MozillaZine

uBlock Origin

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
Anonymosity
 
Posts: 8447
Joined: May 7th, 2007, 12:07 pm

Post Posted June 1st, 2017, 5:46 pm

Why does uBlock Origin not work with SeaMonkey 2.46? There is a toolbar button but no settings interface anywhere. The Mozilla Addons site says that it works with SM, but it does not. I tried using the default theme, and also tried disabling all other extensions, but that did not help.

mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 8935
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted June 1st, 2017, 6:54 pm

Works fine here with Frank's Aluminium Kai 2 and the default theme.... TTBOMN all the options on the drop-down from button work.
#KeepFightingMichael

Anonymosity
 
Posts: 8447
Joined: May 7th, 2007, 12:07 pm

Post Posted June 1st, 2017, 11:56 pm

How do you get into the subscriptions, the filters and the whitelist? I could not see any way to do that. Clicking Options in the Addons list results in no help at all.
I have uBlock Origin installed in Opera, and there is a large settings interface there.

GHM113

User avatar
 
Posts: 617
Joined: December 16th, 2015, 3:59 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Post Posted June 2nd, 2017, 5:55 am

Anonymosity wrote:How do you get into the subscriptions, the filters and the whitelist? I could not see any way to do that. Clicking Options in the Addons list results in no help at all.
I have uBlock Origin installed in Opera, and there is a large settings interface there.

Image
I am an idiot. Sorry for my poor English. Current list of config tweaks: https://pastebin.com/1dCT4Cvp

gorhill
 
Posts: 142
Joined: February 10th, 2015, 8:00 am

Post Posted June 2nd, 2017, 5:57 am

Anonymosity wrote:Why does uBlock Origin not work with SeaMonkey 2.46? There is a toolbar button but no settings interface anywhere. The Mozilla Addons site says that it works with SM, but it does not. I tried using the default theme, and also tried disabling all other extensions, but that did not help.

All works fine here. I clicked "Show Dashboard" button in the uBO's "Preferences" page in about:addons, and the dashboard opened. You can also access the dashboard through the popup panel: https://github.com/gorhill/uBlock/wiki/ ... -title-bar

Anonymosity
 
Posts: 8447
Joined: May 7th, 2007, 12:07 pm

Post Posted June 2nd, 2017, 10:44 am

That little grey icon in the dialog box is not that easy to see. Now that it is pointed out, I see it, but why is the contrast with the background so low? I failed to notice it, especially since it is right up against the title of the dialog box. If that gearwheel image were white or yellow, it would stand out more. I suppose it is somewhere in the .xpi file, so I can repaint it.

By the way, the buttons, "Show Logger" and "Show Dashboard" in the Addons window do absolutely nothing.

Anonymosity
 
Posts: 8447
Joined: May 7th, 2007, 12:07 pm

Post Posted June 2nd, 2017, 11:11 am

I give up. Where is that gearwheel image? I cannot find it in the .xpi file.

barbaz
 
Posts: 1663
Joined: October 1st, 2014, 3:25 pm

Post Posted June 2nd, 2017, 12:57 pm

Actually you can click anywhere in that top bar to open the dashboard.

To make the gear white, try this CSS -
Code: Select all
@namespace url(http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml);

@-moz-document url-prefix("chrome://ublock0/") {
  #gotoPrefs span:nth-child(3) {
    color: #FFF !important;
    opacity: 1 !important;
  }
}
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!

Anonymosity
 
Posts: 8447
Joined: May 7th, 2007, 12:07 pm

Post Posted June 2nd, 2017, 1:23 pm

That is good to know. Thanks for the tip.
Where do I put the CSS and what do I call it? That namespace line is not the one used in userChrome.css.

Got it. It goes into userContent.css.

gorhill
 
Posts: 142
Joined: February 10th, 2015, 8:00 am

Post Posted June 2nd, 2017, 4:24 pm

barbaz wrote:To make the gear white, try this CSS -

Don't bother, it's gone in the next release. There are so many hints that the bar is interactive, it was never needed in the 1st place (I added it against my will), and it's causing spurious issues to be filed. Considering:

- The mouse cursor turns into a pointer when hovering over it (everywhere in the browser "pointer" means "clickable")
- It has a tooltip which says "Click to open the dashboard".
- There is succinct documentation about it (here).
- Alternatively the dashboard can be accessed from other places also.

I was never for adding it, so it's back to how it used to be, and to emphasize, it's case closed for me.

For anyone who wants to configure uBO beyond the default settings, due diligence dictates: read the documentation about what you just installed, especially considering something as important as a content blocker.

Anonymosity
 
Posts: 8447
Joined: May 7th, 2007, 12:07 pm

Post Posted June 3rd, 2017, 1:21 pm

Thanks for the link, anyway.

streetwolf

User avatar
 
Posts: 2093
Joined: August 21st, 2011, 8:07 am
Location: NJ (USA)

Post Posted June 5th, 2017, 6:54 am

This is an FYI..

Running uBO v1.12.5.100

I'm running on inbound and the dashboard does not appear when clicking on the top of the uBO menu. I can still get to it via the add-ons page so it's not a complete loss. I don't know if this problem is on Nightly yet. I have the regression range but can't determine the patch causing it. If you also see that the uBO menu is very much wider I already filed a bug report with Mozilla on that one and they are working on it.

Might be caused by https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1368152
Intel i7 Quad Core 3770K @ 5Ghz|ASUS P8Z77-V Deluxe|Corsair 1050W PSU|Corsair H100iV2 CPU Cooler|Corsair 16GB RAM|Sapphire Nitro R9 390 8GB|DUAL ASUS PA249Q IPS 24" LCDs|Samsung SSD 830, 840 256GB|2TB Seagate|Windows 10 Pro x64|AMD Crimson 17.10.1|FIOS 1Gb Internet

Anonymosity
 
Posts: 8447
Joined: May 7th, 2007, 12:07 pm

Post Posted June 6th, 2017, 11:47 am

Interesting. I have the reverse situation. The buttons in the addons window do nothing, but clicking the titlebar of the doorhanger works. My original problem was that I usually do not bother mousing over titlebars.

happysurf

User avatar
 
Posts: 345
Joined: January 20th, 2011, 3:14 am

Post Posted June 24th, 2017, 12:29 am

In Firefox 55beta4 32 bit + W10 + UO 1.13.3.b2 the shortcuts in about:config doesn't works, this morning I have updated to beta5 and works only the zapper and logger feature.

Edit: After reboot now all works fine.
Surf the Internet is a dirty job but someone has to do it.

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest