MozillaZine

Cannot load a particular page on a site

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Reflective

User avatar
 
Posts: 2101
Joined: February 15th, 2007, 11:13 am

Post Posted October 4th, 2017, 4:18 am

The following site is the FX rates page of a Thai bank which I use to check exchange rates. For some unknown reason the page partially loads for a split second and then reverts to a blank page: https://www.kasikornbank.com/EN/Rate/Pa ... hange.aspx

I tried it in safe mode and also created a new test profile but it behaves the same way. However, it loads correctly in IE11 so I'm assuming that it might be related to ESR which I'm using.

Could someone please check it with either FF55+ or with a prior version other than ESR 52.4.0 As far as I can remember it was working with ESR 52.3.0

TheVisitor
 
Posts: 4353
Joined: May 13th, 2012, 10:43 am

Post Posted October 4th, 2017, 4:22 am

Loads OK here on latest Nightly.

Reflective

User avatar
 
Posts: 2101
Joined: February 15th, 2007, 11:13 am

Post Posted October 4th, 2017, 4:31 am

TheVisitor wrote:Loads OK here on latest Nightly.

Hmmmm... looks to be related to ESR 52.4.0 then if a brand new profile doesn't fix it.

Reflective

User avatar
 
Posts: 2101
Joined: February 15th, 2007, 11:13 am

Post Posted October 4th, 2017, 4:38 am

Anyone else with ESR 52.4.0 have the same problem as I do?

Duck_Dodgers
 
Posts: 25
Joined: December 6th, 2007, 3:47 pm
Location: 24th-and-a-half-Century

Post Posted October 4th, 2017, 5:47 am

I just got the same results with ESR 52.4.0 when I tried your link.

I run NoScript and block everything, but I allowed everything for this site. I also disabled uBlock Origin for that site, to no avail. Every refresh shows the page starting to load, and then it goes blank.

Mike
Quack! Quack!

Reflective

User avatar
 
Posts: 2101
Joined: February 15th, 2007, 11:13 am

Post Posted October 4th, 2017, 7:11 am

Duck_Dodgers wrote:I just got the same results with ESR 52.4.0 when I tried your link.

I run NoScript and block everything, but I allowed everything for this site. I also disabled uBlock Origin for that site, to no avail. Every refresh shows the page starting to load, and then it goes blank.

Mike

Thanks Mike. It would appear from what you mentioned that ESR 52.4.0 is the culprit.

Lnwdz
 
Posts: 150
Joined: June 12th, 2012, 7:59 am

Post Posted October 4th, 2017, 7:30 am

I have a few old versions of Firefox portable:
40.0 through ESR 52.3 all seem to fail.
36.0 and 37.0 work, except all colors are gray.
29.0 and 34.0.5 work. Colors are correct.

Chrome 44 and Chromium 49 partially work. All colors are gray.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 17503
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted October 4th, 2017, 8:35 am

That's a strange one.
Has something to do with "styles", but what, haven't a clue.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Lnwdz
 
Posts: 150
Joined: June 12th, 2012, 7:59 am

Post Posted October 4th, 2017, 10:02 am

It looks good if layout.css.filters.enabled is changed to false.

Reflective

User avatar
 
Posts: 2101
Joined: February 15th, 2007, 11:13 am

Post Posted October 4th, 2017, 11:09 am

Lnwdz wrote:It looks good if layout.css.filters.enabled is changed to false.

You're a genius my friend!

But how on earth did you figure that one out if you don't mind me asking?

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 17503
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted October 4th, 2017, 11:30 am

Suppose the bigger question is why the page is as it is that it requires a change to that Pref - obviously its defaulted to what it is for some reason, & how might flipping it affect other websites?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Grumpus

User avatar
 
Posts: 11520
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 4:23 am
Location: ... Da' Swamp

Post Posted October 4th, 2017, 11:50 am

It's the site and how busy it is, initially got a server timed out and on a retry the page loaded.
Gotta figure there's a lot of connections going on.
layout.css.filters.enabled set to true on my system.

You might try and extend the connection time in about:config by boostingthe numbers a little for the following:
network.ftp.idleConnectionTimeout - try 600
network.http.keep-alive.timeout - try 600

Reflective

User avatar
 
Posts: 2101
Joined: February 15th, 2007, 11:13 am

Post Posted October 4th, 2017, 11:52 am

therube wrote:Suppose the bigger question is why the page is as it is that it requires a change to that Pref - obviously its defaulted to what it is for some reason, & how might flipping it affect other websites?

When I was trying to troubleshoot it this morning I thought that perhaps the IP might have changed and tried to navigate to it via the home page. That's when I noticed the whole site was grey like Lnwdz mentioned in another post earlier. On that occasion though I couldn't find the link to the FX rates even.

But since the Thai government had instituted a color ban on all sites for a whole year to mourn the death of King Bhumibol Adulyadej I figured it had something to do with that. But with the Pref change that now loads in its normal colors as well. Weird.

Reflective

User avatar
 
Posts: 2101
Joined: February 15th, 2007, 11:13 am

Post Posted October 4th, 2017, 12:16 pm

Grumpus wrote:It's the site and how busy it is, initially got a server timed out and on a retry the page loaded.
Gotta figure there's a lot of connections going on.
layout.css.filters.enabled set to true on my system.

You might try and extend the connection time in about:config by boostingthe numbers a little for the following:
network.ftp.idleConnectionTimeout - try 600
network.http.keep-alive.timeout - try 600

Resetting layout.css.filters.enabled back to its default "true" reintroduces the problem again. If it was a timeout issue why does that particular pref correct it Grumpus?

Lnwdz
 
Posts: 150
Joined: June 12th, 2012, 7:59 am

Post Posted October 4th, 2017, 12:37 pm

I've never heard of a color ban! It does explain the color problem.

How I arrived at that pref: I tried changing View > Page Style to "No Style" and text appeared. So I looked through the css prefs and saw one that had "filters" in its name, and guessed that a filter would be needed to change colors to grays. So it was mainly a guess. And it's still unknown exactly why the page is blank for some of us when the pref is true.

Firefox 34 had color because its pref was false by default.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests