MozillaZine

Bookmarks menu

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
smcc
 
Posts: 27
Joined: July 29th, 2008, 3:33 am
Location: Scotland

Post Posted August 21st, 2017, 8:11 am

Until recently my bookmarks menu appeared as a floating panel when my mouse hovered over the bookmarks icon in the toolbar. Suddenly I require to click on the icon and the the bookmarks menu appears as a side panel which has to be closed to allow the url to open in full screen. What is the reason for this?

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 37487
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted August 21st, 2017, 9:22 am

Moving to Firefox Support...

Have you tried Firefox' Safe Mode yet?
> http://kb.mozillazine.org/Safe_Mode
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-50.0-56.0.1/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. Conficker Test. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

Reflective

User avatar
 
Posts: 2140
Joined: February 15th, 2007, 11:13 am

Post Posted August 21st, 2017, 9:35 am

That's odd. It's never worked as a floating panel for me and it always opens in the sidebar. Been like that ever since I swittched to Firefoc in 2007.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 17548
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted August 21st, 2017, 9:58 am

An extension that provided that feature, & the extension now disabled or not working?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

smcc
 
Posts: 27
Joined: July 29th, 2008, 3:33 am
Location: Scotland

Post Posted August 21st, 2017, 10:33 am

LIMPET235 wrote:Moving to Firefox Support...

Have you tried Firefox' Safe Mode yet?
> http://kb.mozillazine.org/Safe_Mode


In Safe Mode the bookmarks menu appears below the bookmarks icon.

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 37487
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted August 21st, 2017, 11:00 am

After you hover the cursor or click the BM button?

&, Like "therube" & "Reflective" posted, I have never seen that function in the basic Firefox.

I've always had to click that BM button to see the BM's drop down.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-50.0-56.0.1/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. Conficker Test. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

smcc
 
Posts: 27
Joined: July 29th, 2008, 3:33 am
Location: Scotland

Post Posted August 21st, 2017, 11:14 am

LIMPET235 wrote:After you hover the cursor or click the BM button?

&, Like "therube" & "Reflective" posted, I have never seen that function in the basic Firefox.

I've always had to click that BM button to see the BM's drop down.


Maybe I am confused about the actual floating but the bookmarks menu definitely did appear just below the icon. Despite disabling all extensions the menu still appears in a sde bar.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 17548
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted August 21st, 2017, 11:19 am

Are you sure the "link" is a link to the "bookmarks dropdown" & not a "link" to open bookmarks in the sidebar?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

smcc
 
Posts: 27
Joined: July 29th, 2008, 3:33 am
Location: Scotland

Post Posted August 21st, 2017, 11:47 am

How can I change it to a link to drop down menu?

Grumpus

User avatar
 
Posts: 11531
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 4:23 am
Location: ... Da' Swamp

Post Posted August 21st, 2017, 12:07 pm

Open /View/Sidebar and uncheck Bookmarks.
If View does not show hit the Alt key which will make the menu bar temporarily visible.
You can then make the menu bar permanent by checking /View/Toolbars/Menu bar.

smcc
 
Posts: 27
Joined: July 29th, 2008, 3:33 am
Location: Scotland

Post Posted August 21st, 2017, 1:28 pm

Unchecking bookmarks does not get rid of the bookmarks-sidebar icon which I can't remove from the toolbar. And I don't really want the bookmarks menu bar. I want to restore bookmarks drop down icon to the toolbar.

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 52268
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted August 21st, 2017, 2:44 pm

Don't you see the combined star and "Show your bookmarks" button on the Navigation Toolbar?

Try to click "Restore Defaults" in the Customize palette if you can't find this toolbar button.

smcc
 
Posts: 27
Joined: July 29th, 2008, 3:33 am
Location: Scotland

Post Posted August 22nd, 2017, 12:28 am

The bookmarks star is on the Navigation Toolbar but it says "Bookmarks(Sidebar)".

Grumpus

User avatar
 
Posts: 11531
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 4:23 am
Location: ... Da' Swamp

Post Posted August 22nd, 2017, 4:42 am

You can hide the Bookmarks toolbar in the same manner as removing the sidebar.
If you leave the menu bar visible using the Alt key . . .
. . . then opening /View/Toolbars and checking Menu bar, Bookmarks should be there and when clicked on there should be a drop down Bookmarks menu.
It may be an extension is causing some of the confusion, have you tried Firefox in Safe Mode?

smcc
 
Posts: 27
Joined: July 29th, 2008, 3:33 am
Location: Scotland

Post Posted August 22nd, 2017, 6:41 am

I don't particularly want to hide the Bookmarks toolbar. What I really want is to be able to move the icon to the Nvigatio Toolbar but for it not to open up a Bookmarks Sidebar.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 4 guests