MozillaZine

Different outgoing email servers possible?

User Help for Seamonkey and Mozilla Suite
Peter Creasey

User avatar
 
Posts: 413
Joined: October 26th, 2007, 2:32 pm
Location: Texas

Post Posted September 1st, 2017, 9:04 am

In SeaMonkey I have 4 email accounts and they have all used smtp.att.yahoo.com as the outgoing server for years. All of a sudden this might be a problem.

Can I specify different outgoing servers for each account in SeaMonkey? Do I just use the <add> option in the outgoing server section of SeaMonkey? Is this likely to be a problem?

Any thoughts?

Thanks!
. . . . . . . . . . Pete

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 117977
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted September 1st, 2017, 10:38 am

Can I specify different outgoing servers for each account in SeaMonkey?

Yes.
Do I just use the <add> option in the outgoing server section of SeaMonkey?

Yes.
Is this likely to be a problem?

No.

isaacschemm
 
Posts: 239
Joined: January 20th, 2015, 12:29 pm

Post Posted September 1st, 2017, 1:34 pm

Here's the place where you select the outgoing server for each incoming server. (I took out the headers with the name of the email addresses.)

Image

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 117977
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted September 1st, 2017, 1:42 pm

If you haven't already created the other SMTP server definitions you will have to do that before they will appear in the dialogue displayed above.

Peter Creasey

User avatar
 
Posts: 413
Joined: October 26th, 2007, 2:32 pm
Location: Texas

Post Posted September 1st, 2017, 2:26 pm

Dan, yes, I clicked the <add> and entered the server details for each server.

It was fairly straightforward except that I had to jockey around with specifying which was the default before I could them all to work.

For some reason, it was happy with gmail set as the default rather than the yahoo and aol/compuserve.

Hopefully, it will continue to work now.
. . . . . . . . . . Pete

makaiguy

User avatar
 
Posts: 16495
Joined: November 18th, 2002, 6:44 pm
Location: Somewhere in SE USA

Post Posted September 1st, 2017, 7:38 pm

The only time your default SMTP server choice matters is when you have set the option in the image a couple of posts back to "Use default Server".
Doug Wilson, "The Makai Guy"
Win10 (64bit): FF 52.4.0 ESR (64bit), TB 52.3.0 (32bit)║ Android 7.0/7.1.1: FF 57.0, No TB for Android available, dammit!
What a fool believes he sees, no wise man has the power to reason away - Doobie Brothers

Peter Creasey

User avatar
 
Posts: 413
Joined: October 26th, 2007, 2:32 pm
Location: Texas

Post Posted September 2nd, 2017, 7:00 am

Doug, when you add an outgoing server to the list, it is marked as the default. I don't understand your point otherwise.

Thanks!
. . . . . . . . . . Pete

makaiguy

User avatar
 
Posts: 16495
Joined: November 18th, 2002, 6:44 pm
Location: Somewhere in SE USA

Post Posted September 2nd, 2017, 8:57 am

Peter Creasey wrote:Doug, when you add an outgoing server to the list, it is marked as the default.

Doesn't work that way here. When adding an additional SMTP server, the one already designated as the default stays designated as default.

I don't understand your point otherwise.

See isaacschemm's illustration below:
Image
If you set the red circled item to "Use default server", this account will use whichever of your defined SMTP servers is currently set as default. This allows you to reset what you want as your default server without having to change this setting for this account.

If you set it to a specific SMTP server, that's what the account will use no matter which of your servers is currently set as default.

This isn't of much importance for those of us today who are using SMTP servers NOT provided by our home internet providers. But if your home DSL or cable service's SMTP is what you use, and if it is configured to only accept your connection when at home and connected through their service (as many of them are -- my cable provider is set up this way), you might commonly have a number of different SMTP servers set up according to where you're traveling to. You could just switch which one you have set as the default one time, and each of your configured accounts that is set to use the default will use then SMTP server.
Doug Wilson, "The Makai Guy"
Win10 (64bit): FF 52.4.0 ESR (64bit), TB 52.3.0 (32bit)║ Android 7.0/7.1.1: FF 57.0, No TB for Android available, dammit!
What a fool believes he sees, no wise man has the power to reason away - Doobie Brothers

Peter Creasey

User avatar
 
Posts: 413
Joined: October 26th, 2007, 2:32 pm
Location: Texas

Post Posted September 3rd, 2017, 6:45 am

Doug, thanks for the follow up. You made me realize that besides the general purpose outgoing email server definitions there was a way to designate which one to use with each email account, something I had not noticed before.
. . . . . . . . . . Pete

Return to SeaMonkey Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests