MozillaZine

The first official 20170915 builds are out

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
bjherbison
 
Posts: 694
Joined: October 6th, 2003, 5:40 am
Location: Bolton, MA, US

Post Posted September 16th, 2017, 2:27 am

mdew wrote:How do you remove the bottom advertising?

https://imgur.com/a/dWeqM
I use the Blank New Tab extension. https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... b/?src=api

When I create a new tab I have a purpose. At best text on the blank new tab page is ignored, at worst it distracts me from my task.

Edds

User avatar
 
Posts: 314
Joined: July 21st, 2010, 1:13 pm
Location: SVK

Post Posted September 16th, 2017, 2:54 am

awesome Bug 1381961 - Enabled shared global for JSMs pref landed
The 90 day ts_paint graph right now makes for a pretty nice visual. That's the sharpest drop I've ever seen.
PC: CPU: Core i7 6700K@4.6Ghz, MB: MSI Z270 GAMING M7, VGA: MSI GTX 1080 GAMING X, RAM: 16GB DDR4 Corsair, SSD: Samsung 850 EVO 500GB, OS: W10 x64
NB: CPU: Core i3 4030U@1.9Ghz, VGA: Intel HD4400, RAM: 4GB DDR3, SSHD: Seagate 500GB, OS: W10 x64 Phone: LG G4 Android 6.0

mdew

User avatar
 
Posts: 339
Joined: March 2nd, 2005, 2:34 am

Post Posted September 16th, 2017, 3:03 am

bjherbison wrote:
mdew wrote:How do you remove the bottom advertising?

https://imgur.com/a/dWeqM
I use the Blank New Tab extension. https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... b/?src=api

When I create a new tab I have a purpose. At best text on the blank new tab page is ignored, at worst it distracts me from my task.


There should be config option at the very least? Trying to minimise the use of an extension here

mdew

User avatar
 
Posts: 339
Joined: March 2nd, 2005, 2:34 am

Post Posted September 16th, 2017, 3:27 am

Ah, looks like there is an tab option for Snippets.

bjherbison
 
Posts: 694
Joined: October 6th, 2003, 5:40 am
Location: Bolton, MA, US

Post Posted September 16th, 2017, 3:45 am

mdew wrote:Ah, looks like there is an tab option for Snippets.
Thanks for mentioning that option. That wasn't there when I went to the add-on approach.

Lurtz
 
Posts: 141
Joined: June 12th, 2016, 12:25 pm

Post Posted September 16th, 2017, 3:54 am

There seems to be a delay for initializing WebExtensions when starting the browser. So a site might be loaded on startup while uBlock Origin isn't active.

Is there a ticket for this or is this expected behavior to make startup faster?

bjherbison wrote:
mdew wrote:Ah, looks like there is an tab option for Snippets.
Thanks for mentioning that option. That wasn't there when I went to the add-on approach.

Yes, the option landed after the first snippets were shown.

GHM113

User avatar
 
Posts: 617
Joined: December 16th, 2015, 3:59 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Post Posted September 16th, 2017, 3:58 am

I came across a performance problem: scrolling fps drops when a tab with big amount of thumbnails is loading in the background with uMatrix installed.

Filed a bug: https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1400534
Looks like a bottleneck is somewhere in WebExtensions Request Handling. Unfortunately, STR is NSFW so if someone knows a site with lots of thumbnails on a single page I definitely would like to take a look at it.
I am an idiot. Sorry for my poor English. Current list of config tweaks: https://pastebin.com/1dCT4Cvp

mdew

User avatar
 
Posts: 339
Joined: March 2nd, 2005, 2:34 am

Post Posted September 16th, 2017, 4:02 am

https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1400536 Not sure if anyone else requested it..

Lurtz
 
Posts: 141
Joined: June 12th, 2016, 12:25 pm

Post Posted September 16th, 2017, 5:36 am

My biggest remaining gripe with Firefox/Nightly:
Video decoding with AMD is still a disaster. MP4/h264 is totally broken for me, even 1080p/30 slows down the whole browser and videos aren't smooth at all.

I have an i7 6700k and a R9 390 and as long as the CPU handles video (like for VP9), everything is smooth. As soon as the GPU comes into play, it's a terrible experience.

Is there a way to keep hardware acceleration (for the compositor), but disable all GPU video decoding in Firefox?

Chrome and Edge have no problem with AMD. With Intel GPUs there are no problems with Firefox. But Firefox and AMD is just atrocious, whoever is to blame exactly.

Edit:
This could be it: media.hardware-video-decoding.enabled

My test cases are smooth now and my CPU handles it without any problems.

WaltS48

User avatar
 
Posts: 3402
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 9:38 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted September 16th, 2017, 7:12 am

Linux Nightly is out.

Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:57.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/57.0 ID:20170916100147

EDIT: Forgot to mention that those on the Developer Edition channel should have been updated to a 57.0b1.
Last edited by WaltS48 on September 16th, 2017, 9:17 am, edited 1 time in total.
Linux Desktop - AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3GHz | 8.0GB RAM | GeForce GT 630
Windows Notebook - AMD A8 7410 2.2GHz | 6.0GB RAM | AMD Radeon R5

gorhill
 
Posts: 142
Joined: February 10th, 2015, 8:00 am

Post Posted September 16th, 2017, 7:24 am

streetwolf wrote:
malliz wrote:Somebody got a link to the web extension version of Ublock please I hosed my main profile this morning so I am taking the opportunity to clean house


Releases · gorhill/uBlock

It's in stable channel of AMO store, no need to install it from the repo.

custom.firefox.lady
 
Posts: 329
Joined: February 28th, 2008, 3:48 am
Location: PA

Post Posted September 16th, 2017, 11:01 am

mdew wrote:Ah, looks like there is an tab option for Snippets.

Fortunately. It was the animated flashy-looking color-changing "M" that drove me to turn them off. Too distracting...way to annoy us *M*ozilla.

Edds

User avatar
 
Posts: 314
Joined: July 21st, 2010, 1:13 pm
Location: SVK

Post Posted September 16th, 2017, 11:43 am

@gorhill: I'm experiencing a bit slower loading of the uBO addon icon in the Addons Manager after first launch. Is there some kind of very high res image ? Can it be a bit lower ?
PC: CPU: Core i7 6700K@4.6Ghz, MB: MSI Z270 GAMING M7, VGA: MSI GTX 1080 GAMING X, RAM: 16GB DDR4 Corsair, SSD: Samsung 850 EVO 500GB, OS: W10 x64
NB: CPU: Core i3 4030U@1.9Ghz, VGA: Intel HD4400, RAM: 4GB DDR3, SSHD: Seagate 500GB, OS: W10 x64 Phone: LG G4 Android 6.0

Josa
 
Posts: 2595
Joined: July 28th, 2009, 4:52 pm

Post Posted September 16th, 2017, 2:37 pm


Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests