MozillaZine

The first official 20170919 builds are out

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
WaltS48

User avatar
 
Posts: 3445
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 9:38 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted September 19th, 2017, 8:58 am

Linux Nightly is out.

Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:57.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/57.0 ID:20170919100405

Built from https://hg.mozilla.org/mozilla-central/ ... fea90c74a5

Still have to waste view port space having the Menu Bar enabled so I can use Print Preview. :cry:
Linux Desktop - AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3GHz | 8.0GB RAM | GeForce GT 630
Windows Notebook - AMD A8 7410 2.2GHz | 6.0GB RAM | AMD Radeon R5

flaneurb
 
Posts: 572
Joined: December 10th, 2011, 3:50 am

Post Posted September 19th, 2017, 9:12 am

WaltS48 wrote:...
Still have to waste view port space having the Menu Bar enabled so I can use Print Preview. :cry:

Or just memorize Alt+F,V rather than displaying the menu bar all the time?

johnp_
 
Posts: 119
Joined: March 7th, 2011, 11:22 am

Post Posted September 19th, 2017, 9:52 am

Edds wrote:What is the pref "dom.ipc.processPrelaunch.enabled" doing exactly ? Is it creating one content process in advance ? It is set to false by default because of memory or why it is not enabled ?

To mitigate the delay that a new content process startup might cause, when the browser reaches a non-busy state we attempt to prelaunch an empty content process in the background that can be grabbed and used the next time we need one.
Source

// Disable prelaunch in the same way activity-stream is enabled addressing
// bug 1381804 memory usage until bug 1376895 is fixed.
// Because of frequent crashes on Beta, it is turned off on all channels, see: bug 1363601.
Source

Edds

User avatar
 
Posts: 321
Joined: July 21st, 2010, 1:13 pm
Location: SVK

Post Posted September 19th, 2017, 10:26 am

Thanks! So, what's holding it now? Looks like all these bugs are fixed.
PC: CPU: Core i7 6700K@4.6Ghz, MB: MSI Z270 GAMING M7, VGA: MSI GTX 1080 GAMING X, RAM: 16GB DDR4 Corsair, SSD: Samsung 850 EVO 500GB, OS: W10 x64
NB: CPU: Core i3 4030U@1.9Ghz, VGA: Intel HD4400, RAM: 4GB DDR3, SSHD: Seagate 500GB, OS: W10 x64 Phone: LG G4 Android 6.0

WaltS48

User avatar
 
Posts: 3445
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 9:38 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted September 19th, 2017, 10:49 am

flaneurb wrote:
WaltS48 wrote:...
Still have to waste view port space having the Menu Bar enabled so I can use Print Preview. :cry:

Or just memorize Alt+F,V rather than displaying the menu bar all the time?


Right, by tomorrow, and when the support questions start rolling in, I won't remember why I enabled the Menu Bar.
Linux Desktop - AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3GHz | 8.0GB RAM | GeForce GT 630
Windows Notebook - AMD A8 7410 2.2GHz | 6.0GB RAM | AMD Radeon R5

johnp_
 
Posts: 119
Joined: March 7th, 2011, 11:22 am

Post Posted September 19th, 2017, 10:54 am

Last info from ~2 weeks ago in the Reenable bug talks about some reftest failures.
Probably decided to not rush this into 57, so we could see some progress there once the whole merge stuff is done.

edit: Very weird reftest failures...

Edds

User avatar
 
Posts: 321
Joined: July 21st, 2010, 1:13 pm
Location: SVK

Post Posted September 19th, 2017, 1:11 pm

These failures are not my cup of tea, so don't know how severe it is.
Anyway thanks for info. I will leave it enabled and will test for a few days if something appears. So far so good.
PC: CPU: Core i7 6700K@4.6Ghz, MB: MSI Z270 GAMING M7, VGA: MSI GTX 1080 GAMING X, RAM: 16GB DDR4 Corsair, SSD: Samsung 850 EVO 500GB, OS: W10 x64
NB: CPU: Core i3 4030U@1.9Ghz, VGA: Intel HD4400, RAM: 4GB DDR3, SSHD: Seagate 500GB, OS: W10 x64 Phone: LG G4 Android 6.0

ICQ5

User avatar
 
Posts: 1312
Joined: April 11th, 2014, 7:34 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia

Post Posted September 19th, 2017, 5:42 pm

Last edited by ICQ5 on September 19th, 2017, 8:22 pm, edited 3 times in total.

WaltS48

User avatar
 
Posts: 3445
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 9:38 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted September 19th, 2017, 6:10 pm

ICQ5 wrote:looks like 56 RC1 is out https://archive.mozilla.org/pub/firefox ... es/build1/


Why didn't I get an update when I checked 15 minutes ago?
Linux Desktop - AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3GHz | 8.0GB RAM | GeForce GT 630
Windows Notebook - AMD A8 7410 2.2GHz | 6.0GB RAM | AMD Radeon R5

ICQ5

User avatar
 
Posts: 1312
Joined: April 11th, 2014, 7:34 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia

Post Posted September 19th, 2017, 6:13 pm

WaltS48 wrote:
ICQ5 wrote:looks like 56 RC1 is out https://archive.mozilla.org/pub/firefox ... es/build1/


Why didn't I get an update when I checked 15 minutes ago?

i dont have a crystal ball, ask Mozilla that

mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 9004
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted September 19th, 2017, 6:31 pm

WaltS48 wrote:Why didn't I get an update when I checked 15 minutes ago?
Nor did I = It's not released.
#KeepFightingMichael

The Tinsmith
 
Posts: 685
Joined: December 24th, 2011, 10:29 am

Post Posted September 19th, 2017, 6:34 pm

WaltS48 wrote:
ICQ5 wrote:looks like 56 RC1 is out https://archive.mozilla.org/pub/firefox ... es/build1/


Why didn't I get an update when I checked 15 minutes ago?



My guess? In the que but not yet officially released.

Me too BTW.

notonymous

User avatar
 
Posts: 141
Joined: November 6th, 2002, 6:57 pm
Location: Beyond the fringe

Post Posted September 19th, 2017, 6:40 pm



Currently resolved as "WONT FIX". Old behaviour can be reinstated by setting:
user_pref("browser.newtabpage.activity-stream.aboutHome.enabled", false);

WaltS48

User avatar
 
Posts: 3445
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 9:38 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted September 19th, 2017, 7:05 pm

ICQ5 wrote:
WaltS48 wrote:
ICQ5 wrote:looks like 56 RC1 is out https://archive.mozilla.org/pub/firefox ... es/build1/


Why didn't I get an update when I checked 15 minutes ago?

i dont have a crystal ball, ask Mozilla that


Probably didn't pass the update test. There will be a rc2.

https://wiki.mozilla.org/Firefox/Channe ... ule_Update
Linux Desktop - AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3GHz | 8.0GB RAM | GeForce GT 630
Windows Notebook - AMD A8 7410 2.2GHz | 6.0GB RAM | AMD Radeon R5

Omega X

User avatar
 
Posts: 7913
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 2:38 pm
Location: A Parallel Dimension...

Post Posted September 19th, 2017, 8:05 pm

My Bookmarks Toolbar collapsed with the last update.
Latest: Firefox/57.0 *ESR/52.4.1 - Mobile/57.0 - Thunderbird/52.4.0 - SeaMonkey/2.49.1
Nightly: Nightly/59.0a1 - Mobile/59.0a1 - Daily/59.0a1 - SeaMonkey/2.55a1

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests