MozillaZine

The first official 20170920 builds are out

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
ICQ5

User avatar
 
Posts: 1275
Joined: April 11th, 2014, 7:34 pm
Location: Melbourne Australia

Post Posted September 20th, 2017, 5:24 pm

TheVisitor wrote:My Profile gets more confusing with each update. Latest m-c win32 hourly has bug https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1401238
which [Deprecate Recent Bookmarks, and Pocket List from the Bookmarks Menu.]

I see the 'Pocket' missing from the Bookmarks button on the NavBar, but the Recent Bookmarks remain. It does not show either in a New Profile.

Really hating the idea of trying to create a new profile.

i always Hide the " recent Bookmark " crap , Pocket List i dont care for.

ashleylai87
 
Posts: 123
Joined: December 13th, 2013, 7:40 pm

Post Posted September 20th, 2017, 7:26 pm

ICQ5 wrote:
TheVisitor wrote:My Profile gets more confusing with each update. Latest m-c win32 hourly has bug https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1401238
which [Deprecate Recent Bookmarks, and Pocket List from the Bookmarks Menu.]

I see the 'Pocket' missing from the Bookmarks button on the NavBar, but the Recent Bookmarks remain. It does not show either in a New Profile.

Really hating the idea of trying to create a new profile.

i always Hide the " recent Bookmark " crap , Pocket List i dont care for.


Ah...my compatriot...I also hide that "recent bookmark" and "Send tab to devices" craps

dsmith
 
Posts: 212
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 1:00 pm

Post Posted September 20th, 2017, 7:29 pm

For me, the buttons on the bookmark toolbar have been reduced from a 26px height to a 19px height — about 25%. It's ludicrously annoying to try to target a bookmark there, now, particularly compared to normal bookmarks, which have a target height of 22px.

Note: Part of the 26px height looks like it's because putting the bookmarks menu on the bookmarks toolbar apparently raised the height by 2px, which relates to that one bug that got fixed. Even without that, though, 24px is much larger than 19px.

ashleylai87
 
Posts: 123
Joined: December 13th, 2013, 7:40 pm

Post Posted September 20th, 2017, 7:36 pm

dsmith wrote:For me, the buttons on the bookmark toolbar have been reduced from a 26px height to a 19px height — about 25%. It's ludicrously annoying to try to target a bookmark there, now, particularly compared to normal bookmarks, which have a target height of 22px.

Note: Part of the 26px height looks like it's because putting the bookmarks menu on the bookmarks toolbar apparently raised the height by 2px, which relates to that one bug that got fixed. Even without that, though, 24px is much larger than 19px.


Hmmm.....
Try userchrome.css script below which I gotten from helpful mozillazine users here.

#bookmarks-menu-button {
padding-right: 50px !important;
margin-left: -5px !important;
margin-right: 0px !important;

#PlacesChevron {
padding-right: 50px !important;
margin-left: 0px !important;
margin-right: -5px !important;

JunHyosung

User avatar
 
Posts: 210
Joined: September 7th, 2010, 5:31 pm

Post Posted September 20th, 2017, 9:04 pm

Hmm for the search results, when hitting "delete" to remove them, they seem to re-appear when re-typing the keywords.

Think that only just started with latest nightly.

Unsure if this was intentional, or there's a preference to toggle?

Anleck
 
Posts: 98
Joined: March 5th, 2011, 6:38 pm

Post Posted September 20th, 2017, 9:22 pm

Can anyone confirm - newtab page forces 3 rows (non compact newtab layout) - thx
https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1401462

sciguyryan
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 2135
Joined: November 10th, 2004, 1:33 pm
Location: Wales

Post Posted September 21st, 2017, 3:43 am

tomatoshadow2 wrote:Has anyone tested Webrender again lately?


I tested it a few days ago. It seemed stable but I couldn't cope with the fact that there still seem to be some font rendering issues. My eyesight isn't great and it was making it difficult for me to read things. I also noticed some chrome flickering with layers free enabled. It also takes a little bit longer to load the browser with it enabled.

If you can put up with those things it seems stable and fast.
Visit My Blog if you want to hear more.

Ryan Jones

Lurtz
 
Posts: 141
Joined: June 12th, 2016, 12:25 pm

Post Posted September 21st, 2017, 4:46 am

Will Nightly increment to 58 tonight?

streetwolf

User avatar
 
Posts: 2093
Joined: August 21st, 2011, 8:07 am
Location: NJ (USA)

Post Posted September 21st, 2017, 5:51 am

sciguyryan wrote:
tomatoshadow2 wrote:Has anyone tested Webrender again lately?


I tested it a few days ago. It seemed stable but I couldn't cope with the fact that there still seem to be some font rendering issues. My eyesight isn't great and it was making it difficult for me to read things. I also noticed some chrome flickering with layers free enabled. It also takes a little bit longer to load the browser with it enabled.

If you can put up with those things it seems stable and fast.


I've been testing WR for some months and they have significantly improved it over time. The most annoying things are the choppy scrolling on some sites and some things like message boxes start out black for a second and then display correctly. Also when Fx is first started the screen is totally white for a second or two before the chrome is displayed. Also be aware that WE add-ons present an empty menu when you click on their icons on the tool bar. Setting 'extensions.webextensions.remote = FALSE' will prevent this. This pref controls whether add-ons use OOP or not. I also notice that some fonts on some sites appear darker. about:preferences is an example.

In case you are unaware of the preferences that should be changed to properly enable WR I present them below. I got these from a Mozilla site.

gfx.webrender.blob-images TRUE
gfx.webrender.enabled TRUE
gfx.webrender.layers-free TRUE
gfx.webrendest.enabled TRUE
layers.async-pan-zoom.enabled FALSE
extensions.webextensions.remote FALSE
Intel i7 Quad Core 3770K @ 5Ghz|ASUS P8Z77-V Deluxe|Corsair 1050W PSU|Corsair H100iV2 CPU Cooler|Corsair 16GB RAM|Sapphire Nitro R9 390 8GB|DUAL ASUS PA249Q IPS 24" LCDs|Samsung SSD 830, 840 256GB|2TB Seagate|Windows 10 Pro x64|AMD Crimson 17.10.1|FIOS 1Gb Internet

GHM113

User avatar
 
Posts: 617
Joined: December 16th, 2015, 3:59 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Post Posted September 21st, 2017, 6:03 am

WebRender is still unusable on my config, scrolling fps is too low.
I am an idiot. Sorry for my poor English. Current list of config tweaks: https://pastebin.com/1dCT4Cvp

WaltS48

User avatar
 
Posts: 3402
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 9:38 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted September 21st, 2017, 6:13 am

Linux Nightly is out.

Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:57.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/57.0 ID:20170921100141
Linux Desktop - AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3GHz | 8.0GB RAM | GeForce GT 630
Windows Notebook - AMD A8 7410 2.2GHz | 6.0GB RAM | AMD Radeon R5

Omega X

User avatar
 
Posts: 7873
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 2:38 pm
Location: A Parallel Dimension...

Post Posted September 21st, 2017, 6:29 am

GHM113 wrote:WebRender is still unusable on my config, scrolling fps is too low.


Its a LOT more stable than it used to be though. I'd often get crashing and missing graphics and black screens. Now its slow scrolling and font issues. The flickering is still there but less flashy than before.
Latest: Firefox/56.0 *ESR/52.4.0 - Mobile/56.0 - Thunderbird/52.4.0 - SeaMonkey/2.48
Nightly: Nightly/58.0a1 - Mobile/58.0a1 - Daily/58.0a1 - SeaMonkey/2.49a1

Josa
 
Posts: 2595
Joined: July 28th, 2009, 4:52 pm

Post Posted September 21st, 2017, 7:19 am


Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests