MozillaZine

Restarting TB takes 5 minutes

User Help for Mozilla Thunderbird
ep2012

User avatar
 
Posts: 665
Joined: October 20th, 2007, 11:16 pm
Location: Windsor, Ontario near Detroit

Post Posted October 31st, 2017, 4:21 pm

Hi,

So this issue is still an issue & it can't be solved by starting in safe mode b/c the "restart" button/link only appears when you've added/removed a theme or add-on.

Every time I have to do a restart of TB, it takes 5-6 minutes.

Thanks

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 117788
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted October 31st, 2017, 4:26 pm

it can't be solved by starting in safe mode b/c the "restart" button/link only appears when you've added/removed a theme or add-on.


Have you tried menu path Help->Restart with Add-ons disabled?

ep2012

User avatar
 
Posts: 665
Joined: October 20th, 2007, 11:16 pm
Location: Windsor, Ontario near Detroit

Post Posted October 31st, 2017, 5:24 pm

DanRaisch wrote:
it can't be solved by starting in safe mode b/c the "restart" button/link only appears when you've added/removed a theme or add-on.


Have you tried menu path Help->Restart with Add-ons disabled?


I just tried that & it still took about 1.5-2 minutes, so while less time, clearly there is still an issue.

tanstaafl
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 43273
Joined: July 30th, 2003, 5:06 pm

Post Posted October 31st, 2017, 5:50 pm

Exit Thunderbird normally and then launch it again in safe mode by holding down the Shift key while double clicking on the Thunderbird shortcut. That should be equivalent to "help -> restart with add-ons disabled".

If it won't exit (process is hung) you could kill the Thunderbird.exe process using the task manager. You might have to delete the "parent.lock" lock file in the profile if you do that. No harm in doing that, its just an annoyance. See http://kb.mozillazine.org/Profile_in_use for an explanation.

wsmwk
 
Posts: 2393
Joined: December 7th, 2004, 6:52 am

Post Posted November 1st, 2017, 7:12 am

You have gone to extraordinary lengths to move/migrate/clean your setup - so it's hard to say what state you system is in. But you clearly have issues [1].

You mention once that you tried Thunderbird in safe mode. But nowhere do I see that you tried Windows in safe mode, nor what AV programs you run. These would be a good starting points.

Start *Windows'* safe mode with networking enabled
- win7 https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/hel ... =windows-7
Still In Windows safe mode, start thunderbird in safe mode
- https://support.mozilla.org/kb/safe-mode-thunderbird

Does problem go away?


[1] search.php?keywords=&terms=all&author=ep2012&fid%5B%5D=50&sc=1&sf=firstpost&sr=posts&sk=t&sd=d&st=0&ch=300&t=0&submit=Search
- viewtopic.php?f=39&t=3034538&p=14772743#p14772743
- viewtopic.php?f=39&t=3033990&p=14769924#p14769924
- viewtopic.php?f=39&t=3033982&p=14769791#p14769791
- viewtopic.php?f=39&t=3033969&p=14769764#p14769764
- viewtopic.php?f=39&t=3033609&p=14769382#p14769382

ep2012

User avatar
 
Posts: 665
Joined: October 20th, 2007, 11:16 pm
Location: Windsor, Ontario near Detroit

Post Posted November 6th, 2017, 8:06 am

wsmwk wrote:You have gone to extraordinary lengths to move/migrate/clean your setup - so it's hard to say what state you system is in. But you clearly have issues [1].

You mention once that you tried Thunderbird in safe mode. But nowhere do I see that you tried Windows in safe mode, nor what AV programs you run. These would be a good starting points.

Start *Windows'* safe mode with networking enabled
- win7 https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/hel ... =windows-7
Still In Windows safe mode, start thunderbird in safe mode
- https://support.mozilla.org/kb/safe-mode-thunderbird

Does problem go away?


[1] search.php?keywords=&terms=all&author=ep2012&fid%5B%5D=50&sc=1&sf=firstpost&sr=posts&sk=t&sd=d&st=0&ch=300&t=0&submit=Search
- viewtopic.php?f=39&t=3034538&p=14772743#p14772743
- viewtopic.php?f=39&t=3033990&p=14769924#p14769924
- viewtopic.php?f=39&t=3033982&p=14769791#p14769791
- viewtopic.php?f=39&t=3033969&p=14769764#p14769764
- viewtopic.php?f=39&t=3033609&p=14769382#p14769382


Hi,

Doing things in safe mode is hard for me. I can't just work in safe mode, I won't have access to most of what I need to work, & doing something for only 5 minutes isn't a real test.

Plus for me it means I have to switch to a mouse that works in safe mode.

I'll see when I have time to do this.

Just to be clear, while I had HUGE issues launching TB with the old version, I really was hoping all of my problems would go away. This is a different problem even though it's similar b/c it's all about the restarting of the program.

With the new TB, after I spent 2 days in my old profile extracting mail, I came back to the new profile & SUDDENLY had issues where TB was freezing up every 5 minutes. This did NOT happen when I first created the new profile & I found it to be VERY strange since no new mail was imported into the new profile after I switched back.

I got rid of one add-on (a Google translate add-on, & it still did it, although less.

After a week or so, I forgot I had the problem, although it happens once in a while now. So why the issue is mostly gone is beyond me b/c I don't think the add-on was the culprit. I could test it by putting it back & seeing, but I find it all very strange.

Thanks a ton

Thanks

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 117788
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted November 6th, 2017, 8:27 am

Plus for me it means I have to switch to a mouse that works in safe mode.

Are you referring to working in Windows Safe Mode, or Mozilla Safe Mode? The latter should have no impact on the use of a mouse over other input methods, unless you are using some extension to modify the standard functions.

ep2012

User avatar
 
Posts: 665
Joined: October 20th, 2007, 11:16 pm
Location: Windsor, Ontario near Detroit

Post Posted November 7th, 2017, 11:47 am

DanRaisch wrote:
Plus for me it means I have to switch to a mouse that works in safe mode.

Are you referring to working in Windows Safe Mode, or Mozilla Safe Mode? The latter should have no impact on the use of a mouse over other input methods, unless you are using some extension to modify the standard functions.


No, sorry , in Windows safe mode my mouse doesn't work. It's a very old ergonomic mouse, so I have to get one of those cheap mice & put that in in order for it to work.

Return to Thunderbird Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests