MozillaZine

The Official 20170717 builds are out

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
Josa
 
Posts: 2704
Joined: July 28th, 2009, 4:52 pm

Post Posted July 16th, 2017, 7:29 am

Previous Nightly Builds thread 20170716

The Official 20170717 NIGHTLY builds are out
.The Official Firefox 55 Beta 10 builds are not yet out

Previous NIGHTLY: 20170716 (Fx 56.0a1)
Previous BETA: 20170714 (Fx 55.0b9)

Tinderbox Builds
Treeherder
Release Notes: NIGHTLY | BETA
Changelogs: NIGHTLY | BETA


Fixed:
    NIGHTLY +8
  1. #1380789 [Core:CSS Parsing and Computation]-stylo: Uplift a few assertions to nightly [Uns][]
  2. #1377869 [Core:Graphics]-CompositorManagerChild::Init assert failure because PID reused [Win][[gfx-noted]]
  3. #1380716 [Core:Graphics]-ImageBridgeChild::UpdateImageClient can use stale ImageClient / ImageBridgeChild [Uns][[gfx-noted]]
  4. #1375505 [Core:JavaScript Engine]-Improve for-in/GetIterator performance [All][]
  5. #1377004 [Core:Networking: HTTP]-TCP FastOpen trying to narrow down a bug search 2 [Uns][[necko-active]]
  6. #1378948 [Core:Widget: Win32]-Remove gIsPopupCompositingEnabled and associated goop [Uns][]
  7. #1379245 [Firefox:General]-Reduce browser.slowStartup.timeThreshold to 30 seconds [All][]
  8. #1379508 [Toolkit:WebExtensions: Frontend]-<select> dropdowns don't work in OOP popup browsers [Win][]

    Partial Landings/Diagnostic Patches:
    None

    Beta 9 -> Beta 10 Changelog +1
  1. #1378147

Nightly 56 fixes since 20170613 (Gecko 55) ~1644
Beta 55 fixes since 20170306 (Gecko 54) ~5123

*Firefox 55 Beta 11 Testday*
Nightly Blog
Release Calendar
Release Tracking
MozRegression Guide
Last edited by Josa on July 17th, 2017, 6:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

KennS

User avatar
 
Posts: 153
Joined: October 23rd, 2006, 9:13 pm

Post Posted July 16th, 2017, 7:43 am

Udated to Nightly 56a1.
After the update - Win10 reported that "something went wrong and your browser has been reset to Windows Edge"

I opened Nightly and under options selected make nightly your default, this took me to windows settings and under Browser, Nightly wasn't an option.

I closed Nightly and opened Firefox and did the make Firefox you default selection under tools, This took me (again) to the windows settings. This time under browser both Nightly and Firefox appeared. Selected Nightly and all seems good.

Not sure what happened but it was rather strange. I've never had this happen with previous version updates of Nightly.

Kenn
--
from the bottom of the rockpile

Virtual_ManPL

User avatar
 
Posts: 1913
Joined: July 24th, 2008, 5:52 am

Post Posted July 16th, 2017, 9:47 am

@ KennS - It's just Windows 10 thing... reverting settings, options and preferences,
and sometimes even uninstalling some software... ](*,)
Virtualfox persona

Are you ready for deprecation of XUL & XBL & XPCOM extensions? Not?! Try Firefox ESR

TheVisitor
 
Posts: 4452
Joined: May 13th, 2012, 10:43 am

Post Posted July 16th, 2017, 9:48 am

bug https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1379508 <-<select> dropdowns don't work in OOP popup browsers, just landed in latest m-c hourly and ForecastFox drop down still does work.

sciguyryan
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 2164
Joined: November 10th, 2004, 1:33 pm
Location: Wales

Post Posted July 16th, 2017, 9:51 am

TheVisitor wrote:bug https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1379508 <-<select> dropdowns don't work in OOP popup browsers, just landed in latest m-c hourly and ForecastFox drop down still does work.


Double check to ensure that the nightly/hourly you are using has the patch. It can take a while for the versions to build, you can check this in about:buildconfig.
Visit My Blog if you want to hear more.

