MozillaZine

The Official 20170726 builds are out

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
DaveLewis
 
Posts: 42
Joined: November 10th, 2002, 12:26 am
Location: Tigard, OR

Post Posted July 25th, 2017, 4:41 pm

GHM113 wrote:
Yep, there is no such thing as Kaspersky task manager, I called Application control this way simply because it was the first expression that came to my mind.


Your directions were quite clear to me. I was stumped the other day because I was consistently overlooking the "View" drop-down menu where I needed to uncheck the option to "Hide Kaspersky Internet Security" executables so I wasn't able to see ffcert.exe in the list of programs until I unchecked that option. I'll blame it on low blood sugar and depressed serum caffeine levels. :lol: The fellow that I was trying to assist had KAV and he said that it doesn't have the corresponding Application Control settings as I have in KIS 2018 (I tried KIS 2017 a few days ago as well). Hopefully he'll see your comment about simply deleting ffcert.exe.

Thanks for your explanation about the purpose of ffcert.exe.

WaltS48

User avatar
 
Posts: 3445
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 9:38 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted July 25th, 2017, 5:26 pm

Firefox 55.0b12 is out.

Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:55.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/55.0 ID:20170724125308 CSet: 5ff8131b551228ca603a76e39925495d7d2a407e
Linux Desktop - AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3GHz | 8.0GB RAM | GeForce GT 630
Windows Notebook - AMD A8 7410 2.2GHz | 6.0GB RAM | AMD Radeon R5

SLK350

User avatar
 
Posts: 108
Joined: July 21st, 2011, 3:19 am

Post Posted July 26th, 2017, 5:01 am

If anyone is running the "Replace bookmark" extension, uninstall it before updating to today's nightly or it will completely mess up Firefox .
Fractal Design Define R5 Blackout * Intel Core i7 7700K @ 4,8 GHz * Asus Maximus IX Formula * G.SKILL DDR4 4x8GB PC4000 CL18 Trident Z * Samsung 960 Pro 512GB * Benq BL3201PT * ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 TI ROG Strix * Creative Soundblaster X7 * Windows 10 Pro x64 build 16251

tomatoshadow2

User avatar
 
Posts: 94
Joined: May 11th, 2017, 9:52 am

Post Posted July 26th, 2017, 5:24 am

@Streetwolf, @Omega X, do you suggest turning Webrender on or should I still wait a while?

BenYeeHua
 
Posts: 872
Joined: July 11th, 2011, 2:57 am

Post Posted July 26th, 2017, 8:51 am

Look like Flagfox just broken after update to this build, you may not want to update if you are using this add-on frequency.

The Tinsmith
 
Posts: 687
Joined: December 24th, 2011, 10:29 am

Post Posted July 26th, 2017, 9:26 am

WaltS48 wrote:
Linux Nightly is out, but it crashed on restarting after update.



Two questions about the 'no restart"

Do you still get one?

Did you have Webrender enabled?

I did not have either yesterday. Today I enabled Webrender and later the update did not restart.

Win 10 64bit - Firefox Nightly 64bit.

bjherbison
 
Posts: 704
Joined: October 6th, 2003, 5:40 am
Location: Bolton, MA, US

Post Posted July 26th, 2017, 11:37 am

The Tinsmith wrote:
WaltS48 wrote:
Linux Nightly is out, but it crashed on restarting after update.

Two questions about the 'no restart"
Do you still get one?
Did you have Webrender enabled?

I did not have either yesterday. Today I enabled Webrender and later the update did not restart.
Win 10 64bit - Firefox Nightly 64bit.

I'm not WaltS48, but I'm also having Nightly hang on shutdown (which leads to no restart after an update).

WaltS48 and I are both running Linux, and the specific hang crashes we see have Linux specific forced crashes. There may be a corresponding Windows problem but I haven't tried to find them.

To answer your specific questions: I still had the hang on shutdown problem this morning. I don't have Webrender enabled.

The Tinsmith
 
Posts: 687
Joined: December 24th, 2011, 10:29 am

Post Posted July 26th, 2017, 12:17 pm

To answer your specific questions: I still had the hang on shutdown problem this morning. I don't have Webrender enabled.


Thanks for the info. I used Linux for a while some time ago. Mandriva then Mangia then Fedora.

What ever the distros did to their releases they always worked. They solved all of the dependencies. But they usually did not work as well. IMHO.

And the Mozilla ones almost always had problems with some mismatched libraries. :-)

Webrender is a little system intense. Lots of resources and some embedded videos don't play. For me.

WaltS48

User avatar
 
Posts: 3445
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 9:38 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted July 26th, 2017, 4:05 pm

The Tinsmith wrote:
WaltS48 wrote:
Linux Nightly is out, but it crashed on restarting after update.



Two questions about the 'no restart"

Do you still get one?

Did you have Webrender enabled?

I did not have either yesterday. Today I enabled Webrender and later the update did not restart.

Win 10 64bit - Firefox Nightly 64bit.


Yes, with today's update.

https://crash-stats.mozilla.com/report/ ... e6c0170726

No Webrender isn't enabled.

I don't have the problem with Thunderbird Daily 56.0a1.
Linux Desktop - AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3GHz | 8.0GB RAM | GeForce GT 630
Windows Notebook - AMD A8 7410 2.2GHz | 6.0GB RAM | AMD Radeon R5

The Tinsmith
 
Posts: 687
Joined: December 24th, 2011, 10:29 am

Post Posted July 26th, 2017, 4:18 pm

No Webrender isn't enabled.



Well it was a thought. :-)

As for TBird Daily? Today's update broke Enigmail. For me.

dsmith
 
Posts: 214
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 1:00 pm

Post Posted July 26th, 2017, 5:16 pm

So, the last few days Firefox seems to be having some startup issues. It's heavily spiking CPU usage for 30 (clean, temp profile) to 60 (main profile) seconds, where UI is fairly unresponsive during that time.

It might be associated with a recent full reinstall of Firefox. I tried uninstalling everything, then installing the 64-bit version, but had issues, so uninstalled that and went back to the 32-bit version.

Anyone else noticing this problem?

dsmith
 
Posts: 214
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 1:00 pm

Post Posted July 26th, 2017, 7:37 pm

Also, have been having frequent issues of the cursor not changing to the hand icon when over a link. It stays the standard pointer arrow.

Thought it might have been related to an addon, but that addon has been removed, and it's still happening.

Alice0775

User avatar
 
Posts: 2573
Joined: October 26th, 2007, 11:25 pm
Location: OSAKA JPN

Post Posted July 27th, 2017, 12:04 am

dsmith wrote:Also, have been having frequent issues of the cursor not changing to the hand icon when over a link. It stays the standard pointer arrow.

Thought it might have been related to an addon, but that addon has been removed, and it's still happening.


yep
[*]#1383485 [Core:DOM: Events]-Mouse pointer wrong shape when link opens new tab [Uns]

GHM113

User avatar
 
Posts: 663
Joined: December 16th, 2015, 3:59 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Post Posted July 27th, 2017, 12:50 am

Create new profile, click on the arrow down in the url bar - it doesn't work. Set browser.urlbar.maxRichResults to 100, make sure you have more than 100 history entries, click on arrow down in the url bar - dropdown menu is rendered but you can't scroll it.

I guess that's a known bug but I can't find it on bugzilla.
I am an idiot. Sorry for my poor English. Current list of config tweaks: https://pastebin.com/1dCT4Cvp

mak77
 
Posts: 262
Joined: April 3rd, 2006, 4:51 pm
Location: Italy

Post Posted July 27th, 2017, 12:55 am

GHM113 wrote:Create new profile, click on the arrow down in the url bar - it doesn't work. Set browser.urlbar.maxRichResults to 100, make sure you have more than 100 history entries, click on arrow down in the url bar - dropdown menu is rendered but you can't scroll it.


The scrollbar from the location bar popup has been removed because it was flickering like crazy, and in general we don't want a scrollbar per design directions. Now the popup sizes accordingly to maxRichResults. The "tens of results" case is now unsupported.

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dbcooper.dk and 3 guests