all
#bookmarks-context-menu menuitem[label="Open"]{
  display: none ! important;
}

And yes, I watched commas, there was no comma in the last line (actually, I tested it also with the only line with no comma at all). Nothing works. Nothing in this thread worked:
viewtopic.php?f=8&t=30260&start=105

Everything is quite nice with other context menus: I've tweaked link, page, image menus exactly as I like : ). Thanks to this wonderful forum!

I'd be very grateful for any advice!
Last edited by Snarka on March 12th, 2014, 3:09 am, edited 2 times in total.

smsmith
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 19175
Joined: December 7th, 2004, 8:51 pm
Location: Illinois

Post Posted March 11th, 2014, 4:44 pm

Try :
Code: Select all
menuitem[command="placesCmd_open:window"], #placesContext_open {
    display: none !important;
}
Give a man a fish, and he eats for a day. Teach a man to fish, and he eats for a lifetime.
I like poetry, long walks on the beach and poking dead things with a stick.
Please do not PM me for personal support. Keep posts here in the Forums instead and we all learn.

Snarka
 
Posts: 4
Joined: March 11th, 2014, 3:30 pm

Post Posted March 11th, 2014, 4:58 pm

IT WORKED!!!!!!!1111 smsmith you are my Hero! =D> =D> =D>

Thank you very much : ))

smsmith
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 19175
Joined: December 7th, 2004, 8:51 pm
Location: Illinois

Post Posted March 11th, 2014, 5:14 pm

No problem. I was a little worried since you are using Fx 10 and those IDs weren't something I had seen before.
Give a man a fish, and he eats for a day. Teach a man to fish, and he eats for a lifetime.
I like poetry, long walks on the beach and poking dead things with a stick.
Please do not PM me for personal support. Keep posts here in the Forums instead and we all learn.

Snarka
 
Posts: 4
Joined: March 11th, 2014, 3:30 pm

Post Posted January 28th, 2017, 4:52 pm

Hello again, after two years! ))

Now I've updated to the version 45.7.0. (because of Youtube with its html5). And I have a similar problem: how to remove "Open in a new private window" from the Bookmark Toolbar context menu? Tried to modify the magical line above, but with no luck... :oops:
Last edited by Snarka on January 28th, 2017, 5:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Snarka
 
Posts: 4
Joined: March 11th, 2014, 3:30 pm

Post Posted January 28th, 2017, 5:43 pm

P.S.: And also an annoying thing: all toolbar icons a larger than in FF 10 and 17. I've managed to tune the appearance almost exactly as it was in my beloved 17 using the Classic Theme Restorer, but alas - all icons are like 30% larger (even with all the options like "small icons", "reduce size", etc. checked).

smsmith
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 19175
Joined: December 7th, 2004, 8:51 pm
Location: Illinois

Post Posted January 29th, 2017, 9:13 am

Welcome back!

Try this. Not the cleanest but works for me.

Code: Select all
menuitem[command="placesCmd_open:window"], #placesContext_open, menuitem[command="placesCmd_open:privatewindow"] {
    display: none !important;
}


There's a thread dedicated to the Classic Theme Restorer extension. You can raise your question there. Might be someone knows how to get it to do what you want or Aris can add it to the extension.
viewtopic.php?f=48&t=2827985
Give a man a fish, and he eats for a day. Teach a man to fish, and he eats for a lifetime.
I like poetry, long walks on the beach and poking dead things with a stick.
Please do not PM me for personal support. Keep posts here in the Forums instead and we all learn.

BobbyPhoenix
 
Posts: 48
Joined: April 24th, 2014, 5:58 am

Post Posted March 8th, 2017, 3:30 pm


dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 52051
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted April 18th, 2017, 9:07 pm

Note that you can escape the colons to make the id work
Code: Select all
#placesContext_open
#placesContext_open\:newtab
#placesContext_openContainer\:tabs
#placesContext_openLinks\:tabs
#placesContext_open\:newwindow
#placesContext_open\:newprivatewindow

Return to Firefox Features


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest