MozillaZine

Open Links in New Tab (FF57)

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
FirefoxNoAddons
 
Posts: 4
Joined: April 19th, 2017, 7:54 am

Post Posted October 27th, 2017, 11:45 am

Good afternoon all,
I am currently using FF57B12. In previous versions, I used TabMixPlus (not FF57 compatible), mainly for the "open everything in a new tab" option. This worked for links, bookmark bar, bookmarks, etc. In FF57, I cannot find any setting, tweak or addon that will allow this. SHIFT+CLICKING or MIDDLE+CLICKING isn't really an option for me.

Are there are any additional settings (or updated addons) that allow anything clicked to be opened in a new tab ?

JayhawksRock

User avatar
 
Posts: 10432
Joined: October 24th, 2010, 8:51 am

Post Posted October 27th, 2017, 12:19 pm

How about a Ctrl+Click on the link
Works for me on my laptop
"The trouble with quotes on the internet is you never know if they are genuine" ...Abraham Lincoln

Tony-E

User avatar
 
Posts: 8771
Joined: November 5th, 2004, 11:28 am

Post Posted October 27th, 2017, 12:38 pm

You can get a couple of these by modifying settings in about:config

Bookmarks
browser.tabs.loadBookmarksInTabs - set to true

Search results
browser.search.openintab - set to true

The open link in new tab add-on may help (not used it myself) - https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... h-new-tab/

FirefoxNoAddons
 
Posts: 4
Joined: April 19th, 2017, 7:54 am

Post Posted October 27th, 2017, 12:50 pm

Thanks Tony-E ! The combination of the 2 settings and addon are working.

Mory
 
Posts: 26
Joined: October 21st, 2017, 9:25 am

Post Posted October 28th, 2017, 6:06 am

hi,

thank you both of you
Exactly what I needed

wright76878
 
Posts: 691
Joined: July 9th, 2004, 8:05 am

Post Posted October 29th, 2017, 10:09 am

The link to an addon worked for me
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... h-new-tab/
but not the about:config changes
So far have Ublock origin, Zoompage WE, and Stylus to replace old add-ons
Waiting for auto-open sidebar and hide tab bar when there are no tabs

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 2747
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted October 29th, 2017, 10:11 am

but not the about:config changes

you need to restart firefox. check these settings again after restart - if not set then your profile is damaged.

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: sciguyryan and 3 guests