MozillaZine

The Official 20170809 builds are out

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
Edds

User avatar
 
Posts: 313
Joined: July 21st, 2010, 1:13 pm
Location: SVK

Post Posted August 8th, 2017, 5:34 pm

Funny, Firefox Nightly 55, 56 shows the same font as latest Firefox Nightly 57, but Firefox 56 beta or 55 stable shows the same font as Chrome or Edge. So only difference is in Nightly, no matter number version. It has to be some at least a few months old setting which is valid only for Nightly.
No custom font settings.
PC: CPU: Core i7 6700K@4.6Ghz, MB: MSI Z270 GAMING M7, VGA: MSI GTX 1080 GAMING X, RAM: 16GB DDR4 Corsair, SSD: Samsung 850 EVO 500GB, OS: W10 x64
NB: CPU: Core i3 4030U@1.9Ghz, VGA: Intel HD4400, RAM: 4GB DDR3, SSHD: Seagate 500GB, OS: W10 x64 Phone: LG G4 Android 6.0

1for-matik

User avatar
 
Posts: 90
Joined: August 9th, 2006, 5:05 am
Location: France

Post Posted August 8th, 2017, 7:15 pm

Edds wrote:Funny, Firefox Nightly 55, 56 shows the same font as latest Firefox Nightly 57, but Firefox 56 beta or 55 stable shows the same font as Chrome or Edge. So only difference is in Nightly, no matter number version. It has to be some at least a few months old setting which is valid only for Nightly.
No custom font settings.

That's because the Google Roboto font isn't W3C valid for downloadable webfonts, so Firefox Nightly (which respect the W3C recommendations) doesn't render the Roboto font.

Toggle the pref gfx.downloadable_fonts.otl_validation to false solve the problem.

mdew

User avatar
 
Posts: 339
Joined: March 2nd, 2005, 2:34 am

Post Posted August 9th, 2017, 1:39 am

Just question, Is there a replacement for context search as a webext?

Virtual_ManPL

User avatar
 
Posts: 1899
Joined: July 24th, 2008, 5:52 am

Post Posted August 9th, 2017, 1:58 am

Edds wrote:Why is the font different in Nightly? I mean, Youtube video titles should be bold as in every other browser.
Image

There are some cases when a font face is like a completely different.
Let's hope that the Firefox will never ever get this awful blurry Chromium font text rendering... [-o<
Virtualfox persona

Are you ready for deprecation of XUL & XBL & XPCOM extensions? Not?! Try Firefox ESR

k3m3
 
Posts: 37
Joined: May 20th, 2009, 6:22 am

Post Posted August 9th, 2017, 3:21 am

mdew wrote:Just question, Is there a replacement for context search as a webext?

Last night's build broke Context search X, so I found a replacement called Quick Context Search, it is a legacy ext as well, but works fine for the moment.

Edds

User avatar
 
Posts: 313
Joined: July 21st, 2010, 1:13 pm
Location: SVK

Post Posted August 9th, 2017, 3:37 am

1for-matik wrote:Toggle the pref gfx.downloadable_fonts.otl_validation to false solve the problem.

yes! solved, thank you

Virtual_ManPL wrote:Let's hope that the Firefox will never ever get this awful blurry Chromium font text rendering... [-o<

Well, in Firefox Beta and Stable versions it is the same as in Chrome.
PC: CPU: Core i7 6700K@4.6Ghz, MB: MSI Z270 GAMING M7, VGA: MSI GTX 1080 GAMING X, RAM: 16GB DDR4 Corsair, SSD: Samsung 850 EVO 500GB, OS: W10 x64
NB: CPU: Core i3 4030U@1.9Ghz, VGA: Intel HD4400, RAM: 4GB DDR3, SSHD: Seagate 500GB, OS: W10 x64 Phone: LG G4 Android 6.0

SAJewers
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 205
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 2:26 pm
Location: HRM, Nova Scotia

Post Posted August 9th, 2017, 5:33 am

For those who don't want to wait for an update, here's a manual fix/workaround for Noscript
Firefox and Thunderbird Trunk Buildertester.

megamanx
 
Posts: 104
Joined: April 6th, 2011, 8:35 am

Post Posted August 9th, 2017, 6:58 am

56 Beta is already on their Build 5? Wow! They worked fast.

Rodze
 
Posts: 601
Joined: October 5th, 2006, 2:54 pm

Post Posted August 9th, 2017, 7:06 am

Why has my Android Nightly become an ugly version of Chrome?

Anyone know which bug I can read to laugh at the "discussion" that promoted this change? Thx.
Last edited by Rodze on August 9th, 2017, 7:11 am, edited 1 time in total.

Aris

User avatar
 
Posts: 3020
Joined: February 27th, 2011, 10:14 am

Post Posted August 9th, 2017, 7:07 am

megamanx wrote:56 Beta is already on their Build 5? Wow! They worked fast.


56 Beta 1 build 5. :wink:
Customize Firefox 57+ UI || Classic Theme Restorer (Fx 29-56) || Classic Toolbar Buttons || CustomizeMyBird

How to use legacy add-ons after Firefox 57 release? Switch to Firefox 52 ESR or move to Waterfox 55.x.

megamanx
 
Posts: 104
Joined: April 6th, 2011, 8:35 am

Post Posted August 9th, 2017, 7:24 am

Aris wrote:56 Beta 1 build 5. :wink:

Ah, right, I forgot to add the "1" to Beta. Still astounding to me. :)
I'm not up-to-date that often. :)

Edds

User avatar
 
Posts: 313
Joined: July 21st, 2010, 1:13 pm
Location: SVK

Post Posted August 9th, 2017, 7:28 am

If you navigate to Hamburger menu - Library - History - Scroll down to recent history what is the intended behaviour there ? Because nothing is happening when I click on a page from history.
edit:
The same for Library - Bookmarks
PC: CPU: Core i7 6700K@4.6Ghz, MB: MSI Z270 GAMING M7, VGA: MSI GTX 1080 GAMING X, RAM: 16GB DDR4 Corsair, SSD: Samsung 850 EVO 500GB, OS: W10 x64
NB: CPU: Core i3 4030U@1.9Ghz, VGA: Intel HD4400, RAM: 4GB DDR3, SSHD: Seagate 500GB, OS: W10 x64 Phone: LG G4 Android 6.0

GHM113

User avatar
 
Posts: 617
Joined: December 16th, 2015, 3:59 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Post Posted August 9th, 2017, 7:41 am

@Edds Same here. Looks like a bug.
I am an idiot. Sorry for my poor English. Current list of config tweaks: https://pastebin.com/1dCT4Cvp

TheVisitor
 
Posts: 4359
Joined: May 13th, 2012, 10:43 am

Post Posted August 9th, 2017, 7:48 am

Same here, mid-click works from the Show all History, nothing anywhere else. I see no errors in the 'browser console'...

TheVisitor
 
Posts: 4359
Joined: May 13th, 2012, 10:43 am

Post Posted August 9th, 2017, 7:50 am

Using the Compact LIght theme - open the Options panel - the text for the tabs is too dark on a dark background. *sigh*

Maybe broken by https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1361957

EDIT: I'm using the 'override' to go back to 'old' options... OK with the New design page.

EDIT: Meh! now I can't remember what pref I flipped LOL Oh - browser.preferences.useOldOrganization
Last edited by TheVisitor on August 9th, 2017, 8:02 am, edited 3 times in total.

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests