MozillaZine

[EXT] Forecastfox (fix version)

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
85rx-7se
 
Posts: 235
Joined: March 10th, 2006, 12:41 pm

Post Posted October 19th, 2017, 5:30 am

Firefox is at 52.4.1ESR .. you may want to update it.

pag77
 
Posts: 1379
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted October 19th, 2017, 7:32 am

tweetiepooh wrote:New version has deleterious affect on Firefox 52ESR 64 bit on Linux (OpenSuse 42.2). When active pages load and render slowly.

pegasusjavea wrote:Just installed v4.9 in Firefox ESR v52.4.0 (64-bit) on Windows 7. On hover, the Now and 5 day images flicker all the time and the 'Click to collapse' does not work.


Thank you for your bug-report for old browser version! Fixed!

version 4.10
https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/forecastfox-fix-version/
https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/forecastfox-fix-version/boljdehmejbffnfiiicckjhafabdepnd

changes:
hotfix: the algorithm is re-loop... but fixed (corrupt chrome.tabs.onUpdated in older browser versions)!

smsmith
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 19375
Joined: December 7th, 2004, 8:51 pm
Location: Indiana

Post Posted October 19th, 2017, 11:13 am

Not sure how much you are following the Nightly builds, but with today's Nightly 58 build, none of the buttons on the options page work. For instance, you cannot change the icon pack, or select in which corner the toolbar goes.
Give a man a fish, and he eats for a day. Teach a man to fish, and he eats for a lifetime.
I like poetry, long walks on the beach and poking dead things with a stick.
Please do not PM me for personal support. Keep posts here in the Forums instead and we all learn.

pag77
 
Posts: 1379
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted October 19th, 2017, 1:59 pm

smsmith wrote:Not sure how much you are following the Nightly builds, but with today's Nightly 58 build, none of the buttons on the options page work. For instance, you cannot change the icon pack, or select in which corner the toolbar goes.


Thank you for your bug-report!

version 4.11
https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/forecastfox-fix-version/
https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/forecastfox-fix-version/boljdehmejbffnfiiicckjhafabdepnd

changes:
fixed: minor bug fixes for Firefox Nightly

TheVisitor
 
Posts: 4411
Joined: May 13th, 2012, 10:43 am

Post Posted October 19th, 2017, 4:45 pm

pag77 wrote:
smsmith wrote:Not sure how much you are following the Nightly builds, but with today's Nightly 58 build, none of the buttons on the options page work. For instance, you cannot change the icon pack, or select in which corner the toolbar goes.


Thank you for your bug-report!

version 4.11
https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/forecastfox-fix-version/
https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/forecastfox-fix-version/boljdehmejbffnfiiicckjhafabdepnd

changes:
fixed: minor bug fixes for Firefox Nightly


I just updated to 4.11 and the buttons still do not work. clicking the buttons to place it in the corners does nothing. Is the display supposed to appear in the corner selected from the button on the Navigation bar ?>

pag77
 
Posts: 1379
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted October 19th, 2017, 10:24 pm

> I just updated to 4.11 and the buttons still do not work. clicking the buttons to place it in the corners does nothing. Is the display supposed to appear in the corner selected from the button on the Navigation bar ?>

updated from 4.09-4.10? please reset settings and reload settings-page:
Image

TheVisitor
 
Posts: 4411
Joined: May 13th, 2012, 10:43 am

Post Posted October 20th, 2017, 2:41 am

pag77 wrote:> I just updated to 4.11 and the buttons still do not work. clicking the buttons to place it in the corners does nothing. Is the display supposed to appear in the corner selected from the button on the Navigation bar ?>

updated from 4.09-4.10? please reset settings and reload settings-page:
Image



OK, that seems to have fixed it... thanks for the great work.

pegasusjavea

User avatar
 
Posts: 84
Joined: May 7th, 2005, 12:33 pm
Location: Javea, Spain

Post Posted October 20th, 2017, 2:46 am

@pag77 Thank you. I updated to v4.10. For me the problem was fixed.
I have just updated to v4.11 and everything is still OK.

pag77
 
Posts: 1379
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted October 20th, 2017, 3:12 am

TheVisitor wrote:OK, that seems to have fixed it... thanks for the great work.

pegasusjavea wrote:@pag77 Thank you. I updated to v4.10. For me the problem was fixed.
I have just updated to v4.11 and everything is still OK.

thank you for your good news! :)

nickvog
 
Posts: 1
Joined: October 20th, 2017, 4:27 am

Post Posted October 20th, 2017, 4:31 am

I have the weather forecast icon on the top right corner of the firefox active window.

IS THERE AN OPTION TO MOVE ICON AROUND ???

I just want it on the bottom right corner of my window, since now it interferes with page content underneath.

Thank u in advance.

pag77
 
Posts: 1379
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted October 20th, 2017, 5:22 am

nickvog wrote:I have the weather forecast icon on the top right corner of the firefox active window.

IS THERE AN OPTION TO MOVE ICON AROUND ???

I just want it on the bottom right corner of my window, since now it interferes with page content underneath.

Thank u in advance.

Image

zwoggl
 
Posts: 2
Joined: November 28th, 2009, 9:25 pm

Post Posted October 21st, 2017, 2:18 am

hello nickvog,
there is the setting position on the screen: here bottom right

prl-001
 
Posts: 3
Joined: November 6th, 2017, 6:32 pm

Post Posted November 6th, 2017, 7:30 pm

I seem to be getting incorrect forecast data in Forecastfox for Canberra, Australia (Forecastfox location: Canberra ACT 2601, Australia)

For example, for the next week, Forecast fox shows (date max/min):
11/7/2017 32°C/16°C
11/8/2017 32°C/18°C
11/9/2017 32°C/17°C
11/10/2017 31°C/17°C
11/11/2017 32°C/20°C
11/12/2017 31°C/18°C

However, if I go to the Accuweather Web page for Canberra's weather (https://www.accuweather.com/en/au/canbe ... cast/21921), I see
11/7/2017 19°C/3°C
11/8/2017 21°C/5°C
11/9/2017 23°C/8°C
11/10/2017 22°C/11°C
11/11/2017 32°C/20°C
11/12/2017 31°C/18°C

The Australian Bureau of Meteorology (BoM) is showing Canberra's forecast (http://www.bom.gov.au/act/forecasts/canberra.shtml) as:
11/7/2017 20°C (max)
11/8/2017 22°C/3°C
11/9/2017 25°C/4°C
11/10/2017 20°C/8°C
11/11/2017 22°C/10°C
11/12/2017 23°C/7°C

Note that the Australian BoM attributes the minimum to the morning of the forecast, so to match Accuwatather for time, the BoM minima should be one date earlier, (i.e. for 11/7/2017, 20°C/3°C, for 11/8/2017, 22°C/4°C...).

Those temperatures correspond to the forecast data on the Accuweather Web page that Forecastfox links to, which seems to link to the forecast for Acton that Accuweather selects for me as my local weather when I enter the Accuweather home page. I think the cause is that geolocation may be turning up Acton as my suburb (which is possibly the location of my ISP in canberra). Acton is a suburb in Canberra is about 5km (line of sight) from where I live. However, the map in the Acton weather page seems to indicate that the weather for "Acton, Australia" is not for "Acton, ACT, Australia" (https://www.google.com.au/maps/place/Ac ... 952618,14z), but rather for "Acton, Queensland, Australia", which seems to be a cattle property or other locality about 30km north-west of Augathella (https://www.google.com.au/maps/place/Au ... 488089,11z), in central southern Queensland, some 1000km north of Acton, ACT. It's generally rather warmer there than in Canberra.

Canberra is the national capital of Australia with a population of about 400000. Acton, Queensland is what I would describe as truly "outback Australia" and may have a population of tens of people, if that.

pag77
 
Posts: 1379
Joined: December 26th, 2013, 10:46 pm

Post Posted November 7th, 2017, 6:38 am

prl-001 wrote:I seem to be getting incorrect forecast data in Forecastfox for Canberra, Australia (Forecastfox location: Canberra ACT 2601, Australia)

Hmm.. I see this info in Forecastfox:
Image

and info in Accuweather:
https://www.accuweather.com/en/au/reid/12199/daily-weather-forecast/12199 or https://www.accuweather.com/en/au/canberra/21921/daily-weather-forecast/21921
Image

sorry, but I do not see any differences in the weather

prl-001
 
Posts: 3
Joined: November 6th, 2017, 6:32 pm

Post Posted November 7th, 2017, 5:57 pm

Yes, that's because either Forecastfox or Accuweather (probably Accuweather) is geocoding you to https://www.accuweather.com/en/au/reid/12199/daily-weather-forecast/12199, and not to https://www.accuweather.com/en/au/acton/2269354/weather-forecast/2269354 as it is for me.

The issue I'm having is that Accuweather is interpreting /acton/ as a locality ~30km outside Augathella in Queensland instead of an inner suburb of Canberra.

For non-Australian readers, the location difference I'm getting is like asking for the forecast for London, UK and getting the forecast for Nice on the French Riviera, or asking for the forecast for Washington DC and getting the forecast for northern Florida.

For non-Canberra readers, Reid and the Acton that's not 1000km away from me are both suburbs of Canberra. They're both ~4-5km from where I actually live.

However, I'm beginning to think the problem is more likely with Accuweather than with Forecastfox.

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests