[EXT] Menu Wizard

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
Post Reply
pag77
Posts: 1642
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Re: [EXT] Menu Wizard

Post by pag77 »

srishali wrote:I would like to create key board shortcut to open a specified url/link in current opened tab..
Create new menu-items
Open Properties
Set Hotkey
Set command in onCommand:

Code: Select all

gBrowser.loadURI( "http://www.google.com/" );
Click Apply-button
Restart Browser
User avatar
madmudmob
Posts: 810
Joined: August 30th, 2006, 7:34 am
Location: Somerset, UK

Help please moving items to within folder

Post by madmudmob »

Please could some kind person help me with this great extension?

I have an extension called Bookmark Favicon Changer and that has 2 labels/actions in the right-click context menu of Bookmarks when you right click on a saved bookmark. They say Change Favicon and Export Favicon.
Neither appear on the main Menu Wizard Options page. I have made a new file on the options page of Menu Wizard Bookmarks section and called it Favicon Changer but do not seem to be able to find out how to move the 2 actions to within it.
I have tried making 2 separate menu items called Change Favicon and Export Favicon and pulling them to inside the folder and they do appear there. But, they do not work when I right click a bookmark and the original (working ones) are still visible and working in the right-click main menu too.

The frustrating thing is that I remember I successfully managed this last year after so much fiddling that I had no real idea how I managed it. That pc died so I am putting everything on to my new one (both Windows 7) and am not managing to find the mystery trick that worked last time.

All and any help much appreciated please.
Mud is good!
pag77
Posts: 1642
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Re: [EXT] Menu Wizard

Post by pag77 »

version 5.07-5.08
https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/s3menu-wizard/

changes:
deleted: 3-d party JavaScript-advertising has been deleted from add-on.
fixed: minor bug fixes
makondo
Posts: 1961
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 5:26 pm
Location: Rocky Mountains

Re: [EXT] Menu Wizard

Post by makondo »

Thank you!
jjscott
Posts: 14
Joined: February 22nd, 2015, 9:11 am

Re: [EXT] Menu Wizard

Post by jjscott »

I have Menu Wizard running in many locations and some of them report that Firefox will take them to the Menu Wizard Add-on home page when they start Firefox. Our normal home page is launched, there is an additional tab that is opened for the Menu Wizard home page.

How can I prevent Firefox from launching the Menu Wizard home page when starting?

Thanks
markling
Posts: 17
Joined: June 3rd, 2008, 8:03 am

Re: [EXT] Menu Wizard

Post by markling »

Would you please tell me how I might use Menu Wizard to adapt the Save As... dialogue so that on pressing a function key a web page is saved automatically to a pre-defined location in a predefined format?

I would guess it starts here somewhere: saveBrowser(gBrowser.selectedBrowser);
pag77
Posts: 1642
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Re: [EXT] Menu Wizard

Post by pag77 »

jjscott wrote:How can I prevent Firefox from launching the Menu Wizard home page when starting?
This page should be opened only once after upgrading the addon to a new version
Opening this page every time you launch the browser - This behavior may be due to the fact that Firefox can not save preferences.
To solve the problem, try this:
http://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/how ... -wont-save
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Preferences_not_saved

or

type in address bar: about:config
search: extensions.s3menuwizard.not_open_contribute_page
set: true
markling wrote:Would you please tell me how I might use Menu Wizard to adapt the Save As... dialogue so that on pressing a function key a web page is saved automatically to a pre-defined location in a predefined format?
I would guess it starts here somewhere: saveBrowser(gBrowser.selectedBrowser);
saveBrowser(aBrowser, aSkipPrompt);
or
saveDocument(aDocument, aSkipPrompt);

chrome://global/content/contentAreaUtils.js
markling
Posts: 17
Joined: June 3rd, 2008, 8:03 am

Re: [EXT] Menu Wizard

Post by markling »

Thank you. Will it also allow me to specify location and format of the save?
pag77
Posts: 1642
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Re: [EXT] Menu Wizard

Post by pag77 »

markling wrote:Thank you. Will it also allow me to specify location and format of the save?
Sorry, I do not know.
Probably you need to find a specialized extension
Indrajit
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: April 14th, 2017, 12:19 am

Re: [EXT] Menu Wizard

Post by Indrajit »

Hi there, Thanks for the addon, its great. I want a I am having problem with the command of a menuitem. The menuitem is shown when i rightclick on a link. What I want is open the link in a new tab modified like this https://www.facebook.com/sharer/sharer.php?u=TheLinkURL.

The gContextMenu have openLinkInTab method but it takes event as parameter. I have no idea how to pass a parameter to it.
This will not work I know: gContextMenu.openLinkInTab('https://www.facebook.com/sharer/sharer.php?u=' + gContextMenu.getLinkURL);

Please help me guys.
pag77
Posts: 1642
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Re: [EXT] Menu Wizard

Post by pag77 »

Indrajit wrote:What I want is open the link in a new tab modified like this https://www.facebook.com/sharer/sharer.php?u=TheLinkURL.

Code: Select all

if  (gContextMenu.onLink) {
    var url = gContextMenu.link;
    gBrowser.selectedTab = gBrowser.addTab('https://www.facebook.com/sharer/sharer.php?u=' + encodeURIComponent(url));
}
markling
Posts: 17
Joined: June 3rd, 2008, 8:03 am

Re: [EXT] Menu Wizard

Post by markling »

Sorry, I do not know.
Probably you need to find a specialized extension
That is why I was looking at Menu Wizard!-)

I think you may misunderstand my question.

I intend to use Menu Wizard only to use the standard menu options.

That is:

File -> Save As -> [options]

Where options consist of:

1. text box: location
2. drop down menu: format
pag77
Posts: 1642
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Re: [EXT] Menu Wizard

Post by pag77 »

markling wrote:I intend to use Menu Wizard only to use the standard menu options.
That is:
File -> Save As -> [options]
Where options consist of:
1. text box: location
2. drop down menu: format
Unfortunately using the standard menu (and standard methods), you can not automatically specify the location and format
if you set "aSkipPrompt = true" - the file will be automatically saved to the default Download directory

To fully manage the automatic saving of a web page you need:

write your code based on these methods:
saveDocument() and internalSave() from "chrome://global/content/contentAreaUtils.js"

or

find a specialized extension in
Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/sear ... rm=windows
or
Google Chrome: https://chrome.google.com/webstore/search/save%20page

PS:
for install extensions from Google Chrome Webstore you need:
a) Firefox version 52+
b) install addon "Chrome Store Foxified"
https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/addo ... -foxified/
markling
Posts: 17
Joined: June 3rd, 2008, 8:03 am

Re: [EXT] Menu Wizard

Post by markling »

Thank you, pag77.

Would you please help me understand why this is not possible with Menu Wizard?

Save page as text, for example, needs only three menu clicks: File > Save As > and the format drop down in the Save As dialogue.
pag77
Posts: 1642
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Re: [EXT] Menu Wizard

Post by pag77 »

Because the internal APIs are configured to use the save dialog.
To do everything automatically - it is necessary to rewrite/modify some of the methods described by me above
Post Reply