MozillaZine

The first official 20170918 builds are out

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
Josa
 
Posts: 2591
Joined: July 28th, 2009, 4:52 pm

Post Posted September 17th, 2017, 10:55 am

Previous Nightly Builds thread 20170917

The first official 20170918 NIGHTLY builds are out
.The Official Firefox 56 RC 1 builds are not yet out

Previous NIGHTLY: 20170917 (Fx 57.0a1)
Previous BETA: 20170915 (Fx 56.0b12)

Mozilla Inbound Builds
Treeherder
Release Notes: NIGHTLY | BETA
Changelogs: NIGHTLY | BETA


Fixed:
    NIGHTLY +26
  1. #1400671 [Core:Audio/Video: cubeb]-Update cubeb from upstream to ac532ad [Mac][]
  2. #1396794 [Core:Audio/Video: Playback]-Dead code in FlacFrameParser::DecodeHeaderBlock [Uns][[good first bug][lang=C++]]
  3. #1400254 [Core:Audio/Video: Playback]-Losing Audio sync with video by using timestampOffset in MSE SourceBuffer [Uns][]
  4. #1400537 [Core:Audio/Video: Playback]-Crash in mozilla::MediaFormatReader::DecoderFactory::Wrapper::Init [Win][]
  5. #1400598 [Core:Audio/Video: Playback]-[MSE] MP4 bytestream is parsed several times unecessarily [Uns][]
  6. #1400614 [Core:Audio/Video: Playback]-Crash with media devtools if no video track present [Uns][]
  7. #1399546 [Core:CSS Parsing and Computation]-stylo: panicked at 'already mutably borrowed' [Uns][[fuzzblocker]]
  8. #1400325 [Core:CSS Parsing and Computation]-stylo: thread '<unnamed>' panicked at 'assertion failed: self.font_size.map_or(true, |f| f == font_size)', /builds/worker/workspace/build/src/servo/components/style/rule_cache.rs:28 [Uns][]
  9. #1400624 [Core:CSS Parsing and Computation]-Crash in core::option::expect_failed | style::properties::{{impl}}::size_of [Win][]
  10. #1396848 [Core:DOM]-Fetch: Headers should sort and combine [Uns][]
  11. #1400662 [Core:DOM: Device Interfaces]-Prefer the USB token if the softtoken is enabled as well [Uns][[webauthn]]
  12. #1398991 [Core:DOM: Web Payments]-Set shippingOption during construction only if options.requestShipping is true. [Uns][]
  13. #1400602 [Core:Graphics: Text]-Update to Freetype 2.8.1 [All][]
  14. #1400081 [Core:JavaScript Engine]-Introduce JSGC_UNSET to represent an unset JSGCParamKey [All][]
  15. #1399767 [Core:Layout]-Remove preference "layout.css.clip-path-shapes.enabled" [Uns][]
  16. #1400100 [Core:Layout]-Shrink css::ImageValue [All][]
  17. #1400421 [Core:Layout]-nsLeafFrame::Reflow / DoReflow seem to be dead code and want to be deleted [Uns][]
  18. #1381157 [Core:Layout: Web Painting]-The "mContent->GetPrimaryFrame() == this" check in nsIFrame::HasOpacityInternal is not very cache friendly [All][]
  19. #1381638 [Core:WebRTC: Audio/Video]-Severe audio distortion/slowdown/delay sharing mic in multiple tabs (regression) [All][]
  20. #1400148 [Core:Widget]-Don't use -1 to represent an unset nsCursor [All][]
  21. #1394323 [Firefox:Developer Tools: Netmonitor]-In the Response tab, the "JSON" container should have an overflow, like the "Response payload" one [Uns][]
  22. #1400556 [Firefox:Tabbed Browser]-Bookmarks on tabbar are displaced while tabs are moved [Uns][[reserve-photon-visual]]
  23. #1399930 [Firefox:Theme]-[macOS] [Photon] Regression: The below part of the Tab Bar doesn't react on double-clicks [Mac][[reserve-photon-visual]]
  24. #1400681 [Firefox:Theme]-Items without icons in the hamburger panel are misaligned [Uns][[reserve-photon-structure]]
  25. #1387846 [Firefox:Toolbars and Customization]-Print item in hamburger panel should print instead of opening print preview (like file menu) [Uns][[reserve-photon-structure]]
  26. #1384330 [Toolkit:Add-ons Manager]-Don't expose window.navigator.mozAddonManager data when privacy.resistFingerprinting=true [Uns][[tor 21684][fingerprinting][fp:m3]]

    Partial Landings/Diagnostic Patches:
  1. #1400411 [Core:Graphics: WebRender]-Stop using a DrawTargetSkia inside of TextDrawTarget [Uns][[wr-mvp]]

    Beta 12 -> RC1 Changelog +12
  1. #1389470 [Core:Audio/Video: Playback]-Crash in alloc::oom::oom [Win][]
  2. #1396307 [Core:Networking: HTTP]-Crash in RtlEnterCriticalSection | mozilla::RecursiveMutexAutoLock::RecursiveMutexAutoLock [Win][[necko-active]]
  3. #1394024 [Core:Plug-ins]-[Windows only] Firefox crashes on unplugging microphone [Uns][]
  4. #1387428 [Core:Security: PSM]-Disable TLS 1.3 by default for FF 56 [Uns][]
  5. #1399395 [Core:WebRTC]-Crash in mozilla::MediaManager::PostTask [Win][]
  6. #1369361 [External Software Affecting Firefox:Other]-Startup crash in abort | _acrt_RtlGenRandom (Lenovo OneKey Theater) [Win][]
  7. #1396583 [Firefox:Preferences]-Wrong Tooltip position after searching for "firefox"/"nightly" [All][[photon-preference]]
  8. #1399245 [Shield:Add-on]-Sync shield-recipe-client v75 from GitHub (commit 321e8fb ) [Uns][]
  9. #1391187 [Toolkit:Add-ons Manager]-Compare build id to perform a full startup directory scan [Uns][]
  10. #1399796 [Toolkit:Crash Reporting]-Unsubmitted crash reports get sent off automatically despite settings to the contrary [All][]
  11. #1398656 [Toolkit:Form Manager]-Always build the form autofill system add-on but disable it by default on release [All][[form autofill:MVP]]
  12. #1393954 [Toolkit:Safe Browsing]-Roll Safe Browsing back to V2 in the first RC for 56 [Uns][#sbv4-m9]

Nightly 58 fixes since 20170915 (Gecko 57) ~122
Nightly 57 fixes since 20170802 (Gecko 56) ~2711
Beta 56 fixes since 20170613 (Gecko 55) ~2956

Nightly Blog
Release Calendar
Release Tracking
MozRegression Guide
Last edited by Josa on September 18th, 2017, 12:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

TheVisitor
 
Posts: 4359
Joined: May 13th, 2012, 10:43 am

Post Posted September 17th, 2017, 12:54 pm

BruceAWittmeier wrote:
I just pulled a fresh copy and updated. This bug is marked fixed but is not fixed on the Nightly 32 bit build. I can't speak to the other versions.

Build ID: faa897d7948b7e2439573f39c34366c138913663

The patch https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1391166 landed over 2 weeks ago. I'm running latest win32 builds and it WFM.

Are you using 'Sync' perhaps ? It can mess with things on re-ordering you stuff manually.

BruceAWittmeier

User avatar
 
Posts: 2616
Joined: June 9th, 2008, 10:53 am
Location: Near 37.501685 -80.147967

Post Posted September 17th, 2017, 1:59 pm

No Sync here at least that I know of. I pulled a new Fx 57 this AM about 8:10 or so -- the bug was there. After reading the seeing it again today I posted. The bug was posted too. So I pulled another copy and it was different but the bug was still there. Am I still missing something?

Edit: I have done a little more testing.

In bookmarks -- left column panel (not the side view of bookmarks) View all bookmarks:

Level1

...Level2

......Level3

Level1

If I drag/drop from, level1 to level1, level2 to level2 or level3 to level3 it works fine.

If I drag/drop from level3 to level1 it does not land where the dark line appears.

I believe it happens anytime you change the directory level.

Can anyone verify?
~ I'm only here to Pay it Forward. ~

"I often take a very long windy road to my destination. When I arrive I often wonder how I missed the shortcut".

megamanx
 
Posts: 104
Joined: April 6th, 2011, 8:35 am

Post Posted September 17th, 2017, 3:47 pm

Since they made it 4 thread minimum, have they improved at all?

Max I can get is 5 threads(quad-core laptop) on my laptop, but someone tested with more cores and found that using the same amount of cores, as it is threads, that the performance is best. So, any more threads and it is worse, does this still hold true?

I can't tell much of the difference with 4 or the max 5 threads.

Omega X

User avatar
 
Posts: 7873
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 2:38 pm
Location: A Parallel Dimension...

Post Posted September 17th, 2017, 6:03 pm

megamanx wrote:Since they made it 4 thread minimum, have they improved at all?

Max I can get is 5 threads(quad-core laptop) on my laptop, but someone tested with more cores and found that using the same amount of cores, as it is threads, that the performance is best. So, any more threads and it is worse, does this still hold true?

I can't tell much of the difference with 4 or the max 5 threads.


Are you referring to e10s(multi-process)? If so, you're confusing threads with processes. Unless you consider them as threads of Firefox itself and not the actual OS threads.

If using Firefox 55: The default is 4 Content Process, 1 Main Process and 1 Graphics Process.
If using Nightly: The default is 4 Content Processes, 1 Main Process, 1 Graphics Process and 1 WebExtensions Process.
- This doesn't count the Flash Plugin process, the "file://URI" mode, or Gecko Media Plugin (EME, WebRTC) processes.
- Any of the content processes can spawn 40+ actual threads.
- Content Processes sometimes will close after a while depending on the amount of tabs open.
- Web Games can initiate a LARGE allocation mode to allow more memory usage.


For now, the content processes are limited to 4 due to memory scaling. It could change in the future if they could figure out better memory utilization. Of course you can also modify 'dom.ipc.Process.Count' to whatever you want. More physical CPU cores per content process will keep responsiveness as the OS will manage the workload.
Latest: Firefox/56.0 *ESR/52.4.0 - Mobile/56.0 - Thunderbird/52.4.0 - SeaMonkey/2.48
Nightly: Nightly/58.0a1 - Mobile/58.0a1 - Daily/58.0a1 - SeaMonkey/2.49a1

Myuu
 
Posts: 3
Joined: May 13th, 2017, 4:29 pm

Post Posted September 18th, 2017, 3:51 am

Is there a way to restore old about:home?
The new one doesn't really work as startup page now

bjherbison
 
Posts: 694
Joined: October 6th, 2003, 5:40 am
Location: Bolton, MA, US

Post Posted September 18th, 2017, 4:06 am

Myuu wrote:Is there a way to restore old about:home?
The new one doesn't really work as startup page now

There have been many versions of about:home. Why don't you describe what you want?

(At times I've set my home page to a custom HTML page I created. I currently have it set to about:blank, but have several pinned tabs.)

Myuu
 
Posts: 3
Joined: May 13th, 2017, 4:29 pm

Post Posted September 18th, 2017, 4:51 am

bjherbison wrote:
Myuu wrote:Is there a way to restore old about:home?
The new one doesn't really work as startup page now

There have been many versions of about:home. Why don't you describe what you want?

(At times I've set my home page to a custom HTML page I created. I currently have it set to about:blank, but have several pinned tabs.)

I am talking about this one https://imgur.com/a/UHSpr
But thanks for the idea about custom page I just saved older version and made it into homepage
None of buttons work but I didn't really use them that much so whatever

keztrel
 
Posts: 19
Joined: May 30th, 2017, 2:53 am

Post Posted September 18th, 2017, 4:59 am

Myuu wrote:Is there a way to restore old about:home?

Make your homepage:
Code: Select all
chrome://browser/content/abouthome/aboutHome.xhtml

BruceAWittmeier

User avatar
 
Posts: 2616
Joined: June 9th, 2008, 10:53 am
Location: Near 37.501685 -80.147967

Post Posted September 18th, 2017, 5:46 am

Myuu

I posted a question about add/move/delete tiles from the home page.

Add/Remove elements from the start page:

viewtopic.php?p=14766599#p14766599


Some related settings:

newtabpage (string) -- set string to be what you want
newtab.preload set true
newtab.columns = 6 (?)
newtab.rows = 2 (max)

I read where this should work but not verified.

browser.newtabpage.activity-stream.enabled; false << displays old tiles page
true << for new tiles page

By the way -- I think these changes require a restart of the browser to effect the changes
~ I'm only here to Pay it Forward. ~

"I often take a very long windy road to my destination. When I arrive I often wonder how I missed the shortcut".

BruceAWittmeier

User avatar
 
Posts: 2616
Joined: June 9th, 2008, 10:53 am
Location: Near 37.501685 -80.147967

Post Posted September 18th, 2017, 6:23 am

New bug filed for the ordering/rearranging of Bookmarks/folders:

https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1400846
~ I'm only here to Pay it Forward. ~

"I often take a very long windy road to my destination. When I arrive I often wonder how I missed the shortcut".

BruceAWittmeier

User avatar
 
Posts: 2616
Joined: June 9th, 2008, 10:53 am
Location: Near 37.501685 -80.147967

Post Posted September 18th, 2017, 9:41 am

TheVisitor wrote:
BruceAWittmeier wrote:
I just pulled a fresh copy and updated. This bug is marked fixed but is not fixed on the Nightly 32 bit build. I can't speak to the other versions.

Build ID: faa897d7948b7e2439573f39c34366c138913663

The patch https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1391166 landed over 2 weeks ago. I'm running latest win32 builds and it WFM.

Are you using 'Sync' perhaps ? It can mess with things on re-ordering you stuff manually.


You were right-on with this comment. There is a Sync setting (browser.places.useAsyncTransactions) that when set false will fix the issue of the bookmarks jumping up 1 line when inserted in a different directory level. Thanks for the input.
~ I'm only here to Pay it Forward. ~

"I often take a very long windy road to my destination. When I arrive I often wonder how I missed the shortcut".

Enig123
 
Posts: 40
Joined: February 9th, 2006, 5:10 am

Post Posted September 18th, 2017, 10:12 am

With Nightly of Sep. 18, there's glitches when I tried to edit a Facebook post while playing another Facebook video in the background.

The only Addons is uBlock Origin webext version.

Jgr9
 
Posts: 50
Joined: September 2nd, 2015, 12:51 am

Post Posted September 18th, 2017, 11:39 am

So, I have 1 website on my bookmark toolbar that has had its Favicon changed to a version of the Twitter logo for some reason, and it's not fixing itself, of course. While the tab and their /favicon.ico is the usual icon. I forget what it is I can delete to force a bookmark favicon reset. Or is there something else going on here again?

Edit: Heh, scratch that, I fixed it... derp. Delete favicons.sqlite from AppData\Roaming\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\XXX... (if you don't have anything custom set for them I guess).

Josa
 
Posts: 2591
Joined: July 28th, 2009, 4:52 pm

Post Posted September 18th, 2017, 12:43 pm


Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Asteaguinity and 3 guests