Ryan Jones

TheVisitor
 
Posts: 4452
Joined: May 13th, 2012, 10:43 am

Post Posted July 16th, 2017, 9:52 am

sciguyryan wrote:
TheVisitor wrote:bug https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1379508 <-<select> dropdowns don't work in OOP popup browsers, just landed in latest m-c hourly and ForecastFox drop down still does work.


Double check to ensure that the nightly/hourly you are using has the patch. It can take a while for the versions to build, you can check this in about:buildconfig.



I've been testing with m-c builds for years.. I am pretty confident that the build I downloaded/installed IS/DOES contain the patch.

streetwolf

User avatar
 
Posts: 2150
Joined: August 21st, 2011, 8:07 am
Location: NJ (USA)

Post Posted July 16th, 2017, 11:33 am

TheVisitor wrote:bug https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1379508 <-<select> dropdowns don't work in OOP popup browsers, just landed in latest m-c hourly and ForecastFox drop down still does work.


See my comments in the bug report. There are still issues which IMO need to be addressed.

ForecastFox fixed still has problems. I'm sure plenty of other WE add-ons will suffer as a result of the patch in question.

Filed Bug https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1381337.
Intel Core i7-8700K CPU @ 5.1GHz | Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 7 | Corsair 1000W PSU | Corsair H115i CPU Cooler | Corsair 64GB RAM @ 3.7GHz | EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 11GB | Dual ASUS PA249Q 24" LCDs | 2-512GB Samsung 960 PRO M.2 | 4TB WD Black | 2TB Seagate | Windows 10 Pro x64 | FIOS 1Gb

TheVisitor
 
Posts: 4452
Joined: May 13th, 2012, 10:43 am

Post Posted July 16th, 2017, 12:53 pm

streetwolf wrote:
TheVisitor wrote:bug https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1379508 <-<select> dropdowns don't work in OOP popup browsers, just landed in latest m-c hourly and ForecastFox drop down still does work.


See my comments in the bug report. There are still issues which IMO need to be addressed.

ForecastFox fixed still has problems. I'm sure plenty of other WE add-ons will suffer as a result of the patch in question.

Filed Bug https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1381337.


Thanks, set it to NEW..

marty60
 
Posts: 470
Joined: March 21st, 2012, 7:09 am

Post Posted July 16th, 2017, 8:38 pm

Does anyone know what's going on with these latest builds? All I'm getting is a big messed up screen:

http://postimg.org/image/z4wr58fdh/

It doesn't matter if browser.photon.structure.enabled or multi-process is enabled or not. Must be something new that landed that doesn't work very well on Windows 7.

Alice0775

User avatar
 
Posts: 2576
Joined: October 26th, 2007, 11:25 pm
Location: OSAKA JPN

Post Posted July 16th, 2017, 10:33 pm

marty60 wrote:Does anyone know what's going on with these latest builds? All I'm getting is a big messed up screen:

http://postimg.org/image/z4wr58fdh/

It doesn't matter if browser.photon.structure.enabled or multi-process is enabled or not. Must be something new that landed that doesn't work very well on Windows 7.


looks like
[*]#1380629 [Core:Widget: Win32]-In latest nightly switching to the classical theme in Windows 7 breaks user interface for Firefox [Win]

marty60
 
Posts: 470
Joined: March 21st, 2012, 7:09 am

Post Posted July 17th, 2017, 5:33 am

Figured it was Windows 7-related since no one else was having the issue. 52esr has problems on Windows 7 too that XP doesn't like choppy flash and scrolling. 45esr was the last decent version for it.

sciguyryan
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 2164
Joined: November 10th, 2004, 1:33 pm
Location: Wales

Post Posted July 17th, 2017, 5:38 am

Looks like Advanced Layers is doing to be enabled for users on Windows 7 soon. It's already enabled for Windows 8 and above. See here.
Visit My Blog if you want to hear more.

Ryan Jones

Josa
 
Posts: 2704
Joined: July 28th, 2009, 4:52 pm

Post Posted July 17th, 2017, 6:31 am


Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests