MozillaZine

The Official 20170813 builds are out

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
BruceAWittmeier

User avatar
 
Posts: 2625
Joined: June 9th, 2008, 10:53 am
Location: Near 37.501685 -80.147967

Post Posted August 13th, 2017, 4:54 am

Can anyone edit/add/delete tiles on the about:newtab page?
~ I'm only here to Pay it Forward. ~

"I often take a very long windy road to my destination. When I arrive I often wonder how I missed the shortcut".

ashleylai87
 
Posts: 127
Joined: December 13th, 2013, 7:40 pm

Post Posted August 13th, 2017, 5:26 am

Gusar wrote:
ashleylai87 wrote:Is there any method to have even more compact theme than the 'compact' density option in Customize? :(

Only with userChrome.css

Learn how to create that file if you're not already familiar with it, the put the following in it:
Code: Select all
@namespace url("http://www.mozilla.org/keymaster/gatekeeper/there.is.only.xul");

:root[uidensity=compact] {
  --toolbarbutton-inner-padding: 3px !important;
  --tab-min-height: 23px !important;
}

.tab-content,
.tab-content[pinned] {
  padding: 0 6px !important;
}
 
.tabs-newtab-button {
  width: 24px !important;
}

:root[uidensity=compact] #urlbar,
:root[uidensity=compact] .searchbar-textbox {
  min-height: 22px !important;
  margin-top: 1px !important;
  margin-bottom: 0 !important;
}

The above is what looks good to me, you can play with the numbers to go even more compact, --toolbarbutton-inner-padding controls button size (the original value for compact density is 5px, I shrunk it down to 3px), the other stuff should be self-explanatory.



Bravo, this is exactly what I need in preparation for webextension apocalypse in upcoming version 57 after CTR ceased to work. =D>

Thank you very much. :-D

Now then.....I shall be preparing for FireGesture alternative......

Edds

User avatar
 
Posts: 321
Joined: July 21st, 2010, 1:13 pm
Location: SVK

Post Posted August 13th, 2017, 5:28 am

BruceAWittmeier wrote:Can anyone edit/add/delete tiles on the about:newtab page?

nope, I suggest browser.newtabpage.activity-stream.enabled - false
PC: CPU: Core i7 6700K@4.6Ghz, MB: MSI Z270 GAMING M7, VGA: MSI GTX 1080 GAMING X, RAM: 16GB DDR4 Corsair, SSD: Samsung 850 EVO 500GB, OS: W10 x64
NB: CPU: Core i3 4030U@1.9Ghz, VGA: Intel HD4400, RAM: 4GB DDR3, SSHD: Seagate 500GB, OS: W10 x64 Phone: LG G4 Android 6.0

Gusar
 
Posts: 196
Joined: March 17th, 2006, 1:52 pm

Post Posted August 13th, 2017, 5:43 am

ashleylai87 wrote:Now then.....I shall be preparing for FireGesture alternative......

Ha, you and me both. Foxy Gestures and Gesturefy are candidates. However, I'm on Linux, which means I won't get anywhere until bug 1360278 is taken care of. Which might take a while...

Also, because bug 1246706 is WONTFIXed, all gesture extensions are basically big giant hacks, none of them will be able to come even close to FireGestures. All we can do is hope that at least one of them will work satisfactorily.
Last edited by Gusar on August 13th, 2017, 8:47 am, edited 2 times in total.

Anleck
 
Posts: 98
Joined: March 5th, 2011, 6:38 pm

Post Posted August 13th, 2017, 6:11 am

dbcooper.dk wrote:If you use a compact theme (or select compact density in Customize), the Ublock Origin icon will be pushed into the overflow menu if it is placed next to the hamburger menu icon. Won't happen with normal density.

Gusar wrote:
Virtual_ManPL wrote:No problem here, maybe just take out uBlock Orgin icon and place it again.

It happens when you have "Show the number of blocked requests on the icon" activated, the icon will disappear into the overflow menu when the number appears.


Code: Select all
:root[uidensity=compact] {
  --toolbarbutton-inner-padding: 6px !important;
}

:root {
  --toolbarbutton-inner-padding: 6px !important;
}


To have the uBlock/uMatrix icons displayed with the number of blocked requests, requires an inner-padding of 6 (compact or not). Less than 6 and the icons will be pushed to the overflow menu (compact or not).

Edit: As mentioned earlier, having say the download icon between the uBlock/uMatrix icons and the overflow/hamburger menus also stops them being pushed to overflow - and allows smaller inner-padding values.
Last edited by Anleck on August 13th, 2017, 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.

tauio111
 
Posts: 16
Joined: August 12th, 2017, 8:52 am

Post Posted August 13th, 2017, 6:55 am

Image

There we go again

Geobomatic

User avatar
 
Posts: 47
Joined: May 16th, 2015, 9:04 am

Post Posted August 13th, 2017, 7:12 am

Is there a way to make the address bar to always open a new tab? (I'm aware of Alt-Enter but I'd like to open tab on Enter only)

WaltS48

User avatar
 
Posts: 3450
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 9:38 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted August 13th, 2017, 7:15 am

BruceAWittmeier wrote:Can anyone edit/add/delete tiles on the about:newtab page?


Do you mean use the context menu that shows up when you hover the mouse over a tile and click the three dot button that appears?

I can Dismiss a tile, but not add one.

Haven't tried on Windows.
Linux Desktop - AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3GHz | 8.0GB RAM | GeForce GT 630
Windows Notebook - AMD A8 7410 2.2GHz | 6.0GB RAM | AMD Radeon R5

GHM113

User avatar
 
Posts: 673
Joined: December 16th, 2015, 3:59 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Post Posted August 13th, 2017, 7:29 am

Edds wrote:And benefit will be where ? "better" UI responsiveness ?

High priority input events should reduce jank. More info here:
https://ehsanakhgari.org/blog/2017-06-0 ... sletter-11
I am an idiot. Sorry for my poor English. Current list of config tweaks: https://pastebin.com/1dCT4Cvp

BruceAWittmeier

User avatar
 
Posts: 2625
Joined: June 9th, 2008, 10:53 am
Location: Near 37.501685 -80.147967

Post Posted August 13th, 2017, 7:40 am

Edds wrote:
BruceAWittmeier wrote:Can anyone edit/add/delete tiles on the about:newtab page?

nope, I suggest browser.newtabpage.activity-stream.enabled - false


Thank you. After your suggest change and restart I got back the old about:newtab page. I could make changes to it, then change back, restart again and they appear on the new format. Interesting.
~ I'm only here to Pay it Forward. ~

"I often take a very long windy road to my destination. When I arrive I often wonder how I missed the shortcut".

BruceAWittmeier

User avatar
 
Posts: 2625
Joined: June 9th, 2008, 10:53 am
Location: Near 37.501685 -80.147967

Post Posted August 13th, 2017, 7:42 am

WaltS48 wrote:
BruceAWittmeier wrote:Can anyone edit/add/delete tiles on the about:newtab page?


Do you mean use the context menu that shows up when you hover the mouse over a tile and click the three dot button that appears?

I can Dismiss a tile, but not add one.

Haven't tried on Windows.


I can't do anything with the about:newtab page in the new format. I can reset the element as Edds suggests, restart, modify, restart and the changes show in the new format.

I am on Windows 10 by the way.
~ I'm only here to Pay it Forward. ~

"I often take a very long windy road to my destination. When I arrive I often wonder how I missed the shortcut".

WaltS48

User avatar
 
Posts: 3450
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 9:38 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted August 13th, 2017, 8:22 am

@BruceAWittmeier

Works the same way for me in my Win10 Nightly as it does in my Linux Nightly.

Hover the mouse over a tile
Click the circle with the three dots
Context menu appears with Pin, Open in a New Window, Open in a New Private Windows, Dismiss and Delete from History
Linux Desktop - AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3GHz | 8.0GB RAM | GeForce GT 630
Windows Notebook - AMD A8 7410 2.2GHz | 6.0GB RAM | AMD Radeon R5

pgm_01
 
Posts: 9
Joined: September 16th, 2013, 7:30 am

Post Posted August 13th, 2017, 8:24 am

tauio111 wrote:Image

There we go again


That's the old logo from when Firefox was called Phoenix and then Firebird. I actually remember when that was the logo, it would have been around 2002.

Are You A Wiiizard?
 
Posts: 202
Joined: August 30th, 2012, 4:27 am

Post Posted August 13th, 2017, 8:29 am

pgm_01 wrote:
tauio111 wrote:Image

There we go again


That's the old logo from when Firefox was called Phoenix and then Firebird. I actually remember when that was the logo, it would have been around 2002.


At this point I wouldn't be surprised if Mozilla decide to rename Firefox to Phoenix or Firebird...

BruceAWittmeier

User avatar
 
Posts: 2625
Joined: June 9th, 2008, 10:53 am
Location: Near 37.501685 -80.147967

Post Posted August 13th, 2017, 9:04 am

WaltS48 - but how do you add/delete/modify the contents of the about:newtab window? I don't see any options on the entire page. I wanted to change where one pointed but could not modify -- had to revert to old version, mod, revert back to make it update.

My mistake. I thought I could edit the previous -- but it was just a matter of replacing the link.

Turns out the current Tab Mix Plus conflicts with the tiles page causing them to not show with TMP enabled. I reported to onemen.
Last edited by BruceAWittmeier on August 13th, 2017, 10:20 am, edited 1 time in total.
~ I'm only here to Pay it Forward. ~

"I often take a very long windy road to my destination. When I arrive I often wonder how I missed the shortcut".

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests