MozillaZine

The first official 20170924 builds are out

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
Josa
 
Posts: 2702
Joined: July 28th, 2009, 4:52 pm

Post Posted September 23rd, 2017, 4:31 pm

Previous Nightly Builds thread 20170923

The first official 20170924 NIGHTLY builds are out
The Official Firefox 56 RC 2 builds are out

Previous NIGHTLY: 20170923 (Fx 58.0a1)
Previous BETA: 20170919 (Fx 56.0 RC1)

Mozilla Inbound Builds
Treeherder
Release Notes: NIGHTLY | BETA
Changelogs: NIGHTLY | BETA


Fixed:
    NIGHTLY +4
  1. #1402472 [Core:CSS Parsing and Computation]-stylo: Assertion failure: !aElement->HasFlag(ELEMENT_HANDLED_SNAPSHOT) [Uns][]
  2. #1402229 [Core:Graphics: WebRender]-WebGL lessons sample is not rendered correctly on some Win PCs with layers-free [Uns][[wr-mvp]]
  3. #1396349 [Firefox:Developer Tools: Inspector]-Remove the collapse sidebar pane button in the Inspector [Uns][]
  4. #1391213 [Firefox:Theme]-RTL control buttons on the wrong side when general.userAgent.locale pref doesn't match locale in use [Win][rtl]

    Partial Landings/Diagnostic Patches:
  1. #1399948 [Firefox:Developer Tools: Inspector]-Implement the photon styles for the inspector breadcrumbs [Uns][]

    RC1 -> RC2 Changelog +16
  1. #1047098 [Core:DOM]-'Clear Recent History' with 'Cache' or 'Offline Website Data' doesn't clear QuotaManager storage and ServiceWorkers [All][[tor][fingerprinting]]
  2. #1374231 [Core:Graphics]-Crash in RtlpWaitOnCriticalSection | RtlpEnterCriticalSectionContended | RtlEnterCriticalSection | CFrameSurfaceAllocator::ReleaseDXVASurface [Win][[gfx-noted]]
  3. #1389021 [Core:Graphics: Layers]-shutdownhangs in mozilla::layers::CompositorThreadHolder::Shutdown [Win][[gfx-noted]]
  4. #1400721 [Core:Graphics: Text]-Skia mishandles FreeType 2.8.1 patent-free subpixel rendering [Lin][[gfx-noted]]
  5. #1400006 [Core:Internationalization]-Extend language negotiation in LocaleService to support looking for the best likelySubtag for the locale with region stripped [Uns][]
  6. #1397621 [Core:Networking: HTTP]-All HTTP2 server pushes are being ignored due to faulty origin check [Uns][[spdy]]
  7. #1394561 [Core:WebVR]-WebVR latency is high, even when Framerate is sustained [Win][]
  8. #1401249 [Firefox:General]-getStringPref in clicktoplay-rollout addon returns null but was expected to return undefined [Uns][]
  9. #1400595 [Firefox:Preferences]-Unable (again) to scroll Preferences if search engine table is not scrollable [Uns][[photon-preference][triage]]
  10. #1399478 [Firefox:Site Identity and Permission Panels]-”Ok!” button from extension installation pop-up in gray [All][]
  11. #1399936 [Shield:Add-on]-Shield unenrolls users in active preference experiments on upgrade [Uns][]
  12. #1395892 [Toolkit:Add-ons Manager]-Some special mozilla extensions are still showing "Legacy" badge in their details page [Uns][]
  13. #1400675 [Toolkit:Telemetry]-JavaScript strict warning: resource://gre/modules/TelemetryReportingPolicy.jsm, line 433: ReferenceError: reference to undefined property "FirsRunURL" [All][]
  14. #1381344 [Toolkit:WebExtensions: Untriaged]-No context menu for OOP popups opened as standalone panel [All][triaged]
  15. #1384078 [Toolkit:WebExtensions: Untriaged]-Enter closes WebExtensions popup [Uns][]

Nightly 58 fixes since 20170821 (Gecko 57) ~160
Beta 57 fixes since 20170802 (Gecko 56) ~3065
Beta 56 fixes since 20170613 (Gecko 55) ~2976

Nightly Blog
Release Calendar
Release Tracking
MozRegression Guide
Last edited by Josa on September 25th, 2017, 4:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Mouse5
 
Posts: 1320
Joined: April 11th, 2014, 7:34 pm
Location: Sydney Australia

Post Posted September 23rd, 2017, 7:29 pm

just installed Nightly, im happy that the " Menu Bar " is still there , , , apart from that it seems to be working ok.

JunHyosung

User avatar
 
Posts: 210
Joined: September 7th, 2010, 5:31 pm

Post Posted September 23rd, 2017, 8:53 pm

In the Address Bar, seems you cannot delete entries from it anymore.

Started a few days back, unsure of the last known build that didn't introduce this issue.

STR:
1. Type any keyword in Address Bar.
2. Delete entry/ies
3. Open new tab and type same keyword and all results are still present

Alice0775

User avatar
 
Posts: 2575
Joined: October 26th, 2007, 11:25 pm
Location: OSAKA JPN

Post Posted September 23rd, 2017, 11:54 pm

Maybe
[*]#1402555 [Firefox:Address Bar]-deleting history from urlbar completion list doesn't work [Uns]

JunHyosung

User avatar
 
Posts: 210
Joined: September 7th, 2010, 5:31 pm

Post Posted September 24th, 2017, 1:16 am

Thanks for the reference link/bug.

The Tinsmith
 
Posts: 703
Joined: December 24th, 2011, 10:29 am

Post Posted September 24th, 2017, 7:03 am

ICQ5 wrote:just installed Nightly, im happy that the " Menu Bar " is still there , , , apart from that it seems to be working ok.



What made you think that the Menu Bar was/is going away? I must have missed that rumor. :-)

WaltS48

User avatar
 
Posts: 3472
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 9:38 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted September 24th, 2017, 7:24 am

The Tinsmith wrote:
ICQ5 wrote:just installed Nightly, im happy that the " Menu Bar " is still there , , , apart from that it seems to be working ok.



What made you think that the Menu Bar was/is going away? I must have missed that rumor. :-)


Most of it is accessible from the Library and Menu Button.

Maybe they were reading about Headless Mode. https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/Fir ... dless_mode
Linux Desktop - AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3GHz | 8.0GB RAM | GeForce GT 630
Windows Notebook - AMD A8 7410 2.2GHz | 6.0GB RAM | AMD Radeon R5

Edds

User avatar
 
Posts: 321
Joined: July 21st, 2010, 1:13 pm
Location: SVK

Post Posted September 24th, 2017, 9:40 am

Is this fixed for you ? https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1401991
Because it's not for me.
PC: CPU: Core i7 6700K@4.6Ghz, MB: MSI Z270 GAMING M7, VGA: MSI GTX 1080 GAMING X, RAM: 16GB DDR4 Corsair, SSD: Samsung 850 EVO 500GB, OS: W10 x64
NB: CPU: Core i3 4030U@1.9Ghz, VGA: Intel HD4400, RAM: 4GB DDR3, SSHD: Seagate 500GB, OS: W10 x64 Phone: LG G4 Android 6.0

Mark12547
 
Posts: 140
Joined: May 13th, 2017, 11:36 am
Location: Oregon, United States, Earth

Post Posted September 24th, 2017, 12:27 pm

Edds wrote:Is this fixed for you ? https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1401991
Because it's not for me.


It's not fixed for me, either, in 58.0a1 (2017-09-24) (64-bit) Build ID 20170924100550 under Windows 7 (64-bit).

Omega X

User avatar
 
Posts: 7951
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 2:38 pm
Location: A Parallel Dimension...

Post Posted September 24th, 2017, 1:50 pm

The Tinsmith wrote:
ICQ5 wrote:just installed Nightly, im happy that the " Menu Bar " is still there , , , apart from that it seems to be working ok.



What made you think that the Menu Bar was/is going away? I must have missed that rumor. :-)


Maybe because Microsoft and many others are doing away with the standard horizontal text menu. Chrome, its gone. Vivaldi, its tucked vertically in the corner. Edge, Its non-existent. Almost everything in Windows 10 is either Metro-style tabs, vertical hamburger/triple dots, or Ribbon based. Using Alt to toggle the menu is the Windows Vista/7 method and is probably the only reason why its still there.
Latest: Firefox/57.0.2 *ESR/52.5 - Mobile/57.0.1 - Thunderbird/52.5 - SeaMonkey/2.49.1
Nightly: Nightly/59.0a1 - Mobile/59.0a1 - Daily/59.0a1 - SeaMonkey/2.55a1

The Tinsmith
 
Posts: 703
Joined: December 24th, 2011, 10:29 am

Post Posted September 24th, 2017, 2:45 pm

Maybe because Microsoft and many others are doing away with the standard horizontal text menu.



Now I am really confused.

First I do not have the Firefox "Menu Bar" displayed. Not for a long time. But ALT does bring it back temporarily and if I chose to "customize" the UI I can, with a check mark in a menu, have the "Menu Bar" always display. In Firefox. Same goes for Thunderbird.

And none of this, not one bit of it , has anything to do with Microsoft or Windows 10.

As I said. I am really confused by your comment. As well as his.

Mouse5
 
Posts: 1320
Joined: April 11th, 2014, 7:34 pm
Location: Sydney Australia

Post Posted September 24th, 2017, 3:00 pm

WaltS48 wrote:
The Tinsmith wrote:
ICQ5 wrote:just installed Nightly, im happy that the " Menu Bar " is still there , , , apart from that it seems to be working ok.



What made you think that the Menu Bar was/is going away? I must have missed that rumor. :-)


Most of it is accessible from the Library and Menu Button.

Maybe they were reading about Headless Mode. https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/Fir ... dless_mode

yeah im not a Great fan of that method, when i go to that button an click on Bookmarks, it doesnt show all my bookmarks an in a proper order, untill i click on " Show all bookmarks " , i dont like that behavior, so i'll instead use the sidebar bookmarks

The Tinsmith
 
Posts: 703
Joined: December 24th, 2011, 10:29 am

Post Posted September 24th, 2017, 3:32 pm

yeah im not a Great fan of that method, when i go to that button an click on Bookmarks


I am still not sure that I understand your problem. You are using Firefox v55.0. I am using Firefox 58.0 and the "Menu Bar" is still there.

As for this "Developer UI" that Walt mentioned. If I read correctly it has to be 'turned on' (enabled) so if you don't want that don't do that. :-)

Have a great day.

Mark12547
 
Posts: 140
Joined: May 13th, 2017, 11:36 am
Location: Oregon, United States, Earth

Post Posted September 24th, 2017, 4:40 pm

ICQ5 wrote:yeah im not a Great fan of that method, when i go to that button an click on Bookmarks, it doesnt show all my bookmarks an in a proper order, untill i click on " Show all bookmarks " , i dont like that behavior, so i'll instead use the sidebar bookmarks


My method is to use the Bookmarks Toolbar, and then have the first time in the Bookmarks Toolbar be a folder that has a folder system of bookmarks in it, all arranged the way I want them.

The down side is that some vertical space is used by the Bookmarks Toolbar.

The up side is that all my bookmarks are quickly available, with my choice of which bookmarks to always be displayed to the Bookmarks Toolbar (I picked the ones that I frequent most often).

The same trick also works in Chrome, where I started doing this, and carried the practice forward when I switched back to Firefox it was Firefox 53.

bjherbison
 
Posts: 711
Joined: October 6th, 2003, 5:40 am
Location: Bolton, MA, US

Post Posted September 24th, 2017, 4:45 pm

My approach for bookmarks is to use the Bookmarks widget on a toolbar (not the Library widget). I click on it and most of my bookmarks use is handled from the keyboard on that menu.

Like others above I have the menu toolbar turned off, as well as the bookmarks toolbar. I want as much useful space as possible for web pages.

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest