MozillaZine

blank

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
r0cCZOUzA78IW
 
Posts: 7
Joined: December 28th, 2012, 3:53 pm

Post Posted October 16th, 2017, 10:47 pm

blank
Last edited by r0cCZOUzA78IW on November 8th, 2017, 12:02 am, edited 1 time in total.

vkemerlis
 
Posts: 4
Joined: October 18th, 2017, 1:52 pm

Post Posted October 18th, 2017, 1:59 pm

I have the exact same issue -- both in Firefox and Thunderbird. (macOS High Sierra 10.13; Firefox v56.0.1, Thunderbird v52.4.0.) All the keyboard shortcuts have a ~5sec lag. Interestingly, although, say, Command + T takes ~5sec, if I first click on File, and then use a keyboard shortcut, there's no lag at all!

zapato
 
Posts: 2
Joined: October 19th, 2017, 1:16 am

Post Posted October 19th, 2017, 1:22 am

Same issue on my computer (High Sierra 10.13, Firefox 56.0.1 and Thunderbird 52.4.0)

It helped for me to reinstall macOS 10.13 over the current installation. After that there was more lag when using shortcuts in firefox and thunderbird

r0cCZOUzA78IW
 
Posts: 7
Joined: December 28th, 2012, 3:53 pm

Post Posted October 19th, 2017, 2:44 pm

blank
Last edited by r0cCZOUzA78IW on November 8th, 2017, 12:02 am, edited 1 time in total.

r0cCZOUzA78IW
 
Posts: 7
Joined: December 28th, 2012, 3:53 pm

Post Posted October 19th, 2017, 2:46 pm

blank
Last edited by r0cCZOUzA78IW on November 8th, 2017, 12:02 am, edited 1 time in total.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 17822
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted October 19th, 2017, 8:19 pm

Have you restarted in Safe Mode to see if there is any difference with that?

(Antivirus interfering?)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

zapato
 
Posts: 2
Joined: October 19th, 2017, 1:16 am

Post Posted October 20th, 2017, 1:17 am

As mentioned before. I Downloaded macOS 10.13 via the AppStore and installed the operating system again (without deleting the existing installation).
After the installation the problem was gone.

vkemerlis
 
Posts: 4
Joined: October 18th, 2017, 1:52 pm

Post Posted October 20th, 2017, 7:09 am

therube wrote:Have you restarted in Safe Mode to see if there is any difference with that?

(Antivirus interfering?)


Nope, no difference. Safe More, Refresh, Reinstall, and different profile(s) didn't work. (Re: antivirus, no I don't have one.)

vkemerlis
 
Posts: 4
Joined: October 18th, 2017, 1:52 pm

Post Posted October 20th, 2017, 7:12 am

zapato wrote:As mentioned before. I Downloaded macOS 10.13 via the AppStore and installed the operating system again (without deleting the existing installation).
After the installation the problem was gone.


Thx, I'll give it a try.

RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10245
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted October 20th, 2017, 1:42 pm

.
FWIW just tried [Command + T] and [Command + N] running macOS High Sierra 10.13 with both FF56.0 and FF57b10. The results were instantaneous on my Mac Pro.

.
FF 57.0 - FF 58b4 - Palemoon 27.3.0 - TB 52.4 - Mac OSX 10.13.1
Computers I've used: IBM 7094/UNIVAC 1108/IBM 360/DEC PDP11/DEC VAX-11 780/DEC VAXstation 8000/Sun SPARCstation 2/Mac from 1984 to 2017

r0cCZOUzA78IW
 
Posts: 7
Joined: December 28th, 2012, 3:53 pm

Post Posted October 21st, 2017, 2:31 pm

blank
Last edited by r0cCZOUzA78IW on November 8th, 2017, 12:03 am, edited 1 time in total.

GrimJarune
 
Posts: 2
Joined: October 24th, 2017, 12:02 am

Post Posted October 24th, 2017, 12:07 am

I have the same issue :
MacBook Pro 2013
High Sierra 10.13
Firefox 56.0.1

I could add that this problem appeared from nowhere : no OSX update, no Firefox Update, or any other update was done by me. Just at one moment, a week ago, each shortcut started to take 5 sec ...

GrimJarune
 
Posts: 2
Joined: October 24th, 2017, 12:02 am

Post Posted October 24th, 2017, 4:54 am

Ok, I found a solution for me :

Onyx > Automation > Run Tasks (those by default) > Restart Computer > Firefox is back to normal :):):)

Link for Onyx if you don't have it already : https://www.titanium-software.fr/en/onyx.html

r0cCZOUzA78IW
 
Posts: 7
Joined: December 28th, 2012, 3:53 pm

Post Posted October 24th, 2017, 10:36 pm

blank
Last edited by r0cCZOUzA78IW on November 8th, 2017, 12:03 am, edited 1 time in total.

vkemerlis
 
Posts: 4
Joined: October 18th, 2017, 1:52 pm

Post Posted October 26th, 2017, 11:30 pm

henders254 wrote:
GrimJarune wrote:Ok, I found a solution for me :

Onyx > Automation > Run Tasks (those by default) > Restart Computer > Firefox is back to normal :):):)

Link for Onyx if you don't have it already : https://www.titanium-software.fr/en/onyx.html


That has solved my problem too! It has become a lot snappier as well! Thanks.


Ditto.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: IBMtown and 15 guests