MozillaZine

The Official 20170819 builds are out

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
ICQ5

User avatar
 
Posts: 1275
Joined: April 11th, 2014, 7:34 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia

Post Posted August 18th, 2017, 5:28 pm

1for-matik wrote:
ICQ5 wrote:i can see the point but if Mozilla were " confident " enough in the fact 57 will be the New an improved Firefox im sure they'd remove that string an force people to look for WebExtensions
Maybe it's because the pref is only on nightly channel to help developers converting their addons?

That pref trick to enable legacy extension will not be on beta or stable channel and will be deleted soon on nightly (maybe 58 ?)

no idea, but if one rtemembers Australis was supposed to come out in firefox4 if i recall, that got delayed, so with Mozilla anything is likely to happen

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 19357
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted August 18th, 2017, 5:43 pm

1for-matik wrote:That pref trick to enable legacy extension will not be on beta or stable channel and will be deleted soon on nightly (maybe 58 ?)

Although you are writing that as though it's a statement of fact, it is actually your opinion of what you think might happen, isn't it?

Think about it, some of the existing 'conversions' have taken well over 6 months to write. Then consider that some required APIs for others don't even exist yet. So, how's that going to work? API released in October and developer has a couple of months to convert at which point Mozilla pulls the plug on the pref?

Don't forget, Mozilla is in no position to lay down the law to devs on this stuff or they will be promptly told to '**** off and make it yourself, then', by many devs who don't want to waste time on this stuff anyway.
Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

mdew

User avatar
 
Posts: 339
Joined: March 2nd, 2005, 2:34 am

Post Posted August 18th, 2017, 7:32 pm

Still seems mozilla are ignoring my bug regarding tinderbox builds, not a peep said.

ICQ5

User avatar
 
Posts: 1275
Joined: April 11th, 2014, 7:34 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia

Post Posted August 18th, 2017, 7:55 pm

mdew wrote:Still seems mozilla are ignoring my bug regarding tinderbox builds, not a peep said.

there's a new spot to get them now i think its called " Taskcluster " ask or PM TheVisitor "

GHM113

User avatar
 
Posts: 617
Joined: December 16th, 2015, 3:59 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Post Posted August 18th, 2017, 11:59 pm

mozian wrote:
GHM113 wrote:Legacy addons published on AMO can no longer be installed in Nightly. Is there an easy workaround?

extensions.legacy.enabled = true

Unfortunately, the problem is more serious: I have extensions.legacy.enabled set to true and I can't install any legacy addon from AMO because of the warning "this add-on is not compatible with your version of Firefox". I also can't update any legacy extension using about:addons.

It looks like Mozilla decided to mark all legacy addons on AMO as incompatible with FF57. The only solution I found is to download .xpi from AMO using Firefox 56 and then install it from hard drive in Nightly.
I am an idiot. Sorry for my poor English. Current list of config tweaks: https://pastebin.com/1dCT4Cvp

Mupasa
 
Posts: 15
Joined: May 22nd, 2017, 12:53 pm

Post Posted August 19th, 2017, 12:55 am

Whats happening with uMatrix/webext on moz-extension:// scheme? Icon hidding on several seconds that very annoying.

mdew

User avatar
 
Posts: 339
Joined: March 2nd, 2005, 2:34 am

Post Posted August 19th, 2017, 2:45 am

ICQ5 wrote:
mdew wrote:Still seems mozilla are ignoring my bug regarding tinderbox builds, not a peep said.

there's a new spot to get them now i think its called " Taskcluster " ask or PM TheVisitor "


Did PM him, no response so far.

1for-matik

User avatar
 
Posts: 90
Joined: August 9th, 2006, 5:05 am
Location: France

Post Posted August 19th, 2017, 4:39 am

Frank Lion wrote:
1for-matik wrote:That pref trick to enable legacy extension will not be on beta or stable channel and will be deleted soon on nightly (maybe 58 ?)

Although you are writing that as though it's a statement of fact, it is actually your opinion of what you think might happen, isn't it?
That legacy extensions will be disabled in nightly : a thought, in fact : not planned.
But in beta/stable channel : it's a fact (https://wiki.mozilla.org/Add-ons/Webextensions_Cutover/Testplan) and with no pref to reactivate them.

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 19357
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted August 19th, 2017, 5:02 am

1for-matik wrote:But in beta/stable channel : it's a fact

Yep, we all knew that - I should have edited that bit out of the quote, as I was referring solely to the Nightly position.
Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

BruceAWittmeier

User avatar
 
Posts: 2617
Joined: June 9th, 2008, 10:53 am
Location: Near 37.501685 -80.147967

Post Posted August 19th, 2017, 5:58 am

Peja Stija wrote:Q: Can opening a specific website in Firefox really make your COMPUTER hard crash ? (BSOD can be reproduced as much as I want)

My internet provider's homepage is now ALWAYS crashing my whole system (atikmpag.sys driver crash due to graphics driver timeout and not able to restart in time), constantly, in all flavors of firefox, stable, nightly, even Cyberfox.
Hardware Acceleration = Enabled.

When I restart firefox with Add-ons disabled, or use a different browser (Vivaldi) it doesn't crash.

P.S. Atikmpag.sys = display driver of my notebook's ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5650 graphics card.


You are apparently not the only one.
https://www.google.com/search?q=atikmpa ... 8&oe=utf-8

I'm sure you know this but...let Windows search for you.

Right click "MyComputer"
Select "Manage"
Click "Device Manager"

Double click "Display Adapters"
Right click "AMD Adapter"

Select "Update driver software"
Select "Search automatically for updated software"
~ I'm only here to Pay it Forward. ~

"I often take a very long windy road to my destination. When I arrive I often wonder how I missed the shortcut".

streetwolf

User avatar
 
Posts: 2093
Joined: August 21st, 2011, 8:07 am
Location: NJ (USA)

Post Posted August 19th, 2017, 6:30 am

mdew wrote:
ICQ5 wrote:
mdew wrote:Still seems mozilla are ignoring my bug regarding tinderbox builds, not a peep said.

there's a new spot to get them now i think its called " Taskcluster " ask or PM TheVisitor "


Did PM him, no response so far.


Get the former Tinderbox builds here...... https://tools.taskcluster.net/index/art ... t.firefox/
Intel i7 Quad Core 3770K @ 5Ghz|ASUS P8Z77-V Deluxe|Corsair 1050W PSU|Corsair H100iV2 CPU Cooler|Corsair 16GB RAM|Sapphire Nitro R9 390 8GB|DUAL ASUS PA249Q IPS 24" LCDs|Samsung SSD 830, 840 256GB|2TB Seagate|Windows 10 Pro x64|AMD Crimson 17.10.1|FIOS 1Gb Internet

WaltS48

User avatar
 
Posts: 3399
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 9:38 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted August 19th, 2017, 6:40 am

Anybody get an official update to 56.0b4 yet?

I'm clicking Help > About Firefox and being told 56.0b3 is up to date. Again.
Linux Desktop - AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3GHz | 8.0GB RAM | GeForce GT 630
Windows Notebook - AMD A8 7410 2.2GHz | 6.0GB RAM | AMD Radeon R5

mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 8938
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted August 19th, 2017, 6:42 am

Nope, same here on Windows.
#KeepFightingMichael

Josa
 
Posts: 2591
Joined: July 28th, 2009, 4:52 pm

Post Posted August 19th, 2017, 7:04 am


Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests