MozillaZine

Seamonkey does not show up in Windows "remove programs"

User Help for Seamonkey and Mozilla Suite
farkle
 
Posts: 11
Joined: August 20th, 2008, 8:35 am

Post Posted October 15th, 2017, 4:56 pm

I have just installed SeaMonkey 2.48 on my Windows 10 system, replacing the 2.46 version.

It put a shortcut on the desktop, but the start panel and the "Remove programs" screen do not report it. They still report the 2.46 version.

SeaMonkey seems to work fine. All the profile setup is in place, mail works, bookmarks are OK, and the password manager appears to be all correct.

I downloaded the English version from the Mozilla web site, and executed the file as I would normally do. No indications of problems with the installer, and SeaMonkey is installed under my user name in the AppData/local directory. I did not invoke administrator privileges for the install. Did I miss something in the install instructions?

My sense of security for my system is distressed to think that an installer supplied by Mozilla can install an application and hide it from all the normal Windows functionality [isn't that a contradiction in terms - normal Windows!!].

Any ideas?

Thanks

RM

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 18023
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted October 17th, 2017, 1:35 pm

I'd doubt there is a second "installer" somewhere.
Only a discrepancy in the version number displayed.

Does about: show 2.48?
(Your UA does.)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

farkle
 
Posts: 11
Joined: August 20th, 2008, 8:35 am

Post Posted October 17th, 2017, 2:22 pm

therube:

It shows 2.48 on the about SeaMonkey page as well as the file name on the download.

Build identifier: 20170707010522

I hadn't thought about a second installer - in fact I don't remember when I last did an install. I have always let the system update whenever required.

RM

frg
 
Posts: 451
Joined: December 15th, 2015, 1:20 pm

Post Posted October 18th, 2017, 3:54 am

I have seen this occasionally. At least 2 times with Windows 10 permanent Beta aka. all versions. Seems to be a problem with Windows itself. Either reinstall SeaMonkey or just ignore it till the next release comes out. Best fix is to install a stable operating system like Windows 7 or 8.1 (with classic shell).

Return to SeaMonkey Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests