MozillaZine

Logitech keyboard generates the wrong characters

Discuss various technical topics not related to Mozilla.
ineuw

User avatar
 
Posts: 340
Joined: March 19th, 2006, 4:17 pm

Post Posted July 8th, 2017, 9:46 am

Recently purchased a Logitech K700/K710 wireless French character keyboard, but Firefox, Windows 7 OS and the Regional language setting and the keyboard driver are all US English. In fact, the French keyboard driver is not installed.

After an hour of typing in Firefox, (as of this writing it's version 54.0.1) the keyboard goes crazy and generates the wrong characters for keys which are defined as ANSI 128 to 255, like "é" instead of "/" etc. I correct it by closing and restarting Firefox, so it's not an OS problem. Which about:config settings can be modified to correct this problem?
Windows 7 Ultimate, 32bit, and Linux Mint 18.1, 32bit and 64bit, and the latest FF release.

tomatoshadow2

User avatar
 
Posts: 94
Joined: May 11th, 2017, 9:52 am

Post Posted July 8th, 2017, 11:06 am

Has this ever happened to you before?

ineuw

User avatar
 
Posts: 340
Joined: March 19th, 2006, 4:17 pm

Post Posted July 8th, 2017, 11:10 am

If you mean with other keyboards, not that I can remember, and I mostly use Logitech.
Windows 7 Ultimate, 32bit, and Linux Mint 18.1, 32bit and 64bit, and the latest FF release.

Grumpus

User avatar
 
Posts: 11598
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 4:23 am
Location: ... Da' Swamp

Post Posted July 8th, 2017, 12:48 pm

More than likely this is a system problem.
Look for your utility control for your keyboard for your system and set the language properly or at least so it agrees with the language used in Firefox.
Firefox language control is located /Tools/Options/Content/ Languages/Choose
You may also want to look at /Tools/Options/Fonts & Colors/Advanced/Fonts For: (try setting this to Other Languages . . .
. . . at the bottom of the Advanced page is Text encoding for Legacy Content. try setting it for "Other (including Western European)"

ineuw

User avatar
 
Posts: 340
Joined: March 19th, 2006, 4:17 pm

Post Posted July 8th, 2017, 3:02 pm

Hi Grumpus, Thanks for the instructions. I did everything you mentioned and now it's just wait and see.
Windows 7 Ultimate, 32bit, and Linux Mint 18.1, 32bit and 64bit, and the latest FF release.

Grumpus

User avatar
 
Posts: 11598
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 4:23 am
Location: ... Da' Swamp

Post Posted July 9th, 2017, 9:19 am

This is just a follow up so don't fiddle with it if what went before works.
There may also be an issue with the intl.charset items in about:config if you are using UTF-8
See this link in Seamonkey Support. Works for Firefox start from the first post.
viewtopic.php?f=40&t=3027578&p=14734219&hilit=fonts&sid=33f4dfe1dea550d0d8f51a42703e0886#p14734219

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 52279
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted July 9th, 2017, 1:30 pm

Note that there might have been a keyboard shortcut (Ctrl+Shift or Alt+Shift) set to rotate through installed keyboard layout.
If you accidentally press this shortcut combination then the layout will change.
Best is to disable this feature.

ineuw

User avatar
 
Posts: 340
Joined: March 19th, 2006, 4:17 pm

Post Posted July 9th, 2017, 10:43 pm

dickvl, you're a genius. I did have two keyboard definitions. The English US, and the Canadian International for French. I am also a constant user of Autohotkey where both of the above mentioned key combinations are used extensively. It does happen that I press those key combinations and then change my mind and don't press the third key. Thank you!!!!

And thank you Grumpus. I was about to come online and let you know that Logitech mouse software named Logitech Options, and Logitech SetPoint have not been updated since 2015. SetPoint does install an extension into Firefox for smooth scrolling, but it interferes with Firefox's (more advanced technology?) and the mouse pointer becomes uncontrollable. The extension is broken and it's not possible to disable or remove, so I uninstalled the Logitech mouse software altogether and now things are back to normal. Furthermore, someone on the Firefox Add-ons page offers the identical (and working) version of the Logitech Setpoint add-on from 2015, but I am staying away from it.
Windows 7 Ultimate, 32bit, and Linux Mint 18.1, 32bit and 64bit, and the latest FF release.

Grumpus

User avatar
 
Posts: 11598
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 4:23 am
Location: ... Da' Swamp

Post Posted July 10th, 2017, 5:20 am

@ineuw - I think dickvl is secretly Poirot, I didn't even think to ask if you had a related extension.
Glad it's solved.

Daifne
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 122999
Joined: July 31st, 2005, 9:17 pm
Location: Where the Waters Meet, Wisconsin

Post Posted July 10th, 2017, 6:11 am

Moving to Mozillazine Tech

Return to MozillaZine Tech


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests