MozillaZine

Where is the address bar???

User Help for Seamonkey and Mozilla Suite
BASER
 
Posts: 7
Joined: July 22nd, 2017, 10:04 am

Post Posted July 22nd, 2017, 10:13 am

There is no menu to bring it back whatsoever and even reinstalling SeaMonkey didn't change anything.
Congratulations to the developers for this unbelievable bug.


http://i5.imageban.ru/out/2017/07/22/e7 ... dea86c.png
Last edited by James on July 22nd, 2017, 1:52 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Reason: image was far to wide at 1920x1080 and broke forum layout. Please use thumbnail link or smaller image with img tags.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 117770
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted July 22nd, 2017, 11:34 am

What version of SeaMonkey are you using? Because if you are using the current release version, which is 2.46, I think you may have overlooked something; like menu path View->Show/Hide->Menu Bar.

hardys
 
Posts: 76
Joined: August 7th, 2015, 9:15 am

Post Posted July 22nd, 2017, 11:48 am

In windows press Alt -> a -> z -> n

BASER
 
Posts: 7
Joined: July 22nd, 2017, 10:04 am

Post Posted July 22nd, 2017, 11:53 am

Ι edited the initial post to add the screenshot which I forgot.
The version is the latest one 2.46.

@hardys
That Alt -> a -> z -> n doesn't work.

This is certainly a bug.

BASER
 
Posts: 7
Joined: July 22nd, 2017, 10:04 am

Post Posted July 22nd, 2017, 11:59 am

OK, with Alt+a I think, the menu appeared, but not the address bar.
I'm trying now to figure out how to make it appear.

EDIT: Show/hide navigation toolbar, done. Thanks.

Still, reappearing the menu+address bar, if you accidentally hit that shortcut combination and hide it as I did, cannot be done if you don't know the shortcut.
That's a serious usability bug.
Last edited by BASER on July 22nd, 2017, 12:03 pm, edited 2 times in total.

hardys
 
Posts: 76
Joined: August 7th, 2015, 9:15 am

Post Posted July 22nd, 2017, 12:01 pm

Try Alt -> a -> z -> m
German version of Seamonkey, maybe different in other language.

BASER
 
Posts: 7
Joined: July 22nd, 2017, 10:04 am

Post Posted July 22nd, 2017, 12:11 pm

I figured out that (in the English version) you have to hold Alt down, then
for menu strike v, w, e sequentially, and
for navigation bar v, w, n sequentially.

hardys
 
Posts: 76
Joined: August 7th, 2015, 9:15 am

Post Posted July 22nd, 2017, 12:17 pm

Good to see, it works now :D

frg
 
Posts: 432
Joined: December 15th, 2015, 1:20 pm

Post Posted July 22nd, 2017, 1:33 pm

F10 should also show the menu bar.

James
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 27090
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted July 22nd, 2017, 2:00 pm

BASER wrote:This is certainly a bug.

The SM 2.46 has been out for months and you have been the first to claim a missing Location bar as a bug with 2.46

BASER wrote:OK, with Alt+a I think, the menu appeared, but not the address bar.
I'm trying now to figure out how to make it appear.

EDIT: Show/hide navigation toolbar, done. Thanks.

Still, reappearing the menu+address bar, if you accidentally hit that shortcut combination and hide it as I did, cannot be done if you don't know the shortcut.
That's a serious usability bug.

Besides using keyboard shortcuts you can also try right-click on the bars and check any bars that are uncheacked or look in Customize when something goes missing.

ElTxolo

User avatar
 
Posts: 2242
Joined: July 30th, 2007, 9:35 am
Location: Localhost

Post Posted July 23rd, 2017, 6:35 am

BASER wrote:.... Congratulations to the developers for this unbelievable bug.

    Image







    :-"
How to Ask Questions The Smart Way - How to Report Bugs Effectively ;)
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:52.0) Gecko/20171015 SeaMonkey/2.49.1
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:54.0) Gecko/20170619 SeaMonkey/2.51

BASER
 
Posts: 7
Joined: July 22nd, 2017, 10:04 am

Post Posted July 25th, 2017, 10:38 am

ElTxolo wrote:
BASER wrote:.... Congratulations to the developers for this unbelievable bug.

    Image







    :-"

Image






:-"

James wrote:
BASER wrote:This is certainly a bug.

The SM 2.46 has been out for months and you have been the first to claim a missing Location bar as a bug with 2.46

Do I win anything? :mrgreen:


James wrote:
BASER wrote:Still, reappearing the menu+address bar, if you accidentally hit that shortcut combination and hide it as I did, cannot be done if you don't know the shortcut.
That's a serious usability bug.

Besides using keyboard shortcuts you can also try right-click on the the bars and check any bars that are uncheacked or look in Customize when something goes missing.

Thanks, my point though was not only for my case, but for the obvious usability bug:
How many users do you thing that will guess that they have to right-click on that tiny area of 10pixels width on the left?
Left-click is obvious due to the arrow, but NOT right-click.
An experienced user expects a right click on the toolbars themselves but still, he won't find the option to reappear the hidden toolbars!
That's the least SeaMonkey developers should do. Still, I consider a left-click option a must for inexperienced users.


Image

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 19433
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted July 25th, 2017, 11:12 am

BASER wrote:An experienced user expects a right click on the toolbars themselves but still, he won't find the option to reappear the hidden toolbars!

When in hole stop digging.

Right clicking on the visible toolbars to bring up the toolbar option dialog box is already precisely what happens, both for experienced and inexperienced users alike.

Incidentally, 50% of Internet browser users are not 'he'. Guess why.
Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

BASER
 
Posts: 7
Joined: July 22nd, 2017, 10:04 am

Post Posted July 25th, 2017, 11:49 am

Frank Lion wrote:
BASER wrote:An experienced user expects a right click on the toolbars themselves but still, he won't find the option to reappear the hidden toolbars!

When in hole stop digging.

Right clicking on the visible toolbars to bring up the toolbar option dialog box is already precisely what happens, both for experienced and inexperienced users alike.

No it doesn't, unless you have ESP abilities to guess that you have to right-click specifically in that tiny area on the left,
otherwise if you right-click in the huge empty space on the bar that takes the whole window length in front of your face, you'll only get this:

Image


Frank Lion wrote:Incidentally, 50% of Internet browser users are not 'he'. Guess why.
And 50% of Internet browser users are not 'she'. Guess why.
Last edited by BASER on July 25th, 2017, 11:51 am, edited 2 times in total.

isaacschemm
 
Posts: 232
Joined: January 20th, 2015, 12:29 pm

Post Posted July 25th, 2017, 11:50 am

I do think it would be nice if there was a more obvious way to bring back the menu bar after hiding it. From the menu bar it's easy to turn on the others.

One way to show the menu bar if it's hidden (on Windows) is to press Alt, just like in Internet Explorer.

Return to SeaMonkey Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests