MozillaZine

new tabs

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
coolmanoh
 
Posts: 93
Joined: November 17th, 2005, 10:38 pm

Post Posted October 30th, 2017, 4:39 pm

How do I get a new tab to come up blank? Right now when I start a new tab I get "Local Weather", "News", "Tips to Increase Speed" and "Speed Guide". Below that I get a search bar and 8 social media icons. I don't want any of this stuff-just a blank page with the URL bar blank.

Tony-E

User avatar
 
Posts: 8768
Joined: November 5th, 2004, 11:28 am

Post Posted October 30th, 2017, 4:44 pm

On the new tab page, click on the cog in the top right to open the settings, then de-select all the options

coolmanoh
 
Posts: 93
Joined: November 17th, 2005, 10:38 pm

Post Posted October 30th, 2017, 4:53 pm

There is no cog in the top right of the new tab.

Tony-E

User avatar
 
Posts: 8768
Joined: November 5th, 2004, 11:28 am

Post Posted October 30th, 2017, 5:10 pm

Check your list of add-ons, I think you may have an add-on installed that changes the new tab page. Uninstall it and you can then modify the preferences for the built in new tab page.

There are many add-ons that modify the new tab page, look for one whose name contains either tab, start, speed or dial

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 17806
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted October 30th, 2017, 6:39 pm

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

coolmanoh
 
Posts: 93
Joined: November 17th, 2005, 10:38 pm

Post Posted November 1st, 2017, 8:51 pm

Where is this gear icon everybody's talking about?

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 37610
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted November 1st, 2017, 10:09 pm

Hi,
Have you bothered to check the link/thread that "therube" posted...^^.?
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/IntelĀ® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-56.0.1/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

coolmanoh
 
Posts: 93
Joined: November 17th, 2005, 10:38 pm

Post Posted November 2nd, 2017, 10:09 am

Yes I did. I don't know exactly what I did but new tabs now come up blank. However, in the area where the Download, Home, and Bookmarks icons are located there are now 4 additional icons: "Save to Packet", "Firefox Screenshots", "Web Search by Recipestab" and "New Tab - Settings", which is fine with me as long as I can still get blank new tabs.

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 37610
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted November 2nd, 2017, 10:54 am

Hi,
It sounds as though you've been into the Customize palette & possibly selected the defaults.
If you do not want those additional icons, open the ^ CP & drag them back into it.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/IntelĀ® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-56.0.1/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

coolmanoh
 
Posts: 93
Joined: November 17th, 2005, 10:38 pm

Post Posted November 15th, 2017, 2:34 pm

The New Tabs function is still producing a search bar and 8 social media icons. How do I get rid of this once and for all?

CaJazzman

User avatar
 
Posts: 250
Joined: March 5th, 2009, 2:21 pm
Location: Vacaville,California

Post Posted November 15th, 2017, 3:30 pm

coolmanoh wrote:How do I get a new tab to come up blank? Right now when I start a new tab I get "Local Weather", "News", "Tips to Increase Speed" and "Speed Guide". Below that I get a search bar and 8 social media icons. I don't want any of this stuff-just a blank page with the URL bar blank.

What I use to make it blank is an extention called New Tab Tools. But, I'd bet what the others have said is true also. 8-)

CaJazzman

User avatar
 
Posts: 250
Joined: March 5th, 2009, 2:21 pm
Location: Vacaville,California

Post Posted November 15th, 2017, 3:32 pm

LIMPET235 wrote:Hi,
It sounds as though you've been into the Customize palette & possibly selected the defaults.
If you do not want those additional icons, open the ^ CP & drag them back into it.

Might there be a way to add another toolbar? :?:

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: JonnyOne, rodneyg4 and 25 guests