MozillaZine

~ Well, this is embarrassing ~

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
coothead

User avatar
 
Posts: 23
Joined: June 1st, 2004, 1:10 pm
Location: london, uk

Post Posted October 5th, 2017, 7:30 am

Hi there peeps,

Since updating to Firefox 56.0 (64-bit) I now get this..

Image

...almost every time that I open the browser. :roll:

This even happens after having used CCleaner extensively . :roll:

Any thoughts about this strange behaviour?

coothead

Grumpus

User avatar
 
Posts: 11525
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 4:23 am
Location: ... Da' Swamp

Post Posted October 5th, 2017, 7:42 am

CCleaner is more than likely the problem, does not play well with Firefox.

coothead

User avatar
 
Posts: 23
Joined: June 1st, 2004, 1:10 pm
Location: london, uk

Post Posted October 5th, 2017, 7:59 am

Hi there Grumpus

thank you for your reply. ;)

Do you have any idea why CCleaner would wait until version 56.0
before deciding to upset my Firefox browser ? :roll:

Perhaps, you have a link that could give me further information
about your Cleaner assertion.

Regards,

coothead

allande
 
Posts: 42
Joined: July 20th, 2017, 11:58 am

Post Posted October 5th, 2017, 8:09 am

This thread has a similar ccleaner leading to Firefox acting like there was a crash situation: viewtopic.php?f=38&t=3033885
In the meantime, unchecking Firefox in ccleaner should fix it, eventually if you want to encourage a fix try posting on the ccleaner forum.

coothead

User avatar
 
Posts: 23
Joined: June 1st, 2004, 1:10 pm
Location: london, uk

Post Posted October 5th, 2017, 8:19 am

Hi there allande,

thank you for that link. ;)


coothead

coothead

User avatar
 
Posts: 23
Joined: June 1st, 2004, 1:10 pm
Location: london, uk

Post Posted October 5th, 2017, 8:36 am

Hi there peeps,

in the Firefox application of CCleaner, unchecking the
session option appears to resolve the issue. ;)

Thanks for pointing me in the right direction. :)

Regards,

coothead

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 37479
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted October 5th, 2017, 8:57 am

A FWIW...
Do not let CCleaner anywhere near either Firefox or Thunderbird.
It has a nasty habit of "removing" stuff it shouldn't.
Just open CCleaner > Applications Tab & remove all instances ref; to both programs.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/IntelĀ® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-50.0-56.0.1/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. Conficker Test. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests