MozillaZine

The first official 20171006 builds are out

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
bjherbison
 
Posts: 711
Joined: October 6th, 2003, 5:40 am
Location: Bolton, MA, US

Post Posted October 6th, 2017, 9:23 am

Alice0775 wrote:Firefox is unusable, because print output is quite broken. Thanks Mozilla.
Could you clarify which version is broken and what is broken?
I've seen no new problems with today's Nightly.

Omega X

User avatar
 
Posts: 7958
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 2:38 pm
Location: A Parallel Dimension...

Post Posted October 6th, 2017, 9:57 am

Looks like the slow paint bug has a patch.
Latest: Firefox/57.0.2 *ESR/52.5 - Mobile/57.0.1 - Thunderbird/52.5 - SeaMonkey/2.49.1
Nightly: Nightly/59.0a1 - Mobile/59.0a1 - Daily/59.0a1 - SeaMonkey/2.55a1

streetwolf

User avatar
 
Posts: 2151
Joined: August 21st, 2011, 8:07 am
Location: NJ (USA)

Post Posted October 6th, 2017, 11:59 am

Is it just me or does the thingy that goes back and forth on the tabs sometimes keeps going on forever even if the page is fully loaded?
Intel Core i7-8700K CPU @ 5.1GHz | Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 7 | Corsair 1000W PSU | Corsair H115i CPU Cooler | Corsair 64GB RAM @ 3.7GHz | EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 11GB | Dual ASUS PA249Q 24" LCDs | 2-512GB Samsung 960 PRO M.2 | 4TB WD Black | 2TB Seagate | Windows 10 Pro x64 | FIOS 1Gb

bjherbison
 
Posts: 711
Joined: October 6th, 2003, 5:40 am
Location: Bolton, MA, US

Post Posted October 6th, 2017, 12:24 pm

The times I've investigated the back-and-forth thingy continue there has always been something on the page that wasn't fully loaded. But I haven't investigated every instance.

Lurtz
 
Posts: 219
Joined: June 12th, 2016, 12:25 pm

Post Posted October 6th, 2017, 12:25 pm

streetwolf wrote:Is it just me or does the thingy that goes back and forth on the tabs sometimes keeps going on forever even if the page is fully loaded?

Haven't noticed that. Sometimes it goes on forever, but not when the page is fully loaded.

Mark12547
 
Posts: 143
Joined: May 13th, 2017, 11:36 am
Location: Oregon, United States, Earth

Post Posted October 6th, 2017, 12:26 pm

streetwolf wrote:Is it just me or does the thingy that goes back and forth on the tabs sometimes keeps going on forever even if the page is fully loaded?


I have seen the Cyclon Eye continue on occasion until I load a different page. Since it is only once every 1 to 3 days, and sometimes on the same website and sometimes on a different web site, I haven't figured the cause other than speculating that on rare occasion Firefox thinks it hasn't received all the data for a page.

streetwolf

User avatar
 
Posts: 2151
Joined: August 21st, 2011, 8:07 am
Location: NJ (USA)

Post Posted October 6th, 2017, 12:39 pm

Mark12547 wrote:
streetwolf wrote:Is it just me or does the thingy that goes back and forth on the tabs sometimes keeps going on forever even if the page is fully loaded?


I have seen the Cyclon Eye continue on occasion until I load a different page. Since it is only once every 1 to 3 days, and sometimes on the same website and sometimes on a different web site, I haven't figured the cause other than speculating that on rare occasion Firefox thinks it hasn't received all the data for a page.


I get it very often. Seems to happen mostly when there is only one tab.
Intel Core i7-8700K CPU @ 5.1GHz | Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 7 | Corsair 1000W PSU | Corsair H115i CPU Cooler | Corsair 64GB RAM @ 3.7GHz | EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 11GB | Dual ASUS PA249Q 24" LCDs | 2-512GB Samsung 960 PRO M.2 | 4TB WD Black | 2TB Seagate | Windows 10 Pro x64 | FIOS 1Gb

Mark12547
 
Posts: 143
Joined: May 13th, 2017, 11:36 am
Location: Oregon, United States, Earth

Post Posted October 6th, 2017, 1:15 pm

I usually have multiple tabs open.

I know I had lots of lost packets (and often pages not finishing loading) back when I was using Avast Internet Security, but far fewer since switching to Norton Security Suite (provided free from Comcast).

streetwolf

User avatar
 
Posts: 2151
Joined: August 21st, 2011, 8:07 am
Location: NJ (USA)

Post Posted October 6th, 2017, 2:10 pm

It appears, so far, that I fixed my problem. I moved favicons.sqlite out of my profile folder and let Fx create a new one. I started to go to sites and I didn't have the ball thingy on the tab go back and forth forever. I guess it was looking for the favicon for the site. Unfortunately something else weird happened. Some sites with a favicon didn't update the icon on my bookmarks (isn't there a pref for this?). So I copied my original favicons.sqlite back and I don't have a problem and all my favicons are present.
Intel Core i7-8700K CPU @ 5.1GHz | Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 7 | Corsair 1000W PSU | Corsair H115i CPU Cooler | Corsair 64GB RAM @ 3.7GHz | EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 11GB | Dual ASUS PA249Q 24" LCDs | 2-512GB Samsung 960 PRO M.2 | 4TB WD Black | 2TB Seagate | Windows 10 Pro x64 | FIOS 1Gb

Mark12547
 
Posts: 143
Joined: May 13th, 2017, 11:36 am
Location: Oregon, United States, Earth

Post Posted October 6th, 2017, 2:31 pm

streetwolf, are you running with Menu -> Options -> Privacy & Security, "History" section, "Nightly will" set to "Never remember history"? If so, not remembering the favicon when the page is first bookmarked is a known bug.

streetwolf

User avatar
 
Posts: 2151
Joined: August 21st, 2011, 8:07 am
Location: NJ (USA)

Post Posted October 6th, 2017, 2:40 pm

Mark12547 wrote:streetwolf, are you running with Menu -> Options -> Privacy & Security, "History" section, "Nightly will" set to "Never remember history"? If so, not remembering the favicon when the page is first bookmarked is a known bug.


I'm remembering my history.
Intel Core i7-8700K CPU @ 5.1GHz | Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 7 | Corsair 1000W PSU | Corsair H115i CPU Cooler | Corsair 64GB RAM @ 3.7GHz | EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 11GB | Dual ASUS PA249Q 24" LCDs | 2-512GB Samsung 960 PRO M.2 | 4TB WD Black | 2TB Seagate | Windows 10 Pro x64 | FIOS 1Gb

TheVisitor
 
Posts: 4454
Joined: May 13th, 2012, 10:43 am

Post Posted October 6th, 2017, 4:45 pm

Today's evening Nightly appears to not being able to start or something... Been pending for about an hour and half now....

EDIT: Looks like it completed finally...

Josa
 
Posts: 2715
Joined: July 28th, 2009, 4:52 pm

Post Posted October 6th, 2017, 9:58 pm


Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest