MozillaZine

[Ext] uBlock Origin

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
delicacy1
 
Posts: 304
Joined: September 28th, 2016, 11:25 am

Post Posted October 9th, 2017, 12:02 pm

I'm facing a strange problem, i never had it with adblock plus & i don't remember having it with ublock before, i donno what happened, maybe a filter update, i don't know..

issue: when a website is affected by a filter, the entire page refreshes itself one to 4 times depending on the number of filters..... .

i've never had pages refreshing themselves because a filter was working on a specific page & i know it's ubo because when i disable it on a specific page or another with filters running on it,
no refreshing effect is experienced....

barbaz
 
Posts: 1680
Joined: October 1st, 2014, 3:25 pm

Post Posted October 10th, 2017, 4:39 pm

I'm confused about something.

uBlock Origin 1.14.14
SeaMonkey 2.49.1

Steps to reproduce -

1) add this filter
Code: Select all
||adobe.com^$popup

2) visit http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/about/
3) in the right sidebar of the page, left-click the link "Games".

Result: Link opens in a new tab, as expected, but the original tab is closed. Logger reports this -
Code: Select all
||adobe.com^$popup   --   popunder   http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/about/


My questions:

1) Why is the Adobe tab classified as a popunder upon clicking that link?

2) I re-read https://github.com/gorhill/uBlock/wiki/Static-filter-syntax but I didn't see anything that says $popup implies $popunder. Is this intended behavior?
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!

gorhill
 
Posts: 155
Joined: February 10th, 2015, 8:00 am

Post Posted October 12th, 2017, 2:48 pm

barbaz wrote:2) I re-read https://github.com/gorhill/uBlock/wiki/Static-filter-syntax but I didn't see anything that says $popup implies $popunder. Is this intended behavior?

$popup does imply $popunder when the filter matches part of the hostname, i.e. when the filter is specific enough. For example, ?popid=$popup would not be tried as a popunder, because too generic (this would cause too many false positives). Yours however is specific.

However, in the current case there should be no match, because the source tab from where the link was opened was not redirected to another page. Clearly something I overlooked.

barbaz
 
Posts: 1680
Joined: October 1st, 2014, 3:25 pm

Post Posted October 12th, 2017, 2:59 pm

gorhill wrote:$popup does imply $popunder when the filter matches part of the hostname, i.e. when the filter is specific enough. For example, ?popid=$popup would not be tried as a popunder, because too generic (this would cause too many false positives). Yours however is specific.

Thanks gorhill for the explanation!

gorhill wrote:However, in the current case there should be no match, because the source tab from where the link was opened was not redirected to another page. Clearly something I overlooked.

Would you like this to be filed as a formal issue?
*Always* check the changelogs BEFORE updating that important software!

gorhill
 
Posts: 155
Joined: February 10th, 2015, 8:00 am

Post Posted October 13th, 2017, 7:37 am

barbaz wrote:Would you like this to be filed as a formal issue?

Somebody already did it: https://github.com/gorhill/uBlock/issues/3129

Issue (and other popup-related issues) is fixed in 1.14.15b1 (published on AMO).

Mouse4
 
Posts: 260
Joined: December 27th, 2017, 4:03 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted January 27th, 2018, 7:57 pm

no action happening on the ublock origin github? anyone know anything

NickJH
 
Posts: 428
Joined: November 4th, 2003, 7:28 am
Location: Hampshire, England

Post Posted January 28th, 2018, 2:11 am

Last commit 8 days ago (https://github.com/gorhill/uBlock). What do you mean?

Mouse4
 
Posts: 260
Joined: December 27th, 2017, 4:03 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted January 28th, 2018, 2:15 am

NickJH wrote:Last commit 8 days ago (https://github.com/gorhill/uBlock). What do you mean?

yeah i saw that, usually i see more Action on his Github an its been awhile since he either made a new RC

Mouse4
 
Posts: 260
Joined: December 27th, 2017, 4:03 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted February 14th, 2018, 10:48 pm

I've received an email from Mozilla informing me that starting February 22nd, 2018, the beta channel on AMO will no longer be available for developers to publish beta versions of their extensions.

As per email, those using the beta version of uBO will be automatically moved to the latest release version of uBO when the release version become greater than the last version available in the beta channel.

I don't know whether this will work and whether this is allowed, but I plan on creating a special "dev build" version of uBO on AMO just like there is a dev build version of uBO in the Chrome store. If this works, I will post more details about this.

Firefox

I've received an email from Mozilla informing me that starting February 22nd, 2018, the beta channel on AMO will no longer be available for developers to publish beta versions of their extensions.

As per email, those using the beta version of uBO will be automatically moved to the latest release version of uBO when the release version become greater than the last version available in the beta channel.

Given this, the new uBlock Origin beta version is now located at: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... rigin-dev/. (see update above).

Keep in mind this is a distinct extension from uBlock Origin stable on AMO, and this means they can't share settings, and the first time you install that dev build, all the settings/filters/rules will be the default ones. If needed, use the backup/restore feature to transfer settings between both the stable and dev build.


Update:
I've received feedback from AMO, asking me to instead create a self-hosted version of the beta version of uBlock Origin:
Please submit your development builds as self-hosted versions to your original add-on.


So essentially publishing a dev build on AMO is being refused. I will need to read more about self-hosted versions and how (and if) this can be done on GitHub.

The Mechanic

User avatar
 
Posts: 877
Joined: December 24th, 2011, 10:29 am

Post Posted February 18th, 2018, 5:43 am

I saw this and I think it is a.. can't say that here.. idea.

Mouse4
 
Posts: 260
Joined: December 27th, 2017, 4:03 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted February 18th, 2018, 6:22 pm

whats the point of even having AMO if Gorhill an most likely others have to host there Beta/Dev builds on there own site(s) . an ya wonder why Chrome has the Marketshare

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 20102
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted February 19th, 2018, 7:31 am

Mouse4 wrote:whats the point of even having AMO

To put out safe and stable addon release versions to Joe Public. This change is the first sensible thing that AMO have done in ages.

Mouse4 wrote:an ya wonder why Chrome has the Marketshare

https://developer.android.com/distribut ... index.html
https://support.google.com/googleplay/a ... 0?hl=en-GB

Except that Google aren't daft and keep users pretty much away from betas....which is pretty ironic seeing as it was Google who first corrupted the meaning of the term 'beta software' with their GMail, which they had open to the public as beta for ages.

Google never make the mistake of over-estimating their users and giving them a few extra hoops/steps to jump through is a guaranteed way of weeding out the users/children who only want beta versions for 'I'm using the latest' reasons and yet are the first to complain when something blows up, as betas can.....er, because they are development software.
Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

Slickone
 
Posts: 169
Joined: February 6th, 2008, 3:02 pm

Post Posted March 6th, 2018, 2:21 pm

I'm using a fresh install of Pale Moon Portable 26.5.0, and uBlock Origin 1.15.11b6, with no other add-ons, but it's not blocking anything, and no filters will update. Any ideas on things for me to try? It worked fine before with the same version of PMP, but an older version of uBO (can't remember which). I am using the same uBO on Pale Moon (non portable) 27 without any issues.

mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 9260
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted March 6th, 2018, 2:30 pm

Slickone wrote: Any ideas on things for me to try?
Er yeah, how about asking at the correct forum?
https://forum.palemoon.org/index.php?si ... cc6f141835
#KeepFightingMichael

Slickone
 
Posts: 169
Joined: February 6th, 2008, 3:02 pm

Post Posted March 6th, 2018, 2:34 pm

mightyglydd wrote:
Slickone wrote: Any ideas on things for me to try?
Er yeah, how about asking at the correct forum?
https://forum.palemoon.org/index.php?si ... cc6f141835

The uBO extension thread happens to be in the Firefox forum.

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest